We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gettysburg”
Review of Gettysburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gettysburg Hotel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed three nights at this Hotel. The hotel is clean and the staff excellent. You can walk to alot from this hotel. The parking ramp concerned us before choosing this hotel but it is directly behind the hotel and is very secure and well lighted. This should not concern you other than the $10 per day fee which is very fair for the security and location of this lot.

Room Tip: Although small the JR Suite is well worth the extra cost if you don't like the feel of a regular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

987 - 993 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was the second year in a row we have stayed at the Gettysburg Hotel and I cannot say enough about the renovations and the upgraded room we had on the 5th floor. Like others have said, if you are a light sleeper get a room in the back and not the front...In our case we enjoyed the noise and excitement of it all and do not go to sleep until midnight or after when it quiets down a bit, but not on weekend until 2-3am with the teens roaming around so be forwarned! We totally enjoyed it excpet one night when the whooping and hollering exceeded 3am.

We loved our king room with a gas fireplace, however our time here this year (October 4-8) it was very warm almost 90 degrees daily with the night cooling down into the 70's. Everybody we encountered was friendly and helpful...We did not eat at the hotel, but at Garryowen, the Dobbins house and the Blue/Grey and all lived up to expectations. You must do the french cafe up the street for breakfast, it was amazng!

I so look forward to returning when all the parks are not shut down due ot the federal shutdown, what a debacle!

Room Tip: Top floor near the front if you are a partier, at least in the weekend; if not in the rear where it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevenEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We requested a jacuzzi room which turned out to be a one person bathtub with a jet blowing some bubbles! Really not worth the 200$ we paid. The restaurant not much better. They could not explain how a melted chocolate chip ended up in my breakfast, at least that is what they said it was! Other than location, just not with it.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyJoy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your review. Our team appreciates the valuable guest feedback provided by TripAdvisor members. I’ve shared your comments with several key associates so that we can improve in the areas that were mentioned in your review.

I’m terribly sorry that our Jacuzzi King room didn’t meet your expectations. With the exception of our VIP Suites, our current room descriptions are consistent and describe the experience as a “Jacuzzi jet bath.” I’ve asked our sales team to review the descriptions used and make changes accordingly to more effectively set the expectations of guests considering a Jacuzzi room.

Chocolate chips are frequently used during our breakfast service as the star ingredient of our delightful Chocolate Chip Pancakes. Because food at One Lincoln is prepared to order with fresh ingredients, a wayward chip from the griddle was to blame in this instance. I do apologize that this unexpected item found its way into your meal. I have relayed the disappointment to our chefs and asked that more care is taken to avoid such a situation in the future. I take this matter very seriously because, while a chocolate chip may be benign in this situation, our kitchen is very sensitive to guests with food allergies and strive to provide a perfect meal each time.

Again, thank you for your candid review. We are using your feedback to make adjustments and correct the shortcomings. Should your travels bring you back to Gettysburg, I do hope you will return to our hotel and give us an opportunity to demonstrate superior hospitality.

Chuck Moran,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I would highly recommend this Hotel. It is very well situated in the heart of town and within walking distance of shopping and dining. The staff is pleasant and the hotel is clean and modern in its furnishing. We rented a junior suite, which I found tight in space but very nice otherwise. Parking is reasonable. Public transportation is available behind the Hotel. will be back due to the government shutdown of the park and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from front of Hotel, the main street is heavily travelled by tractor trailers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 715Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Very pleasantly surprised with the simple elegance of this hotel. The location is ideal for wandering around the historic town of Gettysburg. The hotel food was way better than expected for hotel food. They also make a mean Long Island iced tea. I would go back again when possible. That part of PA is beautiful!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

stayed here last weekend and could not have been happier. the staff was attentive, extremely hospitable and a pleasure to be around. The property is well maintained and really pretty. The room was comfortable and fresh smelling. Well done Gettysburg Hotel. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. See you next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nagib F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed a week for a business conference -- (100+ people) and my room was very nice. Window overlooked the town square during a beautiful fall week. Some others complained about street noise when bars shut down & patrons roll home but my bed was so comfy that I didn't hear a thing. Excellent location to walk to eateries & shops. Note that in Oct many shops close by 6pm. I never ate at the hotel rest but the menu looked good. The conference catering was very tasteful. We had the beautiful ballroom! I would definitely stay here again. They just had arecent remodel completed Spring 2013.

Room Tip: I liked having a room overlooking the square. If you are a light sleeper you may want to request NOT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sundancer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,600 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
902 reviews
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
295 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 28 in Gettysburg
837 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Hotel

Address: 1 Lincoln Sq, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: £81 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gettysburg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 is located in the heart of historic downtown Gettysburg Pennsylvania and is walking distance to the battlefield, attractions, shops and restaurants.This historic Gettysburg hotel offers superior service in a charming and ideal setting; rich in history and hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gettysburg
Gettysburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing