We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gettysburg / Battlefield KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice campground”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Everyone was very friendly! Loved our cabin! This campground had lots of extras like the life size chess & connect four to the doggy playground. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on a return trip to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    46
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
107
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have stayed here several times and all have been wonderful. Love the shade trees and the way everything is kept clean. They have made this campground feel more natural by keeping lots of rocks and foliage at the sites. Loved the trail they made that takes you around the campground thru the woods. Nice hike. Our dogs loved the natural setting. They also have a wonderful playground where you can take the "children"(dogs) off the leash so they can run and play for exercise. Wish more campgrounds did this for our 4 legged children. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swill7885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed in for two nights in a nice shaded tent site while visiting the battlefield. The campground is very tidy, quiet at night, and very close to Gettysburg. Civil War buffs: I strongly recommend taking knoxlyn road north from the campground to US 30 on your way to visit the battlefield. At the intersection of the two roads is a much overlooked monument marking the spot where Marcellus Jones of the US 8th Cavalry fired the "first shot" of the battle--the spot is not marked on any of the National Park maps or guides and none of the guided tours go near it (it is too far west of town).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadrian6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

you stayed in hundreds of KOAS, this would be in our top 5. beautiful trees and maintain sites. the local activities with Gettysburg well have you riveted for days on end. the campground has nice clean bathrooms and a nice swimming pool. every evening there is a movie for the kids. do you want to take a tour of Washington DC? if so the tour bus will pick you up right here at the campground. not too many pull throughs a lot of back in sites. will come back to this one.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l5adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Browns Mills, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

It is far enough from town but close enough. We sat around our fire listened to nature. The staff were very friendly, helpful, and informative! They are very pet friendly, they even have pet playground! When we come back to this area it is now our home away from home!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We had cabin number 13, it was located a few feet away from the bathrooms/showers! It was perfect. The staff were very friendly and happy. The pool was amazing it ranged from 3-6 feet. The only problem was the mattress, it was extremely uncomfortable. Overall it was the perfect place to relax.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyAnnNaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We took our newly acquired hybrid trailer to the Gettysburg KOA for it's first time out. We were pleased with how close the campgrounds were to the town and battlefields. The campgrounds are beautiful - very wooded and hilly.The paths are gravel and although it rained the first night, it did not get muddy. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The only thing we thought wasn't perfect were the bathrooms - they are a bit outdated and not particularly clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth and P... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.6 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#15 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
5.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
5.1 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
4.9 mi away
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettysburg / Battlefield KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg / Battlefield KOA

Property: Gettysburg / Battlefield KOA
Address: 20 Knox Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7345
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Gettysburg
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nightly movie provides an overview of the town and battle. Bus tours depart from this KOA daily (in season) for the Gettysburg Battlefield or Washington, D.C. Explore on your own with a tape or CD, visiting such hallowed sites as Little Round Top, Devil's Den and Pickett's Charge. After a day of touring, relax at this quiet, naturally wooded campground. Enjoy the heated pool, nature trail, fun-bike rentals, shuffleboard, horseshoes, life-size games and mini golf. Weekend entertainment includes living history encampments, Civil War songs and stories, Civil War fashion show, ghost walks and pancake breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gettysburg / Battlefield Koa Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing