We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would definitely use again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Colton Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colton Motel
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Franktown
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“would definitely use again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

clean and comfortable and a fantastic location. I was very pleased with the management. the entire staff were all very nice and helpful and this is where i'll stay on my next visit. breakfast was just pastries, but they were fresh and the coffee was good. the room had a fridge, which was a big help. the management people were really good about recommending places to eat in town. the motel is dated, but very clean. the maid was super nice and had good recommendations for local places to visit, since we were there during the shutdown. the price was great, especially considering the motel is walking distance from just about all the town has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    78
    44
    32
    41
See reviews for
87
89
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warfordsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

The manager tells you one thing, but when you are there something else comes up.She makes promises she won't keep and disapoints you. The rooms are in need of repairs.The pool looked like you could walk across it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UnHappy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gettysburg hotels

Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I actually booked at the Colton but since they were full when I got to the motel, they sent me to their "sister" motel, The Budget Motel, just down the street. These people are truly kind and concerned that their customers are taken care of and happy! Older motel, but spik and span clean, very comfy bed, and all amenities were more than satisfactory :) Cannot wait to go back to Gettysburg to visit and would definitely stay at either of these motels! VERY affordable!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed at the Colton Motel in Gettysburg with friends over the Labor Day weekend. The Colton is not modern and fancy, but it is extremely reasonably priced, and the location cannot be beat! We enjoyed the outdoor pool and the complimentary pastries and coffee in the morning. The staff was hospitable and made us feel like family. If you are looking for all of the bells and whistles of the large chains, than this is not your motel. However, if you are looking for a clean, friendly, affordable place to rest your head...this is it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peachgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed here because of the location and the price. I read all the reviews so I knew what I was getting, a no frills room. It needs some tlc on the maintenance and could use a deep clean in the corners but I felt that the bathroom and the bed was clean. I was gone all day and just needed a place a to sleep. This place suited the bill. The manager was outstanding, kind and very helpful. If money is tight and you want to stay downtown, this is the place. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKBrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

So close to everything we need. Cost is great, very clean.staff is great. We will return again soon. Next time will enjoy the pool! Service is wonderful, friendly family atmosphere. Made us feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wvpinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Conveniently located. Decor and bathroom needs to be updated. Great ice machine and pastries in the am. Would probably spend the extra bucks next time to stay somewhere else even if it requires driving further to get to visitors center

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jrlmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cemetery Hill
Inn at Cemetery Hill
#17 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
3.9 mi away
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
#24 of 27 in Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.3 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#21 of 27 in Gettysburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Motel

Property: Colton Motel
Address: 232 Steinwehr Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Colton Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Colton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Motel Gettysburg
Colton Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing