We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE!”
Review of Cricket House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cricket House
Ranked #20 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 December 2010

I was told by a close friend that the Cricket House was the BEST! They went there this Summer. They were definitely right! The Cricket House was very clean, nicely decorated, had all the amenities, the location was great, walking distance to all the Gettysburg points of interest, the park, eating establishments,, etc. We've already made reservations for next Spring! I Recommend the Cricket House HIGHLY! (No, I'm not a relative! :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katsiaficas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Cricket House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2010

One of the best kept secrets in Gettysburg.
The Cricket House is a stone’s throw from the middle of town yet gives the seclusion and privacy everyone wants. Quaint two story old restored carriage house nestled in the rear of a beautiful old home. All the amenities & includes an enclosed private patio with garden for relaxing. Two bedroom, two bath, living room, kitchen, TV's, stained glass, private parking, enclosed patio & garden you can't find anything better.
A must stay if you love Gettysburg but get your reservations in early as the best kept secret in Gettysburg is quickly becoming a popular stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GhostBreakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We really enjoyed staying here. It was nice to have a fully stocked kitchen to prepare some meals. Our teenager loved having his own room and bathroom. The patio outside was nice to relax on and have our morning coffee. The cottage was very clean, and
spacious. I would definitally come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djsunfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Our 4th stay at the cutest guest house on Earth! So clean, so comfortable! Close to everything, hot tub, gorgeous backyard.....if it was for sale I would buy it in an instant! Looking forward to June, 2010!! This place is A+++!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ritzlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

My daughter's and I stayed at the Cricket House for one week last June....and we are eagerly awaiting our return to Gettysburg in a few more weeks. The location is ideal, with the high gas prices last summer, we parked the car and walked to most places. Its a nice, quiet, neighborhood and when we would get up in the morning we would have breakfast out on the back patio....we would come back and rest in the heat of the afternoon (its so much nicer than a noisy hotel), watch TV or videos (provided by John) or grab a quick snack. Its within walking distance of just about everything (churches, shops, restaurants, Spangler Springs, etc) My cell phone died and I was so grateful to have the free telephone so I could keep in touch with the folks back home. We plan on bringing the laptop this year so we can upload pictures and videos to send by email. Everything is provided and I especially appreciated the washer and dryer. Now that we feel so at home there we don't want to stay anywhere else when visiting Gettysburg.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crism2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2007

What could be better than having your own home away from home ? For the same price of a B& B for two you can have an extravagance cottage all to yourselves . ….. and a few others if you wanted. Minus an overpriced B & B breakfast, it is all that you see it to be in their web site’s pictures: above customary kitchen, two new baths decked out with a steam room in one and Jacuzzi in the other, silky smooth sheets, TV in each sitting area/bedroom, hot tub w/ heated walkway, and best of all, convenient to everything! This IS the best Gettysburg has to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 1smartblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2007

The Cricket House is an absolutely wonderful place to spend your vacation.

Four of us (seniors) stayed at the Cricket House from July 4 -11/07 while we attended the Civil War Re-Enactment and toured the historical areas of Gettysburg and surrounding areas . What a wonderful place to return to after a long day of touring.

First of all, the location was excellent. Only about 2-1/2 blocks to downtown Gettysburg and all of the shops and restaurants. One of the battlefields was only a half block away. The Cricket House is located in a very private, quiet area of town.

There is a small grocery store not far away (Kennie's) that has all the groceries you would need. It was about 5 blocks down Middle Street.

The house itself is amazing. It was immaculately clean when we arrived. The kitchen was fully equipped. We used the downstairs living area as the second bedroom. The futon was pulled out and already made up for us when we arrived. It was a very comfortable bed. The upstairs bedroom and living area was most comfortable with a jacuzzi tub and waterfall shower. The decor of the house was amazing - quite a few antique artifacts were displayed all around the house. There were 3 TV's and DVD's. The selection of books ranged from civil war history to classics to interior decorationg.

We spend quite a bit of time in the back yard. It was so private with very beautiful flowers and rose bushes all around. At night the fireflies were buzzing all around and entertained us. And of course the Spa. What a wonderful way to relax and unwind after a day of touring. We enjoyed the spa every night.

John and his wife have defintely made the Cricket House into a wonderful home away from home. We are definitely recommending this home to all of our friends and we hope to return to Gettysburg and the Cricket House in the future.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank Travel_Seeker30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,070 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,544 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#9 of 28 in Gettysburg
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cricket House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cricket House

Address: 162 E Middle St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1938
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: £138 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Cricket House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing