We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall good place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Gettysburg
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 March 2010

I've stayed here twice, and overall it's a nice place. Typical Courtyard -- well appointed, comfortable, free parking and internet. They have a small pool inside, which is nice for kids. They serve a hot breakfast, but it is not free. Overall, a positive experience.

A couple of negatives: I was interested in the ski package, so I called the hotel with a few questions. The kid who answered didn't want to help me, and instead transferred me to the central Marriott reservation center in Missouri. Of course, he wasn't from the area so he couldn't answer my questions, and transferred me back to the Gettysburg Marriott where I had started. I never did get my questions answered and just went ahead and made a reservation and hoped that it would turn out OK.

Also, beware of the address they tell you to put into your GPS. The hotel address is on Presidential Circle, but they tell you to use an address on York Road. When I put this into my GPS, it was going to send me to the wrong place, but luckily I had been there before and I knew caught the problem before I wasted too much time driving around.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank va_trailrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Gettysburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2010

We have family and friends in the Gettysburg area, and this December was the second time we stayed at the Marriott for our annual Christmas visit. Once again, we were very pleased with the hotel, overall--particularly the room. It was extremely clean (and I'm a little OCD about this, so this is saying a lot!) and the beds are super-comfortable, as they are at most Marriotts anymore. I slept VERY well (despite the fact that I was visiting my in-laws!!).

The pool/hot tub area was nice, and we used it the first evening of our stay, but was fully overrun with kids by the second night, so we stayed away. The gym was small-ish, but everything was in good working order. The staff was excellent--very polite and accommodating to our requests.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. If you are a tourist and want to be in walking distance to battlefields and such, it's not a great choice as it's a ways out of town, but other than that, there's really no reason not to stay here. It's a great deal!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmh189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

I have only rave reviews for this Courtyard by Marriot. I have stayed in other Courtyard and this was one of the nicest. Great staff and service, nice comfy rooms, excellent breakfast, wonderful lounge/ bar. We went for the wine festival which was within walking distance of the hotel. We did some site seeing, there is plenty of history to see and do and the hotel is in a great spot. Very good value for the quality.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

If you are searching by location - beware! This hotel is not located where tripadvisor's map shows it! My son goes to Gettysburg College and I chose this hotel for parents' weekend, thrilled to be within walking distance of the college. After making my restriction-laden (i.e., prohibitive cancellation policies) reservation through 1-800-hotels I found out its true location - at York Road and Route 15 (near the Wyndham). If you've been to Gettysburg you will know that there are no hotels in the area where Courtyard shows on tripadvisor's map - unfortunately I wasn't aware of that at the time I made my reservation....

For now, I'm rating it same as other ratings (the average). Will update my review, if possible, after staying there....

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank crissia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We would definitely stay here again. It is 3 yrs. old, but looks brand new. Large room. Granite countertops. Bar area. Huge bathroom. It looks like a Ritz! Spotless.
We loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgiagirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Even though it was a few miles away from all the attractions in Gettysburg, it was a very clean hotel. The hotel itself was spotless & the rooms were comfortable & very clean. There was a movie theater with in walking distance. The drive to all the attractions in Gettysburg isn't bad at all.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelchickie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Our stay here was full of small irritants that add up to a thumbs down. We had a room with a king-size bed and a pull-out sofa bed. If we had needed the sofa bed we would have had to walk on the mattresses because the room was so small. The tv could not be angled so it could be viewed from the bed and the sofa bed was very uncomfortable when used as a couch.. The tv remote had to be angled exactly right or it would not work - and the angle was not a normal one - so it always seemed like a struggle to change channels. And the picture was not as good as the usual chain hotel.

The room was clean and well-maintained, but the toilet seat would not stay up, which is rather annoying if you are male.

In terms of the public space: ther was only one guest computer for a rather large hotel, so people were fighting to get access, the front desk was never staffed so you had to wait to be noticed on the closed-circuit tv in the back room and then for someone to come out.

The net of these things is that this is a chain hotel with a little less to offer than most others..

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffersonToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,544 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,070 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 28 in Gettysburg
807 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
2.8 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Gettysburg

Address: 115 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gettysburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#15 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: £83 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in May 2015, the Courtyard by Marriott Gettysburg is located just minutes from Gettysburg's historic sites and within the campus of Gateway Gettysburg. The Courtyard by Marriott offers 152 newly renovated guest rooms and is within minutes of the Gettysburg National Military Park, Gettysburg historic attractions, golfing, skiing, outlet shopping, Gettysburg College and Mount Saint Mary's University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing