We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST service, atmosphere and LOCATION!”
Review of Gettysburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gettysburg Hotel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Traveled on our own to Gettysburg in the summer and GLAD we booked the place! First of all, you can't find a better location in the historic downtown area. You are literally in the middle of the rotary where you can easily walk to all the shops, sites and restaurants! Fabulous! The service was excellent, reception and check in smooth. The room was well appointed and the large bathroom and huge bedroom were just superb. I liked the fact that the air conditioner worked so well! It was HOT outside, and the room stayed nice and cool. We had breakfast in the bright dining room, and the food and service were excellent! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

996 - 1,002 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have returned as a family for the past 4 years for Remembrance Weekend with our two young grandsons, ages 5 and 8. What a terrific job they did with the remodeling! The rooms are spotless with plenty of towels and a very cheerful staff at the front desk. It is a big help to have a small refrigerator in the room for snacks and water.

Although we miss the dining room that overlooked the square and the buffet breakfast, the new dining area is spotless and more suited to the newer/fresher look of the hotel.

The location is perfect for all walking tours and Gettysburg still makes one pause to realize what occurred in America over 150 years ago. If you are a history buff this is THE place to visit. You will find endless things to do.

Room Tip: Our two rooms were connecting and spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diana z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Gettysburg Hotel is an old hotel that was built before the Civil War. It has been updated in the past few years, but it still has an old hotel feel. Our stay here was nice, but it definitely not worth the price. Across the street from the hotel is Abraham Lincoln's statue where he penned the Gettysburg address. There are historical informative plaques in front of the hotel that tell of what happened there during the Civil War.
I will say that our room was pretty nice to be so old. We had a very good mattress and really had a good night's sleep for each night that we were there. If money is not an issue, it is a good place to stay. But you better book early. The front desk told us that they stay booked well in advance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwightfranklin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

What a lovely surprise to find this remodeled gem. The room was spacious with the best hair dryer, comfortable wingback chair and plenty of towels tucked away in the closet. How smart they are to have 2 luggage racks. The new bar and restaurant was a cozy retreat and the service at the desk went above and beyond friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Joan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We came to Gettysburg to tour the battlefields and do a little shopping. I have high expectations of hotels where I stay. The Gettysburg Hotel met them all. The bed was clean and comfortable. The room clean and fresh. Staff was amazing! The whole day I kept saying how much I loved it there! The price was right too! Our room faced the road and I did not hear any of the traffic at all and I am a light sleeper. Lots of great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Gettysburg Hotel is THE place to stay when visiting Gettysburg. It is in such a perfect location -- right in the Square, which really isn't a square, its a circle...
I see that one reviewer mentioned truck noise but we didn't hear a thing from our King Suite -- except the train once but it wasn't a big deal, two whistle toots and that's it.
The Hotel is right across the street from David Wills House, where President Lincoln slept the night before he delivered the Gettysburg address. He slept in a bedroom on the second floor and put the finishing touches on his speech there. Its a nice little museum now and worth 30-45 minutes of your time.
The Hotel is clean and beautifully decorated. A few hallways are a little slanted and a creak or two in the floors will happen but the building looks great for its age.
We dined at One Lincoln which is the restaurant in the hotel and the food was GREAT !!! Maybe a touch over priced (not bad though) but the portions were quite large and we were able to take boxes back to the room before heading out for our Ghost Tour, which was a package purchased through the Hotel.
The Hotel is within walking distance to many of the most historic sites including Jennie Wade's House (both of them), the soldiers museum and even the Battlefield itself. Although if you are going to the Battlefield I recommend driving to the Visitors center and getting a feel for things there first. Walking from the Gettysburg Hotel down Baltimore Street is like walking back in time with all of the bronze plaques and historic places not to mention the damaged buildings that have bullet holes still in them from the fighting on that road 150 years ago. The best part is that you don't have to worry about driving around since the hotel is so conveniently located. There's a large parking garage behind the building and its a 30 second walk to the hotel.
There are lots of quaint eaterys around the hotel too, our favorite was the Blue and Gray Bar and Grill in the square. One word to the wise, DO NOT try the food challenge or the Gettysburg Ghost Wings youll be crying for your Mommy if you do, they make you sign a waiver if you order them. It is a small place so get there early.
We will definitely be returning to the Gettysburg Hotel, it has everything...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We just spent 3 nights here and enjoyed it. We had a lovely, large room on the 5th floor on the front of the building, The traffic is constant, however. Day. Night. Evening. Early. Late. No matter, it's LOUD and there is no getting away from it. The décor is in stark contrast to other places in town and what you might think to be appropriate for the area. I, however, enjoyed staying inside a Pottery Barn catalog. A relief from the 'period' style everywhere else. For my taste, the bar is waaaaay too bright. Ambiance, folks! Same w/the lobby areas. Too bright and there are 3 gas fireplaces and none of them were working. Bummer, for sure. Staff is professional and pleasant and breakfast (only meal eaten there) was very good.

Room Tip: avoid front of the building re the traffic noise.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catcat6327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,625 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
909 reviews
0 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#13 of 28 in Gettysburg
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
848 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
341 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Hotel

Address: 1 Lincoln Sq, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: £69 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gettysburg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 is located in the heart of historic downtown Gettysburg Pennsylvania and is walking distance to the battlefield, attractions, shops and restaurants.This historic Gettysburg hotel offers superior service in a charming and ideal setting; rich in history and hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gettysburg
Gettysburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing