We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality, well maintained property, not as remote as it seems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Gettysburg
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“High quality, well maintained property, not as remote as it seems”
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Two of us stayed Sat night of Memorial Day weekend to see Gettysburg. Found the hotel was teeming with soccer kids noisily running around the lobby, so we thought it was going to very noisy in our king-bed rooms, but that thankfully was not the case. Apparently, we were placed on the side of the hallway away from the soccer families. Extremely clean and well outfitted rooms in all respects. Liked the wall thermostat instead of those annoying swtiches on the cooling / heating system. Fortunately, we came down for breakfast at 8:30 am which was an at least an hour after the restaurant in the lobby was apparently crushed by the thundering hordes. We heard horror stories from the waitress (food was left in plates under the tables) and we had to eat with plastic utensils sicne the silverware was no longer available, but the experience was still fine, and at least relatively quiet. At $9.95 for a full buffet, including a omelette station, I think is reasonable for this hotel class. One blemish is the slowness of the elevator service; 2 elevators are not enough to handle the number of rooms and guests but I believe that insufficiency characterizes many of the Courtyard properties. The Courtyard's location, east of the borough of Gettysburg, appears at first to be relatively remote travel to the battlefield and other sights, but that's only if you take Route 30 West. Instead you get on Route 15 south expressway which you can enter as soon as you leave the property, go 2 exits and that gets you to the visitor's center in about 10 minutes. You avoid all the traffic going through the center of town, and save yourself 15 minutes. Due to the holiday weekend (and maybe the soccer tournament) the room rate was probably higher than normal (not even a AAA discount) so from a value standpoint it doesn't rate an "excellent" but everything else is first-rate.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    209
    78
    20
    4
See reviews for
197
186
28
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

As usual, Marriott lives up to it's reputation with the Courtyard by Marriott in Gettysburg. Fluffy pillows, comfortable bed and very clean. We were even placed on a floor with a group of school children visiting Gettysburg and didn't experience any issues whatsoever. The best part about our stay was that we got it dirt cheap on Priceline by naming our own price! We also loved that they include WiFi for free.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler35Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, IL (Chicago Suburb)
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

I hit Courtyards from time to time on business but this is not "your fathers Courtyard" as they say. The wife and I (plus two kids) stayed here for 2 nights while touring the battlefield area. This hotel and the Wyndham are a bit away from the main drag but it's worth it for what you get, a brand new, clean, gorgeous hotel.

We loved the rooms and the indoor pool was big enough to pass the "kid test".

One other bonus for those travelling with kids and teens, two QUEEN beds. Normally if you get 2 beds they are doubles so this was nice to allow us room in one hotel with less crowding than normal.

One other note the bar at the Wyndham is much nicer and within easy walking distance so I would recommend that for anyone looking for an evening beverage.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
663 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Good reliable Courtyard for our two night stay. Marriott staff did a good job. Minus one star for missing our coffee service by the maid and the vending machines not working properly. All other services up to Marriott high standards.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walker S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We spent one night here and found it to be a lovely, new hotel with super comfy rooms that was (to us) a bit pricey. We had a room with two fulls for $119, and that didn't include breakfast. They had continental breakfast, but it was $10 per person, which I thought was ridiculous. The room was comfy, clean, and new, but I felt that for $119 it should have had something more going for it. This hotel is out by the highway and is not within walking distance to Gettysburg attractions. There is a movie theater there, but not anything else. We saw some restaurants when we checked in, but that evening they all seemed to be closed. I'm not sure if they just weren't open yet or what. So although the hotel was very lovely, it's too pricey for its somewhat inconvenient location and lack of free breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaJaneite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2009

We just returned from a one night visit to the battlefield. The front desk manager at this Courtyard was terrific. We asked for a room change to avoid a floor full of pleasant but loud teenagers in town for a Christian retreat. He went above and beyond, offering a much larger room on a higher floor. We couldn't have been happier. It was clean, quiet and an overall nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjcount1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
138 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2009

This hotel is new and exactly what you would expect from a Courtyard. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. Couldn't figure out why the restaurant across the parking lot wasn't open, so we drove into town instead.

Overall, a great visit. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomrudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,383 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
739 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
947 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Gettysburg

Property: Courtyard Gettysburg
Address: 115 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gettysburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#15 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in May 2015, the Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg is located just minutes from Gettysburg's historic sites and within the campus of Gateway Gettysburg. The Courtyard by Marriott offers 152 newly renovated guest rooms and is within minutes of the Gettysburg National Military Park, Gettysburg historic attractions, golfing, skiing, outlet shopping, Gettysburg College and Mount Saint Mary's University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing