We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel But Noisy Night!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gettysburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gettysburg Hotel
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Penn, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Beautiful Hotel But Noisy Night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The stay was nice. Room was clean, good shower. The bed was VERY comfortable. The downside was the noise outside the room...not good for sleeping...very loud from traffic-especially 18 wheeler trucks and motorcycles that go through the town as well as loud people partying.

Also, disappointed we didn't see any ghosts!!!!

Room Tip: If I ever stay again, I would request a room along the back and on a higher floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    311
    124
    33
    13
See reviews for
320
366
22
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Definitely not a destination hotel, but the hotel was clean enough and the people were friendly enough as well. There is no compelling reason to stay here, The location is good but no better then several other options. Truly defines average. For a facility with this heritage it could be so much more.

Room Tip: I doubt any are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T00ManyAirMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Wonderful Gettysburg.....ONE of our favorite places to visit.....and we do. We decided this time to stay at the newly renovated Gettysburg Hotel on Lincoln Square. We have stayed there in the past, but it is NOW under new management, and ownership, and was upgraded in ALL aspects. We were disappointed; NEVER thought I would be saying this! We arrived early Friday afternoon for the weekend. We were able to get into our room at that time; that was great considering check-in was not until 4 p.m. and it was only around 12:30. They gave us a room in the rear of the hotel. It was so small, with a tiny window, which was overlooking a roof and the parking garage. We were stunned! This trip was NOT planned at the last minute. We went downstairs to change accomodations and was informed by the woman at the desk that they were ALL sold out, except for a few suites. WE informed her that WE did not ask for a room, such as this, and that we wanted a change. It was early enough in the day. If another woman DID NOT come out from the back office to help us, we would NOT have had the change. She shifted things in the computer and gave us a room overlooking the square. WHY couldn't the first woman do that? This is NOT a cheap hotel. In fact, it is known as the "place to stay in Gettysburg", due to it historical tradition and location. The rooms at this hotel are generally small, unless you get a suite, but you can see the upgrades in decor. The bathroom vanity area is quite small and separated from the bathing area. Bed was comfortable; pillows "hard as a rock"; so, bring your own, unless this is your style. Alarm clock did not work when setting the "wakeup time". Lincoln One Restaurant is nice; prices vary; bar area was always comfortable. Service good. Downstairs renovations....lobby; front sitting room....very nice.
There is a municipal lot in the back of the hotel. It use to be that if you stayed at the hotel, they validated your ticket, and you did not have to pay for parking. Those days are over. That was always a nice touch. It is now $.75/hr, or not more than $10, for a 24 hr. period. You pay on the way out using a kiosk. We had a strange situation when returning to our room on Saturday evening. We found the door open. When we called downstairs to report what we found, we were told that there was a problem on the floor above, and they had to come into our room to check something!! What?? You don't check to see if the door is locked with a lap top sitting on the desk on your way out? This was just NOT an acceptable answer. They said they would contact Housekeeping. Upon checking out the next morning, we mentioned it again, so that future guests would not be alarmed as we were when entering their room, but it was as if they did not know what we were talking about. They mentioned Housekeeping again. I was just not getting their lack of concern with this. Gettysburg is an awesome place to visit over and over again. BUT, we will not be staying at The Gettysburg Hotel again. It has changed. Renovations are wonderful; didn't like the service. There are wonderful places to stay in Gettysburg; most of them are cheaper, and are located with convenience to ALL attractions, including the Battlefield, which is why you came in the first place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Square. It is quite nice; scenic; but, you will hear more traffic at certain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ECGirll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback and comments related to your recent stay with us. I’ve shared a number of your observations with our associates in our ongoing effort to continuously improve the experiences we provide our guests.

Many of the comments you’ve shared with fellow TripAdvisor members will be very helpful. I would like to address a few of the points mentioned in your review in order to provide additional clarity for the TripAdvisor community.

The nearby parking garage used by overnight guests and is owned and operated by the Borough of Gettysburg. Last year, the daily flat fee payment option offered by the Borough was discontinued. Due to this change, our ability to add the flat daily parking fee the room bill was lost. Municipal parking fees are now assessed by hourly usage and paid directly at the municipal garage. Currently, this is the only option for our guests and visitors parking a vehicle in Gettysburg.

I would like to apologize again regarding the unlatched door to your room. The safety and security of our guests and their belongings is among the highest of priorities for us. As you noted, an issue on the floor above yours required our housekeeping associate to enter and verify the condition of your room. Unfortunately a mistake was made during their exit and we are very truly sorry about this. This was certainly not our best moment. Thankfully nothing was disturbed in your room. Something like this is rare, but unfortunately mistakes happen. We have used this experience as a learning opportunity. I’ve addressed this with our team and corrective action has been taken to ensure that a problem like this is not encountered by our future guests.

Again, thank you for your comments and review. I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again during your next visit to Gettysburg.

Chuck Moran,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Gettysburg Hotel last evening, March 22, 2014. We couldn't have asked for a nicer room, super front desk personnel. My husband recovering from chemotherapy, tired out early in the day and they were kind enough to get us into our room before 4:00. We had dinner in the bar and were entertained by the fantastic bar personnel, e.g. Terry. The only disappointment in the stay was breakfast this morning. The wait was somewhat long to get our food but the waitress did deduct something from our bill. The only suggestion I might give is to not use artificial eggs when making scrambled eggs. They were extremely watery and absolutely no taste to them whatsoever. My husband fared better with the Eggs Benedict. I am of the mind set that if you are going to have scrambled eggs and pay $7-8 dollars, then they should be fresh real eggs. We always love Gettysburg and would definitely go back to that hotel.

Room Tip: We had the room with Jacuzzi and fireplace. It was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srishell52787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the Gettysburg hotel and we're very pleased. Large bedrooms and baths, a comfortable bed with high quality linens made our stay outstanding.
The location is great for walking to restaurants after a day of sightseeing . Diner around the corner was a good breakfast spot.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fwt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

What a great place! There on a school trip with lots of kids. The staff was fantastic and very accommodating. The food was the best hotel food the whole trip. The rooms were comfortable and the atmosphere was delightful. I highly recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerport, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Quality accommodations at a reasonable price. Very friendly staff and charming building. Eclectic menu at hotel restaurant. Rumored to be haunted by a couple of friendly ghosts. Came here for a visit to Gettysburg College which is right down the street (and is affiliated with the hotel). Adorable town!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tornadozzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Hotel

Property: Gettysburg Hotel
Address: 1 Lincoln Sq, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gettysburg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 is located in the heart of historic downtown Gettysburg Pennsylvania and is walking distance to the battlefield, attractions, shops and restaurants.This historic Gettysburg hotel offers superior service in a charming and ideal setting; rich in history and hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gettysburg
Gettysburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing