We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay in Gettysburg”
Review of Gettysburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gettysburg Hotel
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Mobile, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding stay in Gettysburg”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We recently stayed 5 days at the Gettysburg Hotel and loved it. Initially,we had a difficult time deciding where to stay and finally decided on the Gettysburg Hotel despite it's relatively poor ranking (14th),but we were so pleased that we did. It's a wonderful historic hotel but in excellent condition. The room was very comfortable and the service by all the staff outstanding. The location is the best; close enough to the battlefields but right in the middle of town and so close to many good restaurants. However, this location being on the town square does result in some traffic noise but did not bother us. Parking is directly behind the hotel and more than adequate. We will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: If street noise bothers you, request a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    339
    135
    36
    16
See reviews for
359
392
26
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This was the first time I've stayed at this hotel, so I don't have a reference for it's "pre-renovation" condition that some refer to. I found the hotel to be clean and the staff very friendly. It is in the center of the town making the shops and local restaurants within walking distance. My room was a suite, so it had a sleep sofa and a queen bed. The room was good size, and I like the fact that the actual bedroom had a door making both sleeping areas an appropriately "private' bedroom. The room with the sleep sofa was the "living room" and efficiency kitchen area. The room was clean as was the bathroom with nice quality toiletries supplied. As mentioned, the room had a microwave, coffee maker, and a refrigerator which was convenient for leftovers. I'd say the only thing negative to report was that the sofa bed could have been more comfortable. I traveled with a friend, so I did use it for sleeping myself. Other than that, do expect to hear street noise if your room is facing the street as mine was. I considered this the price to pay for the convenience of staying literally on the main traffic circle in the town. The windows don't seem to be new, so I felt a cold draft coming in as it was in the 30's during the day. However, this was offset by heavy drapes and an efficient heating system so I slept comfortably at night. The public parking garage the guests are directed to use is convenient, although I do agree it would be useful to include in and out privileges for the hotel guests. Since I only stayed one night, I didn't have a problem with paying more than the $10 per 24 hours since I didn't move the car after parking it the first time. If you move your car, the rate is 75 cents per hour so it's reasonable enough. The garage is behind the hotel so it's not far and you can unload your luggage at the hotel first before parking your car. There is a back door to the hotel, making access to the garage very easy. I did not eat in the restaurant so can not comment on that. I did have after dinner cocktails in the bar and found the drinks and prices to be agreeable and the service efficient. As I stayed at this hotel in December, it wasn't really crowded at that at that time. I would stay at this hotel again, but stay in an inside room, if available, to decrease the sound of the street noise.

Room Tip: Our corner suite was good size and had a sleep sofa, but be prepared to hear noise with the room fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerKAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Had stayed at this hotel many times over twenty years. We loved the historic feel and romance of the place. Dec 2013 was our first time staying since the renovation. Outside it is still an historic hotel. Inside - it could be any hilton, doubletree, clarion, etc., you would find anywhere else. The lovely old furnishings and light fixtures in the lobby areas and bar/dining room have been replaced by modern light (maple?) wood and chrome, the lobby desk replaced by a modern verson. The dining room used to have large stuffed chairs and dark wood tables, and the fireplace gave off a romantic glow while you had dinner or just a glass of wine with your honey. Now It is more suited to the retirement community early-bird special. They've broken through the wall behind the fireplace, installed diner booths down one side and even during the dinner hour and late night, the track lighting gave the place a brightness like the sahara at noon. The fireplace has been blocked by a modern maple hightop table that sits 6-8. In fact, during our stay when the town when the town had their Christmas parade, none of the three public fireplaces (lobby area and dining room) were in use. So disappointing.
Parking is an issue. The hotel used to pay for their guests parking in the municipal lot behind the hotel. Now you have to pay $10 per day and there is no in and out privilege. So it you go out to drive the battlefield in the morning, then come back and park and then drive out for dinner you have to pay each time you leave.
I give the hotel 2 stars because the "modern" rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. The bath was clean but you can't turn off the fan without turning out the light which is a noise problem, and it wasn't heated; the stone floors were ice cold.
While the hotel is centrally located and convenient to downtown activities, if you want historic or romantic - go with one of the charming B&Bs. If you want modern hotels, go with one out on the bypass where you don't end up paying everytime you leave the parking lot and probably get a cheaper rate.
Whoever took over this hotel has ruined its character and completed obliterated all the romance. After visiting for over twenty years, not sure we'll go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, MD
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed here in late August in order to explore this historic area. The hotel staff was very helpful and the rooms are a good size and very clean. The hotel is located in the center of town on the old town square which makes it easy to access all the important sites. This is a classy establishment with easy access to restaurants (the hotel has it's own restaurant which is very good) and shops. Parking is behind the hotel in the city's covered garage and the cost is reasonable. There is access to the garage through the hotels rear door. All in all this hotel is a good value stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimindc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed in late July and was grateful to get a room in prime time.. this Dec. it was midweek and thought it would not be a problem. Our room had a half a roll of bathroom tissue and four tissues in the tissue box. the closet was void of any refills. I agree with some of the other statements, being a bit over priced for what you get. Previously the bath was actually dirty with human waste and that was a suite instead of a regular room. The location is prime.. The front desk very cordial but housekeeping needs an upgrade.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, CT
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Traveled on our own to Gettysburg in the summer and GLAD we booked the place! First of all, you can't find a better location in the historic downtown area. You are literally in the middle of the rotary where you can easily walk to all the shops, sites and restaurants! Fabulous! The service was excellent, reception and check in smooth. The room was well appointed and the large bathroom and huge bedroom were just superb. I liked the fact that the air conditioner worked so well! It was HOT outside, and the room stayed nice and cool. We had breakfast in the bright dining room, and the food and service were excellent! We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have returned as a family for the past 4 years for Remembrance Weekend with our two young grandsons, ages 5 and 8. What a terrific job they did with the remodeling! The rooms are spotless with plenty of towels and a very cheerful staff at the front desk. It is a big help to have a small refrigerator in the room for snacks and water.

Although we miss the dining room that overlooked the square and the buffet breakfast, the new dining area is spotless and more suited to the newer/fresher look of the hotel.

The location is perfect for all walking tours and Gettysburg still makes one pause to realize what occurred in America over 150 years ago. If you are a history buff this is THE place to visit. You will find endless things to do.

Room Tip: Our two rooms were connecting and spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diana z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,471 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,497 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Hotel

Property: Gettysburg Hotel
Address: 1 Lincoln Sq, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gettysburg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 is located in the heart of historic downtown Gettysburg Pennsylvania and is walking distance to the battlefield, attractions, shops and restaurants.This historic Gettysburg hotel offers superior service in a charming and ideal setting; rich in history and hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gettysburg
Gettysburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing