We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Campground in a Wooded Setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gettysburg / Battlefield KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Glad we picked this KOA in Gettysburg. Good campground if you prefer a wooded setting with a little more privacy between sites. Some larger rigs did have to park their tow vehicle sideways in front of their camper to fit within their site. There is a nice little hiking trail on the hill behind the campground that my kids enjoyed. They also liked the creek behind the playground. The campground is nestled in a slope below a hillside, but the sites were level. I liked that the campground is on the small side, so you can walk to everything and just let the kids go. Like most KOAs, the staff is constantly on hand in case you need anything and is always maintaining the campground. The bathrooms were older, but clean. Easy access to Gettysburg; about a 10 minute drive.

Room Tip: If you are looking to cut costs, I wouldn't spring for a "deluxe" site. You are only p...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank czang76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Gettysburg / Battlefield KOA
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Went on our first RV trip and stayed here, was great! Have 33' RV pulled into spot had fire pit and plenty of room for picnic table etc.. Not on top of other campers. Very clean staff very friendly especialy Dave, plenty to do for kids and dogs. Bathrooms immaculate! Going back in July can't wait!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisasmolenski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Gettysburg National Military Park and new visitor's center are very interesting and worthwhile places to visit. This campground is not too far from the town of Gettysburg so it was a convenient place to camp after touring the battlefields all day. KOA campgrounds in general are pretty expensive compared to state parks but you are paying for the availability of full hookups and a location close to town. As tent campers we really didn't need all the amenities and I think it was over $40 to stay for one night. The bathrooms and showers were clean and the property was well maintained. We were just there for one night and were back on the road early the next morning so the convenience of the location was worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9999DotJPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I really enjoyed this location. I've stayed at a few KOAs and I usually like them anyway so this was so surprise. The only inconvenient thing was having to bring my own sheets. I saved a bunch of $$ by getting a KOA card (recommended to me at check-in) so that more than made up for any inconvenience. The general store/front desk was very nice and the people were very pleasant. Each cabin has a covered porch which was so nice because it was raining when we got there. There is plenty of room in front or to the side of each cabin to have your grill. You have a picknick table and fire ring. I liked playing life size chess and shuffleboard. Just fun little things like that. The pool was great. I didn't use it although other people in my party did. They have a cute playground for the kids and a doggie playground which are some times hard to tell apart ;) The other great thing was the location. Everything was right there! It was just down the road from Gettysburg town center! There is something for everyone there - Gettysburg historic museum, pubs, family restaurants, Farnsworth House ghost tours, Union Cigar Co., Appalacian Brewing Co., wine tasting rooms, and civil war weapons stores and museums. It is just 5 minutes from the Gettysburg visitors center and battlefield. 10 minutes away from 2 different vineyards where you can taste wine while overlooking beautiful grounds. We went to Hauser Estates. If you leave the KOA and head in the direction of the town center, on your right hand side there is a truck selling fire wood at $5 for a huge buckets worth. I am definitely going back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpefine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We don't live too terribly far away from this campground and decided to take our new tent here first for a night. We stayed over Mother's Day Weekend and were only one of two families who braved the chilly weekend to tent. We stayed at site # 75. It was a very nice site and accommodate our 13x9 tent easily. This is a smaller KOA, but it was very peaceful. The next morning, we had pancakes in the pancake house and that hit the spot. The bathroom was older, but fairly clean. I'm rather picky about bathrooms. They could use remodeling, but it wasn't horrible. The pool was not yet open that weekend, so we went into town for most of our stay. Overall, we would definitely stay here again. The one downfall is the cost to camp here. I'm not a fan of shoveling out more than $35 or so for a tent site. I guess the higher cost of this KOA comes with the close proximity to Gettysburg; however, we would visit here more often if it wasn't so costly.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
Thank psnyder97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We checked the other campgrounds in Gettysburg on a previous trip, and decided to try the KOA on our trip this year. We were very happy with the campground. The bath/shower rooms were clean. The grounds were well groomed and neat. The sites are shaded for the most part, but that is what we prefer. The campround has large rocks and small trees between most of the sites for added privacy. The camp store has reasonable prices and a helpful staff. Everybody was very friendly to us. The campground is small compared to many campgrounds, but has all of the ammenities that we enjoy. Nightly activities and or movies / playground / swimming pool / hiking trail / mini-golf / shuffle board etc. We stayed there in a travel trailer, and will definately stay there again.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank naylor856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed here with our 6yo son and rented one of their 'Kabins' (the one room cabins). From the moment we arrived, the staff was very friendly and helpful. I didn't meet any
member of the staff without receiving a friendly smile or greeting.

The 'kabins' are absolutely adorable, with a front porch with swing, a double bed and twin bunk beds, a small fridge/freezer, AC/heat, a ceiling fan and two windows that open and close. Outside there is a picnic table, grill and fire pit. The mattresses are foam mattresses inside a vinyl slipcover. They were about as comfortable as the air mattresses we use when we go tent camping. Not as nice as our pillow top at home, but I slept well on them.

It was a short walk to the satellite bathroom, which had 4 individual bathrooms with a toilet, sink and shower. The bathroom at the other end of camp (behind the office) was a public bathroom with several toilet stalls, and shower stalls that had an outer space to undress before stepping into the shower. We used the satellite bathrooms during our stay, and there was never a line for them. The bathrooms seem clean enough. They are a little musty smelling, but no more than most campground bathrooms. The ventilation system is operational, but doesn't "kick on" until the bathroom gets really steamy. My one suggestion to the camp owners would be to do something about the ventilation. Either make it come on automatically with the lights, or have it kick on sooner, since there is nothing worse than trying to get dry and dressed in a steamy bathroom.

The campground was blissfully quiet at night. Whether that was because the owners were strick in enforcing the quiet hours, or because we were surrounded by other families with little ones who went to bed as early as ours, I couldn't tell you. But it was quiet by 9pm and stayed that way until morning.

Our site (Kabin 12) would not be handicapped accessible due to the steps leading up to it. Otherwise, I think it was the best site in the campground.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMAG391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.8 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#13 of 28 in Gettysburg
436 reviews
7.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,548 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
887 reviews
5.8 mi away
President Inn & Suites
President Inn & Suites
#23 of 28 in Gettysburg
151 reviews
5.3 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettysburg / Battlefield KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg / Battlefield KOA

Address: 20 Knox Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7345
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Gettysburg
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nightly movie provides an overview of the town and battle. Bus tours depart from this KOA daily (in season) for the Gettysburg Battlefield or Washington, D.C. Explore on your own with a tape or CD, visiting such hallowed sites as Little Round Top, Devil's Den and Pickett's Charge. After a day of touring, relax at this quiet, naturally wooded campground. Enjoy the heated pool, nature trail, fun-bike rentals, shuffleboard, horseshoes, life-size games and mini golf. Weekend entertainment includes living history encampments, Civil War songs and stories, Civil War fashion show, ghost walks and pancake breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gettysburg / Battlefield Koa Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing