We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel - ok location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Gettysburg
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
washington dc
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“nice hotel - ok location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here for just one night. The hotel is well decorated an my room was very clean. Not really the fault of the hotel but I just found it too far outside of town. This might be OK for someone who is stopping at Gettysburg and wants to head elsewhere the next day (it is only 2-3 miles outside of town - but I would have preferred something right in town). The hotel restaurant is very nice but very expensive - not really a good choice for most people. There should be a more moderate option available - though you can find one restaurant walking distance off property. Also I am someone who generally likes my room warm and keeps my home thermostat at 78 in the summer. The AC in my room was not working and it was really hot. I turned the AC down as low as it could go (65) and got the room to an OK (but still warm temperature). The outside hallways were cooler than my room. The hotel was unable to move me though there seemed to be many empty rooms.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed OK - just make sure that the AC is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trav3lG1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Gettysburg, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room while you stayed with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and we strive to exceed the guests expecttations. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,289
    751
    222
    71
    26
See reviews for
839
662
77
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is a great hotel, comfortable and clean. We booked through Expedia who told us the queen room was suitable for 2 adults and 4 children. It isn't. This wasn't the hotel's fault and their staff (who are very polite and helpful) sorted us out with an extra room, but we did have to pay twice as much as we intended.

Please don't book through Expedia. We tried to complain and they appear not to bother once you've paid. Book directly with the hotel. It's the same price. Expedia are even today still willing to sell you this room for an occupancy of 6, despite our letters to them. Don't get caught out!

Try the restaurant. It is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Gettysburg, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff was very helpful. I have spoken with expedia and they are fixing the information that explains how many people can comfortably stay in one room.. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia Falls, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We started in Seattle and headed east. In a couple of weeks back west. Have been staying in many moderately priced hotels. This by far was the nicest. Almost new, great staff, very helpful and friendly. Wonderful and comfy beds. In larger cities this would be 4-stars. 5 minutes to downtown, 10 to the battlefield. Only drawbacks, no mini-fridge or microwave.. so we ordered pizza and had it delivered. Bfast, was great at the restaurant and not expensive. 2 kids under 12, so the pool was great. Also, needed to do laundry, no charge for guests. Can't say enough about this place. Check out some of the hotel sites, can get a great rate. Will most definitely stay here again. It is not a b&b, nor Super8. It is a new clean mid/upper end hotel with great rates.. also.. water in the room, where many hotels charge... complimentary. Will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Gettysburg, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to exceed the expectations of every guest that stays with us. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepper Pike, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

What a great hotel. A new development about 3 miles from downtown. Staff was extremely helpful and considerate. The room was squeaky new with a marble bathroom and absolutely first class amenities. Free parking is a bonus as well. Would definitely stay there again. In a town of older properties is hotel is a refreshing newer arrival.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markincleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Gettysburg, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our number priority is to exceed the expectations of each guest. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredonia, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Our family of 4 stayed for 2 nights in August while visiting Gettysburg. The rate was good for a place of this size and hotel is attractively decorated with Americana, appropriate for a such historical location. The staff were very friendly, both at the front desk and in the hallways. The highlight for my kids was the indoor pool, which is clean and clear and has long hours, so we could splash around even after a long day of sight seeing. However, I doubt we'd return here as a family. Some of the little amenities, more common at places with fewer stars, are missing here including mini fridges and microwaved. The restaurant was overpriced for a family with young children and their little store was very limited in supplies. (We were unable to find some basic toiletries.)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdbrownusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Gettysburg, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please note that for future stays we provide fridges and microwaves for our guests upon request at check-in. I understand your concerns regarding the market store and toiletries. I appreciate your feedback and please be assured I will follow-up with this. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Gettysburg
Courtyard Gettysburg
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Gettysburg

Property: Wyndham Gettysburg
Address: 95 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8397
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#6 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Gettysburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by historic landmarks, Civil War-era charm, and stunning natural landscape, Gettysburg is a South Central Pennsylvania destination unlike any other. Situated just outside downtown Gettysburg, on the 100-acre Gateway Gettysburg campus, discover modern amenities, world-class dining, and a spectacular onsite theater just minutes from Gettysburg's most popular attractions. Guests of this centrally-located Gettysburg hotel are welcomed to this Federal-styled property by a dedicated and friendly hotel staff. After getting settled, take a refreshing dip in the indoor swimming pool, or enjoy a workout at the state-of-the-art fitness center. Two onsite restaurants dish up exceptional fare in a casual setting. Other exceptional guest services include shuttle services to local attractions and businesses, daily newspapers and complimentary WiFi. The Wyndham Gettysburg offers a modern escape for business and leisure travelers with 248 stylish guest rooms and convenient services that make life that much easier. Stylish furnishings and incredible comfort await at the well-appointed guest rooms and suites at the Wyndham Gettysburg. Whether traveling for business or leisure, guests will appreciate unwinding in the plush bedding surrounded by scarlet walls and presidential blue carpeting. Enjoy flat screen TVs, complimentary WiFi, coffee and tea maker, and upscale bath amenities. The gorgeous Deluxe Suites offer a distinguished ambiance, and separate living and dining room space. For convenience, impeccable room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing