We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Malvern, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We use this hotel quite often - on average once a month and it is our favorite Gettysburg Hotel. They have a wonderful staff and I cannot tell you how many times they have gone out of their way to be helpful. My wife and I enjoy reading by the firepalce and enjoying the coffee and cookies. On our last trip this past week my wife enquired about the cookies and were informed that there were none. We settled into our fireside spot and out of the blue the evening manager showed up with two brownies and two cartons of milk for the two of us. I can think of no other hotel that would do such a thing. They are truly special.

Room Tip: The rooms are very nice but the pillows are aweful. I often bring professional material to work on d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
I am so thrilled that you continue to choose our hotel when your travels bring you to Gettysburg. We firmly believe in Conrad Hiltons dream of spreading the warmth and light of hospitality and I see that you have been experiencing that - even through our gesture of brownies vs. cookies. Thank you so much for your loyalty! We look forward to continuing to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    329
    127
    27
    9
See reviews for
377
306
68
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel on a visit to the Gettysburg battlefield. The room was excellent and the staff very friendly. We were tired so we did not want to go out to dinner and so we ate in the hotel. The food was good and served quickly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqTraveller978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us! I am thrilled to see you enjoyed both the lodging accommodations as well as our Garden Grille & Bar Restaurant. We look foward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The lobby was being renovated weekend before Christmas. The last time we stayed during Christmas, the pool was closed and being renovated. Just bad luck on our part I guess. The room was clean, hotel appears maintained. I didn't think the bed was very comfortable, and the pillows flattened out to pancakes when you used them. I could have called down for different ones I suppose, but everyone was already in pj's.. Paid for the breakfast with my room reservations, so cheaper. I think it's $10 pp at register if not bought through a room package (which was @ $20 for the 4 of us) Surroundings includes a grocery store right behind it, Arby's & a bank next door, Brewsters across the street. My kids said the pool was salt water. I gave an average rating because of the bed, pillows & it just didn't wow me.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We do strive for the "wow" factor and I’m sorry to see we did not meet that expectation during your stay! We do have staff on 24 hours a day to meet any needs that you have so please don’t' ever hesitate to notify us with any questions or concerns despite time of day. We are always happy to accommodate any request. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Hall, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

So much for a quiet get away with my wife. The hotel appeared partially filled yet they stacked those of us that were there right on top of each other. There was a family in the adjoining room to which we could hear and understand their conversation and what they were watching on TV even though they seems to be speaking at a normal volume level. They also placed us in a room with a loud air pump right outside our window. Again, how was this room not flagged as one not to be assigned until all other rooms were full? Best of all, when my wife and I went down to breakfast we almost ran into a vacuum cleaner and cleaning cart right outside our door. Literally, the vacuum was immediately to the left of the door and the cart to the right. We had to be careful not to run into them. It did not seem like there was any consideration to the people getting a late start and was almost a 'Get out of your rooms so I can clean it'-type thing.

Although the staff was friendly enough, it seems like the lack of professional or managerial courtesy was lacking.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to greatly apologize for your experience - I assure you the staff, as well as I, want each of our guests to have an outstanding experience, and I apologize that the cart in the hall gave you the feeling we were trying to expedite your departure. I can assure you this is not the case. We always encourage our guests to let us know of concerns as they happen so that we can have the opportunity to make them right prior to the concern hurting your experience with us. I will review your concerns with our team to try to avoid this becoming an experience of another guest in the future. We do pride ourselves on excellent service, and sadly its seems this trip, we fell short. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel to discuss your concerns as I would love the opportunity to talk to you about this personally. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My husband and i decided to get away for a few days. Very nice attendants for the first nite, december 31,2012. the next day different story.
It was loud at nite wit music playing, bed hurt back, pool tasted like salt, and we pre paid for our New years breakfast, but when we went to sit down and enoy our new years breakfast..everything was gone, there was only a continental breakfast, but when we checked in we were told its an made to order with eggs and other items. So we called our family and told them to meet us on Monday morning for breakfast..Boy were we very disappointed. The young lady at the counter looked like she was sick and was coughing a bit...Not very welcoming.
For a top rated hotel, we were very disappointed. Next time we will stay at the Travellodge..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triponme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
I would like to greatly apologize for your experience, this is certainly not typical at our location. We do have a full cooked-to-order breakfast, however, on New Year’s Day, we did run complimentary continental breakfast for the holiday. I apologize this detracted from your experience - we did not mean that to be the case. We always encourage our guests to let us know of concerns as they happen so that we can have the opportunity to make them right prior to the concern hurting your experience with us. We do pride ourselves on excellent service, and sadly its seems this trip, we fell short. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel to discuss your concerns as I would love the opportunity to talk to you about this personally. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Hey , the pool worked this time. Excellent meal service! Hey, met Christina this time . Before was the director of sales in 2010. A nice setting to stay in G-burg. You need to have other activities close to the hotel. Let's go all out to develop these vacant lots along route 30.

Room Tip: Use the north side view on route 30 to see thw mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Hatmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us! It was a real pleasure getting to meet you during your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

In town to visit Gettysburg battlefields. Stayed one night.The staff was helpful, and the location was nice. It's very close to fast food, a movie theater and Walmart all of which we visited. I was bummed to find out that we had to pay for breakfast, but the room price was too good to pass up.

Lobby was undergoing some renovations but nothing that affected our experience. My only complaint was that the cleaning staff started vacuuming the hallway around 8:30 a.m., and we were trying to sleep in.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. As a full service hotel, we do have a restaurant on site for breakfast, dinner and drinks... While there is a fee, I am sure you found it to be a delightful breakfast! For those of you considering our property, we offer a full Cooked-to-order all you can eat style breakfast. Our chefs prepare eggs, pancakes, French toast and more to order on the spot! We have a wide variety of breakfast classics and comfort foods that you have come to enjoy as well as our freshly baked - in-house - cinnamon rolls and muffins!! I greatly apologize that you had a concern with the housekeeping team vacuuming in the morning. I will share this concern with our executive housekeeper to see how we can avoid this from becoming a recurring issue for our guests. We certainly look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to Gettysburg. Happy New Years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
761 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
1.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
996 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Gettysburg
Courtyard Gettysburg
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Address: 1061 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gettysburg
#1 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg hotel in Pennsylvania is located in the heartland of American freedom with historical sights, museums and just minutes from the Gettysburg Battlefield and National Park Visitor Center. The Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg is located on part of the former Camp Letterman Civil War hospital! The hotel is also near attractions such as the Gettysburg College, Gettysburg Heritage Museum, The Outlets Shoppes, Gettysburg Visitors Center, Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Mount Saint Mary's College. Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg is home to the Garden Grille & Bar Restaurant that offers breakfast, dinner & drinks daily to guests and general public. The hotel is a great central location for Pennsylvania cities and attractions. York, Harrisburg and Hershey Lancaster, DC, and Baltimore are nearby cities all with attractions for the Pennsylvania visitor. The hotel is an award winning hotel of "Pick of the County" via the Gettysburg Times, Hilton Garden Inn "You can count on us" 2013 Brand award winner for community service, and is proudly a part of the Hilton Garden Inn Brands JD Power Award! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing