We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel”
Review of Gettysburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gettysburg Hotel
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Albertson, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel in the heart of Gettysburg. We stayed one night here. Linda at the front desk was wonderful and the room was great. Only caution is that most of the hotel is modern and not a historical space. It is however beautiful.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    339
    134
    36
    16
See reviews for
358
392
26
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The town of Gettysburg is an amazing place,,,,buy a cd of the great battle and travel back in time as you tour the Military Park. Explore the many museums, the restaurants, the shopping,,,,the ladies at the travel center are fantastic, knowledgable representatives for the city and definitely stay at the Gettysburg Hotel! We enjoyed the local Halloween parade,,, talk about small town America coming to life right before our eyes! My husband and I hope to travel back to Gettysburg and enjoy this great hotel again one day!

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor street,,,, a great view,,,, beautiful room,,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was my third stay at the Gettysburg Hotel (beginning in 1994). This most recent trip was with my husband and sons; we were doing area college tours including Gettysburg College. I love the most recent renovations. The common areas are beautiful (although my boys miss the breakfast room where they had fun making their own waffles several years ago). Our room was chic; comparable to any of the upscale boutique hotels I favor in New York, DC, Boston. You cannot beat the parking; location and general amenities. Staff was welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: I have stayed in different parts of the hotel on each of my visits. All rooms were equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. clair
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I have stayed here several times; the last time was in August. While the renovations are lovely the staff is not very welcoming, the prices have increased and they no longer offer a military discount on weekends. We like staying in Lincoln square since we are close to the action but will be staying at the bed and breakfasts that are also located in the square from now on. They are friendlier, more historic, and offer great rates.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gosteelers81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I travel to Gettysburg 3 or 4 times a year. This is the only hotel I stay in now. Hotel is recently renovated, and located in the perfect place to walk to most shopping and restaurants. A large parking lot is located behind the hotel with very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSB1863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mims, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful and I love just thinking of the history that was here before the fire burnt down the original one. The rooms were specious and our room overlooked Lincoln square to which the only down fall came from, which was the road traffic all night but we understand people gotta drive. The restaurant was decent a tad over priced but that's what you get in a hotel. Overall we will defiantly stay her again

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steelcanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ringwood hampshire uk
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Beautiful re fashioned hotel. All staff were friendly especially carrie,Anglophile, on reception. Rooms were very comfortable as we're communal areas. Restaurant reasonably priced. There is an in house registered town guide to do the town attractions re civil war. Well worth going on the tour. Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliwoollacott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,469 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,496 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Hotel

Property: Gettysburg Hotel
Address: 1 Lincoln Sq, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gettysburg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 is located in the heart of historic downtown Gettysburg Pennsylvania and is walking distance to the battlefield, attractions, shops and restaurants.This historic Gettysburg hotel offers superior service in a charming and ideal setting; rich in history and hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelClick, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gettysburg
Gettysburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing