We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More style than substance”
Review of Wyndham Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Gettysburg
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Fredonia, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“More style than substance”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Our family of 4 stayed for 2 nights in August while visiting Gettysburg. The rate was good for a place of this size and hotel is attractively decorated with Americana, appropriate for a such historical location. The staff were very friendly, both at the front desk and in the hallways. The highlight for my kids was the indoor pool, which is clean and clear and has long hours, so we could splash around even after a long day of sight seeing. However, I doubt we'd return here as a family. Some of the little amenities, more common at places with fewer stars, are missing here including mini fridges and microwaved. The restaurant was overpriced for a family with young children and their little store was very limited in supplies. (We were unable to find some basic toiletries.)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdbrownusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Gettysburg, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please note that for future stays we provide fridges and microwaves for our guests upon request at check-in. I understand your concerns regarding the market store and toiletries. I appreciate your feedback and please be assured I will follow-up with this. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,317
    766
    227
    73
    26
See reviews for
851
677
79
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Love, love, love this place! Just make a left out of the complex and in 10 minutes your in
downtown gettysburgh. Place is clean spacious comfy and an excellent restaurant. Food was owesome. I think the name is 1863. A must do!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5cats2dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Gettysburg, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am also glad to hear you had the opportunity to dine in our 1863 Restaurant and had an enjoyable dining experience. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new haven ct
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My son has severe allergies, and Cassie at the front desk was so helpful --she made sure that the room was checked for things that would set off his allergies and substitute pillows and blankets put in instead. Cassie's helpfulness was the main reason we went ahead and booked a room! So far, rave reviews from my husband and son --- who are there right now!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Gettysburg, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing your property. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and tha Cassie was very helpful to you. She loves her position and assisting guests! I will share your kind words with Cassie. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Gettysburg visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Wow!! We just returned from an exotic (and super expensive) trip to Maui and came here for the weekend. After staying in exotic, amazing hotels, we weren't expecting much, but this place really wowed us! The front lobby is stunning, the hotel is beautifully and tastefully decorated (and so patriotic - it is really fun!), and everything is new. The rooms were great. Nice windows (they actually open) and a beautiful bathroom. The bed linens were white - SO important - and there was a nice snack shop downstairs. There were lots of outlets right by the bed for cell phones, computers, iPads, etc. This place just really seemed to be outfitted with what people want in a hotel room now - which I liked (except the TV was laughably small... but that's ok - I hardly ever watch TV while traveling anyway).

My sister had dinner here and enjoyed it, but said portions were small. My husband and I went for breakfast; $30 for 2 so a little higher than average. I got an omelet - it was good - my husband had the buffet, which he wasn't that impressed with (a lot seemed like it had been out for a while - cinnamon rolls were hard, oatmeal was a sticky mush, etc.). But the dining area was lovely. The BEST part about this hotel is that they allow pets!!! We didn't bring our dogs this trip, but wished we had! It was a lot of fun to see the dogs being walked by their owners outside of the hotel. I never heard any dogs inside the hotel. I love that they allow people to travel with their pets!! I am planning another Gettyburg trip just so we can stay here with our pups - seriously! We loved it!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerLove11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Gettysburg, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your meals were not of the quality we strive to provide for our guests. I appreciate your feedback and will be sure to follow-up with our food and beverage associates. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millburn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

On previous trips tp Gettysburg we always stayed near the town center, Lincoln Square. This area is very busy, crowded and parking is at a premium. Most hotels and inns do NOT have parking.
We decided to stay in an affordable full service hotel about 3miles from the square. Location was great. Took exactly 8 minutes to the square and less to most sites because we avoided the square.
The restaurant served great breakfasts and dinners and the staff was friendly and helpful. There was no parking charge and it was quiet and peaceful. I will stay here again next time I'm in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank proschusser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Gettysburg, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing our property. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your expectations. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Gettysburg
Courtyard Gettysburg
#14 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Gettysburg

Property: Wyndham Gettysburg
Address: 95 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8397
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#6 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Gettysburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by historic landmarks, Civil War-era charm, and stunning natural landscape, Gettysburg is a South Central Pennsylvania destination unlike any other. Situated just outside downtown Gettysburg, on the 100-acre Gateway Gettysburg campus, discover modern amenities, world-class dining, and a spectacular onsite theater just minutes from Gettysburg's most popular attractions. Guests of this centrally-located Gettysburg hotel are welcomed to this Federal-styled property by a dedicated and friendly hotel staff. After getting settled, take a refreshing dip in the indoor swimming pool, or enjoy a workout at the state-of-the-art fitness center. Two onsite restaurants dish up exceptional fare in a casual setting. Other exceptional guest services include shuttle services to local attractions and businesses, daily newspapers and complimentary WiFi. The Wyndham Gettysburg offers a modern escape for business and leisure travelers with 248 stylish guest rooms and convenient services that make life that much easier. Stylish furnishings and incredible comfort await at the well-appointed guest rooms and suites at the Wyndham Gettysburg. Whether traveling for business or leisure, guests will appreciate unwinding in the plush bedding surrounded by scarlet walls and presidential blue carpeting. Enjoy flat screen TVs, complimentary WiFi, coffee and tea maker, and upscale bath amenities. The gorgeous Deluxe Suites offer a distinguished ambiance, and separate living and dining room space. For convenience, impeccable room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing