We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this place sucks”
Review of Blue Sky Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Sky Motel
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Reviewed 16 March 2013

it is nothing like their website at all . there was no hot water for a shower it was luck warm my hubby went in the office to talk to them and the guy was in there with his pants open sweating like a pig we booked this room on the internet like 3 weeks ahead of time. the hubby went in to tell them we were moving to another motel and to give them the key and asked about a refund and they said no WE DO NOT LIVE LIKE THAT AT HOME AND WE WLL NOT LIVE LIKE THAT AWAY FROM HOME. NEVER AGAIN I THINK WE WILL BE REPOTING THEM . if u are smart u would not stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alice m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkyMotelGetty, Owner at Blue Sky Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Management should have been more accommodating in meeting your needs. As the owner I would like to make it up to you. Please give me a call at 215-285-8679. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Blue Sky Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2012

We always stay at the Blue Sky Motel when we go to Gettysburg. Clean rooms and very helpful staff! You also can't be the price! We like to stay in Gettysburg rather than finding a hotel in another town. It's very convenient to the battlefield and other attractions and I like having the option of going back to the room to freshen up and/or nap. Will be back soon!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank christine0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We rented this room by looking at the pictures on the in internet. The room was clean, but very shabby. Was not able to control the heat so opened all the windows in the room and bathroomm to keep cool. The fee for one night was $65.00.The next night we stayed at the Super 8 in Lancaster for 49.95 a night. What a difference. Big clean modern room with all the amenities plus breakfast. Would not stay at Blue Sky again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We recently stayed here for three nights and were very comfortble in our room. The rooms are very dated and could use new curtains and bedspreads but were very clean and we got clean sheets on the second day so housekeeping was not a problem. The only downside we had was the fridge did not stay cold but we had a cooler with us and ice was availble so it was not an issue. Also dont count on wifi here, even going outside didnt help, however we were busy on the battlefield so for us personally this was not a problem. If your looking for fancy then dont come here but if you just need a place to lay your head then you will do ok here for the money. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Used to be a nice place to stay but in recent years it has gone way downhill. Beds are far too saggy, always needed to ask for more toilet paper, etc. Another annoying problem is idiots parking in a numbered spot other than their own forcing you to carry any luggage farther. This place is a mere shadow of what it used to be. I suppose they figure what the heck, another sucker tourist will take your place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here for the 7th time. This time during Gettysburg Bike Week in July. As usual staff very friendly, coffee brewed early enough for those of us who are early birds, room clean, new air conditioner in the room we had. Pool crystal clear. Already made reservations for same time next year!! Great people.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pocketsmaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I stayed at the Blue Sky Motel 7-13-12 through 7-15-12. Room # 8. There were ants and bugs all over the room. When I came home, I had multiple bed bug bites all over my legs, esp around my ankles. The room was filthy. The person I traveled with also has bites. I am not saying this to get $$$$, just dont want it to happen to anyone else. Rm kept tidy by staff, but lots of bugs...

Room Tip: Staff was pleasant, came in and emptied trash daily. Snack machine overpriced and food was outdated.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkyMotelGetty, Manager at Blue Sky Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Hello. We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. We had the room inspected by Home Paramount and they did not find any bugs. However, please give us a call at 717-677-7736 so we can rectify the situation. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
9.1 mi away
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
#26 of 28 in Gettysburg
57 reviews
4.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#22 of 28 in Gettysburg
117 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
President Inn & Suites
President Inn & Suites
#23 of 28 in Gettysburg
151 reviews
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
9.4 mi away
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
#20 of 28 in Gettysburg
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sky Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Motel

Address: 2585 Biglerville Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8095
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range: £52 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Sky Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Gettysburg? Why pay the big prices to the big corporate chains with their CEOs and CFOs? You’ll love our nifty, cozy-comfy rooms and friendly, helpful personal service. We offer pleasant country atmosphere only 6 minutes driving slowly from Lincoln Square. Our swimming pool, picnic and play areas offer fun and relaxation for the entire family. Or, retreat to the sofa in one of our spacious family units and curl up to your favorite book or TV show. Enjoy the best of both worlds while visiting the Gettysburg Battlefield and nearby attractions. We are pet friendly and offer 4 acres of land for you to enjoy with your critters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Sky Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sky Hotel
Blue Sky Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing