We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historic visit”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The HGI in Gettysburg has the same standard features of all HGI's so the only thing that I can comment on is the staff and cleanliness. Well the cleanliness is very good as in most Hilton's I have had the pleasure of staying in. The staff here do not seem to have had the training and provide the same quality of service I have experienced at other hotels. The staff just appear to be a little immature. The first issue I experienced was at check-in where the person at reception checked me in but forgot to code the keys. That night was particularly cold and the parking lot was full so I drove around to the back of the hotel to use the back door, only to find the keys I had been given didn't work. Resulting in me getting extremely cold. The next day my husband and I went down for breakfast. As usual there was only one waitress on duty. Se had a method of working the breakfast service by coming to the table to give us coffee but then walking away telling us we needed to go to her to order food. This would have been OK if she was able to take our order, but she was way too busy rolling silverware, then an order for someone else came up that she had to deliver. The result of this method was that we had to stand around waiting for the waitress to have time to deal with us. I felt like a idiot standing around waiting. It would have been a much more comfortable situation for us to sit at our table and the waitress come to us when she was ready, or for us to give our order directly to the chef. The way the waitress was doing business was not without some thought but her method was definitely there to make her life easier and not to provide a service to her customers. All of the time we were having the breakfast the chef was having a good old time talking about his annoying girlfriend singing and throw stuff at other staff members. The next thing that happened was the key once again not working when we got back to our room. I was pretty mad at this inconvenience after the previous key issue. Anyway the receptionist in the morning who felt my anger, saved the day by giving us a 10% discount on the room, and was ver apologetic. None of the things that happened to us were terrible and we had a clean room with everything we needed, but the issues detracted from our satisfaction. This appeared to be a hotel full of young staff without adult supervision.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    333
    129
    29
    9
See reviews for
393
314
68
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joppa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Hotel very nice, rooms and bed comfortable. Go early for breakfast and don't order room service, service slow. There are enough food establishments around. The food value was good. Free internet that was very fast, pool area clean. The price for the room was exceptional and close to ski resorts. What a deal!!

Room Tip: If going to breakfast go early before 7 am. Do not order room service slow service
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Reading, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Thisis by far the best we have stayed in in a long time the room was spacious and clean the bed were about as good as We have ever enjoyed staf was friendly and helpful. what more can one say just sa wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathymickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The staff was friendly without exception and the hotel was very conducive to my business needs. Breakfast was great, as were the cookies before bedtime. My room was clean and I was able to get the first floor room I requested. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

Our family loved our stay at this Hilton! Lovely, clean and well appointed hotel. The staff was wonderful and the kids loved the indoor pool and piping hot homemade chocolate chip cookies. Nice gym and excellent location just minutes from everything you could want to visit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSJ808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staten island
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Second time at this location and will continue to stay here. Have tried about 6 other properties in the area and this one beats all for value, cleanliness, friendliness, and ammenities. I suggest the breakfast plan as it is full service restaurant, not the usual microwaved eggs

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrinkstatenisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My recent stay at the Gettysburg Pa Hilton 1-19-2013 to 1-20-2013 was like always, excellent.
We go out of our way when traveling to stay at a Hilton hotel. The hotels are always clean especially in the rooms, the bathrooms and the main lobby. Hospitality is always welcoming and accommodating.. The standards are consistant from hotel to hotel. The breakfast offered in the morning was excellent. All the plates were made to order and the food was fresh. Also it is nice to have fresh coffee all day. The individual rooms are well updated with nice color and pictures on the wall. The ergonomic desk chair is very supportive. as well as the adjustable mattress. New flat screen TV with plenty of movie choices are great when it's time to wind down. In the morning the fitness room was just enough to get going. Great equipment and very clean gym with fresh towels.
We will be back! Thanks Hilton.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyse I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
792 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
557 reviews
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Address: 1061 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#1 Green Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg hotel in Pennsylvania is located in the heartland of American freedom with historical sights, museums and just minutes from the Gettysburg Battlefield and National Park Visitor Center. The Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg is located on part of the former Camp Letterman Civil War hospital! The hotel is also near attractions such as the Gettysburg College, Gettysburg Heritage Museum, The Outlets Shoppes, Gettysburg Visitors Center, Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary and Mount Saint Mary's College. Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg is home to the Garden Grille & Bar Restaurant that offers breakfast, dinner & drinks daily to guests and general public. The hotel is a great central location for Pennsylvania cities and attractions. York, Harrisburg and Hershey Lancaster, DC, and Baltimore are nearby cities all with attractions for the Pennsylvania visitor. The hotel is an award winning hotel of "Pick of the County" via the Gettysburg Times, Hilton Garden Inn "You can count on us" 2013 Brand award winner for community service, and is proudly a part of the Hilton Garden Inn Brands JD Power Award! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing