We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!!”

Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'
Ranked #3 of 128 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: THE BUILDING THAT HUNT'S BATTLEFIELD FRIES AND CAFE' IS IN, IS AN OLD HOUSE THAT FAMILYS ONCE LIVED IN. THE HOUSE AT 61 STEINWEHR AVE WAS NOT HERE YET DURING THE CIVIL WAR BATTLE OF GETTYSBURG, BUT WAS BUILD ABOUT 1900, YES IT IS SMALL INSIDE, BUT WE MAKE GREAT USE OF THE SPACE.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch while visiting Gettysburg. Would have missed it if we hadn't been looking for it. Lunch was great, kids ate their fill. Will visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    212
    53
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
134 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Food & Great Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

After reading excellent reviews on trip advisor and a recommendation from a friend, we had to try Hunt's. The building is quite small, though they do offer outdoor seating. The restaurant is decorating with vintage looking advertising signs that you can also purchase. There was so much to look at that we forgot to look at the menu for a while. They offer a large selection of bottled pop; my kids loved their Gettysburg pop bottles they picked out. The Philly cheese steaks were fantastic! (Better than what we had eaten in Philly). Their cheese was so fresh! And, the French fry portions were huge. And, chef came out to ask how we liked our meal. Definitely two thumbs up!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4320jdfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The pretzel roll ones are my favorite. Be aware that a regular order of fries will feed more than one. The large will take care of a family of 4 easy. I love how fast my order is done when I call in take out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice dive in a town of no good food choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great food and a better value in a town of bad options. We were in Gettysburg for five days and this was the best place we visited that wasn't a national fast food chain. Service was a little slow, but worth the wait. The staff was super nice and helpful, as we took forever to order. Between my family we enjoyed philly cheesesteak, chicken philly cheesesteak and cheeseburgers with fries. There's no more than six tables inside, so we took our grub to go.

The atmosphere is interesting, to say the least. Gettysburg can have the feeling of a tourist trap and this spot is no different. They were peddling postcards, battlefield tour cd's, metal signage, etc. Every square inch of the establishment is covered in photos of the owner with different country music artist. It's no secret that he has an obsession with Faith Hill. Good luck finding the bathroom door. It's camouflaged and probably so wandering tourists can't stop it for a break and leave.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaime H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Battlefield fries are the best and a must when in Gettysburg.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Cool little spot that shouldn't be missed. Fast friendly service. Things are kinda tight inside not a lot of room to move around. Fries, burgers and chicken strips kind of menu. Dinner for four - burger, grilled cheese, strips, (I had just fries) drinks and a bucket of fries cost a little over $30 and worth every penny. We will definitely make Hunt's a regular stop.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilmamajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe' also viewed

 

Been to Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing