We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location for clean budget motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Colton Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colton Motel
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location for clean budget motel”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Basic older motel, but has pool and internet worked perfectly. Clean and can't beat the location. Very pleasant and helpful desk staff. Also, I prefer independent motels to the cheap chains - much nicer budget experience and the Colton fits the bill.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheree H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    78
    44
    32
    41
See reviews for
87
89
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Colten is a quaint older motel. The room and bathroom were clean, the beds were comfortable. A small refrigerator was provided. There is a pool. Coffee available @ the office. The staff was wonderful! It is conveniently located, across from the cemetaries and within walking distance of attractions, shopping and downtown. Reasonable priced and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We ended up in this motel because a different motel in town lost our reservation, so high marks for the Colton for being available and taking us on short notice.

This is a cheap, basic motel. It is has very basic amenities inside and the look is somewhat dated. But it was relatively clean and convenient to the Gettysburg Battlefield and other local attractions, as well as some good restaurants - so the location is prime. The bathtub in our room could use some help (a crack in the middle, the water didn't drain too fast so you got a bit of an ankle bath while you showered). But considering the price and location it was definitely fine. Despite being on a main road, it seemed quiet at night. The guy who checked us in was very nice and helpful with maps and suggestions for things to do in the area.

Nothing fancy, but if you need a place to stay for the night in Gettysburg and don't want to break your budget, this is for you. If you want something fancy, probably not.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trisarahtopss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

older,good price,clean,haunted,will stay again,staff great, small time charm, could walk street and not see anyone,next to battlefields,and on top of,they told us where to vist,only bad thing could not get soda late

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great location, very basic/old...but sufficient for time spent in room. Nice to save some money since we were in hotels for 2 weeks. Door was sticky and curtains need replacing (worn w/ holes).
Eat at nearby dobbins tavern for French onion soup!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dachee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Had read reviews on here so we were looking for Colton's. We were just here for one night and didn't want to spend $$$$ for a nights stay. We weren't in room much. The room was nice and clean. Everyone working spoke to us and they were very friendly. Pool was clean, of course we didn't have time to swim. A.C. worked great. Would have liked a back side room with a king bed, but we were given a room with 2 double beds. We walked around for 5 hrs and loved every min. We we got back other guest were sitting outside there rooms chatting and we jointed right in. It was so nice to chat with others. We will be back many many time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy N Cathie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I love staying at these mom & POP motels. The place was neat and check in was smooth. The desk clerks were so friendly and helpful. They had all the info and answered all our guestions about the area. The room was clean and neat. It could be described as "retro" but every thing worked. It is not a chain motel, so don't expect it to be like one. The price was very good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ekimilopan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
3.9 mi away
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
#24 of 27 in Gettysburg
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cemetery Hill
Inn at Cemetery Hill
#17 of 27 in Gettysburg
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,466 reviews
0.3 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
830 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Motel

Property: Colton Motel
Address: 232 Steinwehr Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Colton Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Colton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Motel Gettysburg
Colton Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing