We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gettysburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gettysburg Hotel
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the Gettysburg hotel and we're very pleased. Large bedrooms and baths, a comfortable bed with high quality linens made our stay outstanding.
The location is great for walking to restaurants after a day of sightseeing . Diner around the corner was a good breakfast spot.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fwt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    311
    124
    33
    13
See reviews for
320
367
22
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

What a great place! There on a school trip with lots of kids. The staff was fantastic and very accommodating. The food was the best hotel food the whole trip. The rooms were comfortable and the atmosphere was delightful. I highly recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerport, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Quality accommodations at a reasonable price. Very friendly staff and charming building. Eclectic menu at hotel restaurant. Rumored to be haunted by a couple of friendly ghosts. Came here for a visit to Gettysburg College which is right down the street (and is affiliated with the hotel). Adorable town!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tornadozzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
205 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I went for the night, February 22, after a full day of Gettysburg history. I would normally not be able to nor be willing to afford a room at the Gettysburg Hotel anytime other than off season. It's quite expensive. It is located right on the square , within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The lobby and the condition and the feel of the place is very impressive. The front desk was very friendly and courteous. The hallways are lined with beautiful Civil War prints.
I had a room on the 2nd floor and it was almost directly across from the elevator and ice machine (two huge pluses!). My only complaint is that the walls are not nearly thick enough to block out hallway noise, unfortunately.
The room and bathroom I had were spacious, clean and quite well appointed. They didn't do me any favors with the view but it didn't matter much as I was there by myself mainly to learn more about and explore the Gettysburg battlefield. I did however go out and walk around the town and drop in a couple bars, shops and restaurants. One of the key things about the hotel is the location as I was able to walk out on Baltimore St and others and check out all the civil war era buildings and plaques that are everywhere. I've been to Gettysburg a few times and this time, aside from the times with my wife, was definitely the best trip I've had there. BTW the weather was beautiful and warm and with snow on the ground and a amazingly deep blue sky made for a sometimes surreal feel to many of the places on the battlefield. I would recommend to Civil War buffs that you visit sometime with these conditions, even though they are opposite of the conditions of when the battle actually occurred.

Room Tip: Lincoln diner across the street is awesome!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KG42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is really a wonderful place to get a away for a couple of days. Recently remodeled. Has a wonderfull appeal. The rooms are very nice. The Lincoln restaurant downstairs is clean and modern as the whole property is. Great place to stay & eat if your are coming to Gettysburg. The staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms are very nice. Very roomy and the bed was good too, the foam matress. We got one with a ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed at the Gettysburg Hotel on February 20 and it was a wonderful place. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful when checking and very efficient at check out. It is a very inviting environment from the moment you step in the door. The rooms are very comfortable, especially the beds which was like sleeping on a cloud. The rooms were a bit tight but that just made it more cozy. Plus it is great just to step outside and be in the middle of everything such as shops and restaurants. The only reason I gave a rating of four is the parking for the hotel is in a garage owned by Gettysburg so you have to pay a $10 fee to park overnight. Other then that, it was an enjoyable trip.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room not facing the street because the hotel is located litera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoegal1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed only one evening, the 15th of February, but had so much great service from this staff and the room was beautifully appointed, quiet and you can't beat the location, right on the center circle.

The staff was so gracious and willing to help with every question and making suggestions. They would drop whatever they were doing to be of assistance.

The room was very very nice. King bed with fireplace on the top floor with wonderful vista views of Gettysburg and the surrounding hillsides.

It was a terrific stay. Thank you to all of the staff for your incredible hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LandscapeDesigner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Hotel

Property: Gettysburg Hotel
Address: 1 Lincoln Sq, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gettysburg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 is located in the heart of historic downtown Gettysburg Pennsylvania and is walking distance to the battlefield, attractions, shops and restaurants.This historic Gettysburg hotel offers superior service in a charming and ideal setting; rich in history and hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelClick and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gettysburg
Gettysburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing