We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Sky Motel
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gettysburg Hotel(Gettysburg)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
1863 Inn of Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
36
24
12
10
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
24
12
10
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleantwo double bedsbike weekreasonable ratesgettysburg areaa great place to staymotorcyclelinensbattlefieldporchlindasites
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2011

About as bare bones as you can get. Room kind of small, shower about the size of a phone booth, lighting pretty scant past the bed area. Not bad if you're planning on being on the battlefield at 6 a.m. and staying around town until late. If you want to avoid the bustle near the battlefield, this isn't bad, but you can stay just as cheap with about the same amenities while actually being in town, close to stuff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RexFoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Dont be fooled. Regardless of what you read about this motel, do not stay here. It was smelly, smokey, animal hair on the curtians, huge stains on the carpet, broken bathroom doors, run down, discusting. Certianly not a place that you'd want your family to stay, regardless of the low price. After looking at the rooms, I returned to the front desk and asked to be refunded my money and that I refused to stay here. They wouldnt budge. They said all they could do was move me to a different room. After seeing the filthy room, there was no way I'd consider staying at this motel, no matter what the new room would have looked like. HE said since we already checked in that we couldnt be refunded our money. Think about it, how could we have seen the room if we didn't checked in first??? I'm fighting still fighting to get my money back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaFlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Okay, so thanks for the comments - this place sounds awful. Instead of Blue Sky - clearly it's more of a crap brown. Wow - this place sounds awful. We'll find somewhere else to stay!

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank MightyMillerTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The Blue Sky Motel was nice. I would recommend it to friends and family. We were there only to sleep and shower. The staff was very nice. It also has free wifi which came in handy to find places to eat and go to but you have to ask the front desk. WE got there very early and they let us check in early and didnt charge us extra. It is in the country and away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brooke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

After looking through numerous hotels, the Blue Sky Motel stood out in its location and quiet atmosphere. Based on the popular reviews, the motel looked like a good choice. After traveling to Gettysburg, the motel was a welcome reprieve from the crowds. At first the motel didn't look like much. The Blue Sky Motel is an older strip style motel with basic amenities. However, this first appearance did not do justice to the overall appeal of the premises. While the motel is definitely not a Hilton nor does it try to be, it does offer affordable accommodations with a nice pool.

There are two room types: a basic bedroom with bathroom and a larger room with a deck. Each deck faces a backyard that is quite large. The basic rooms are fairly small but cozy. The room I stayed in had two beds, a small refrigerator, a microwave, basic tv, and a desk. The room also had a small bathroom with a small tub. Note that the motel is very pet friendly and a great backyard is open to walking dogs. There was even one guest with a cat during my stay.

On the property there are various plastic chairs and wooden lounge chairs throughout the property. There are plastic chairs outside each room. The rooms with decks also have chairs. The pool also has a large number of lounge chairs that are sturdy. Beyond the chairs is a small swing-set for children. There is also ample room to play on the motel premises for outdoor games.

The pool is a major asset. While its not a huge pool, it is very clean and accessible from the parking lot. During my stay I swam in it twice. The owner takes a great deal of care in keeping the pool area clean and most of the time during my stay the pool was empty. The pool reaches about five feet deep in the far end. Accessible steps with a guardrail makes it easy to enter the pool.

Beyond the pool there is a set of basic snack and soda machines. During the time of stay the sodas were 75 cents each. A maid came daily and was very accommodating for any needs such as extra towels or sheets. The front desk manager was also helpful and can give advice on the area.

After spending several days at the Blue Sky Motel, I found the motel to be very peaceful and easy going. Most guests were gone during the day and the location was well outside of the tourist areas of downtown Gettysburg. At the same time the motel was close enough to the national park areas to be easy accessible. In fact a northern entrance can be used to enter the Gettysburg National Park before entering the downtown area which is great for avoiding traffic.

hose that can overlook the basic appearance and older buildings will find a gem at a great location. The price was affordable and pets are very much welcome, which can be something of a rarity at many hotels. While the motel offers fairly basic accommodations, it offers a safe nights sleep. The clean pool, friendly staff, and fairly easy ccess to Gettysburg make the motel a nice find.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kenneth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews