We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”
Review of Colton Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colton Motel
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Byron Center, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

It was ok, I would not do it again. The location was great, the rooms are small, if you are staying for only a night it would be fine, longer stays I would chose another hotel. People are very nice, they appear not to put anything back into the hotel, very dated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randycanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    78
    45
    33
    44
See reviews for
88
90
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Im big on staying clear of motels, in fact this is one of the only ones ive stayed in. But when we came for the reenactment this was the only place with a room.. For starters THIS IS A MOTEL, DONT EXPECT THE FOUR SEASONS! Regardless, this motel is well kept, clean and walking distance from EVERYTHING** , also is on a very notorious and haunted lot... right across from the graveyard. The man at the desk (Rich) is VERY helpful and will do anything to please!
Motels are given a lot of crap (and in some circumstances understandably) but the Coltonl is definitely a classic town motel and the maids are in out cleaning daily for maximum cleanliness.
The ONLY complaint i have is the Bedding. The sheets and mattresses were comfortable, but the duvets are in need of an update.

Room Tip: Most rooms are the same, as i said in the description don't expect the four seasons! But you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DixieChik13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The place is not a 5 star location, but if you do not mind a clean place that still has its '50's or 60's features, and at a lower cost, this may be your location. This location has a very nice outdoor pool, and is within walking distance (one or two blocks) of some of the main restaurants and tourist attractions that Gettysburg offers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I left a favorable review of the Colton Motel back in June 2011. We stayed for two nights in April 2014 in room 11 and things have went downhill unfortunately. My husband and I are not picky people - we like things cheap, clean and simple. With that being said, the room we had was borderline roach motel. The television had a trick to it just to be able to change the channels, the lights dimmed when I turned on my hair dryer, strange noises from the laundry room the next door over, etc. There was no mini-fridge or hair dryer as advertised. Just from the looks of the facility, vehicles and some of the tenants, I am pretty sure they are taking in long term unsavory residents in some of the rooms. Another problem I have is that the prices have went up from $40.00 a night to $80.00 a night - so that is double the price in 3 years. The location is still nice and is in easy walking distance to lots of attractions, but that is just not enough to satisfy us anymore. The clean and simple Colton Motel of 2011 is long gone and unfortunately they have replaced it with a roach motel kind of vibe.

Room Tip: Don't get room 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gettysburg hotels

Kitchener, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We called, last minute for a room for two nights. Richard at the desk was so helpful, left a key for us as we arrived around 5am. Room was very large with 3 beds for a very reasonable price. Walking distance to all attractions. Across the street from the battlefield. Can leave your car and just walk everywhere, to historic downtown. Room was very clean, has a tv and free WiFi. No fridge, but fine with us. Very good, would stay again for sure! Beds were the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in in a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grindstone, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We like to stay @ the Colton Motel. very affordable rates. Location is great. If you're looking for a place just to rest your head after a long day of touring Gettysburg. The Colton is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckroast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed at the Colton for two nights. Great location. Great price. Planning on returning in April until I got the credit card bill and saw that we were charged for 3 nights. After calling several times and being promised a call back, which never happened. I finally got in touch with someone but then was told to call back after the first of the year. We'll see what happens then...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MEBucketlists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
1.1 mi away
President Inn & Suites
President Inn & Suites
#23 of 27 in Gettysburg
148 reviews
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#21 of 27 in Gettysburg
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
90 reviews
3.9 mi away
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
#25 of 27 in Gettysburg
54 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Motel

Property: Colton Motel
Address: 232 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2814
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Colton Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Colton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Motel Gettysburg
Colton Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing