We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appearances can be deceiving...”

Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'
Ranked #3 of 129 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: THE BUILDING THAT HUNT'S BATTLEFIELD FRIES AND CAFE' IS IN, IS AN OLD HOUSE THAT FAMILYS ONCE LIVED IN. THE HOUSE AT 61 STEINWEHR AVE WAS NOT HERE YET DURING THE CIVIL WAR BATTLE OF GETTYSBURG, BUT WAS BUILD ABOUT 1900, YES IT IS SMALL INSIDE, BUT WE MAKE GREAT USE OF THE SPACE.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Appearances can be deceiving...”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I read the reviews and, as a cheesesteak lover, decided I had to check this place out. There isn't much room to sit inside or outside and to be honest the place seems cluttered and not terribly clean, as can be the case with mom and pop shops. But the food was incredible. The fries were hot and fresh with a variety of toppings to choose from. And the reviewers who said the cheesesteaks were amazing were not lying. I got the beef cheese steak with grilled onions and it really was the best cheese steak I have ever eaten. While we were eating, the cook came around to say hello and that was a really nice touch. We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pindooca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    215
    53
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
260 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Funky, fun eating!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stopped here on a rainy. Saturday for lunch. It's a tiny little place , with funky decor - much to look at as you chose your lunch. The fries are really good and the pretzel rolls for the sandwiches are great. The server was very friendly and was more than willing to Be flexible in our order for my two year old grandson.
it's not gourmet cuisine but it was fun, good eating at a reasonable price. I'd go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Retiredrn365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best cheesesteak I've ever had”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I think this was our 4th or 5th visit to Hunts and it didn't disappoint. If you're lucky enough to nab a sidewalk umbrella table, the experience is perfect. Their cheesesteaks never change and their cheese fries are great (get the cheese on the side so they don't get mushy). Only one server usually on, so sit back and be patient. It's worth it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank byrequest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“2nd time still great ”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Made our second trip to hunts and the cheese steaks and fries are just as good as I remember and the most friendly staff and owners you could ask for they were very busy and still got everything done fast and perfect and had time to chat with them when we were done very friendly people and great food what more can ya ask for.

Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Cheese Steak sandwiches!!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

You have your pick of different meats, sauces and toppings for the cheese steak sandwiches and all of the ones we had were delicious! It's named after it's fries, and while not different from many other fries, they were good and plentiful!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HappyDanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe' also viewed

 

Been to Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing