We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Light Sleepers Beware” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gettysburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gettysburg Hotel
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Light Sleepers Beware”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great location, clean and comfortable (except for pull-out sofa - not-so-much) but if you are a light sleeper and have a room facing street-side, be advised, it is very noisy on weekends. Bars, noise, kids and drunks until way after 2, so either stay out and party with them, or request an inside room. Other than that it was fine! (Bathroom exhaust fan was inoperable)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    305
    123
    33
    13
See reviews for
314
351
21
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were quite impressed with this hotel. The employees were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is centrally located with so much going on around it. We loved it! We read past reviews that said to ask for a room in the back of the hotel if you want quiet and that is just what we got. I knew the view would not be great but that was fine since we went outside to see the town! The parking is a bit pricey but we were well informed about that ahead of time and really did not cause us any problems. There were plenty of spaces for all. The only thing that I would suggest is more had carts should be available to the guests. We were only there for a weekend so we did not have too much luggage even with our teenagers, but we could not find a cart so we carried everything down to the car. That was fine for us since I have a strong husband and son. Overall, this was a great experience and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLR97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mokena, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

As they say location location location... My family loved this place right in the middle of downtown. We were able to walk everywhere and the battlefields are very close as well. The hotel is older but still kept up very nice. The bar is nice as well and if you are lucky like I was find a local who can give you the in's and out's of what to see and do.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reidsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Parking was difficult and pricy. didn't tell me ahead of time you must pay as you come and go out of the city deck. For the money they charge, they should provide parking or parking vouchers. Was told you couldn't leave car parked on street in a metered spot after 2 am or risk ticket/tow away.
I realized after we checked in there were other nice near by properties with spacious parking lots which would have been much less of a headache.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is centered in the small downtown core and everything is walking distance from here. Beautiful old hotel built in 1767 has been nicely refurbished. A little pricey but we were there for the July 4 celebrations and battle reenactments.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Excellent hotel. Excellent staff. Good value.
Stayed 1st week of July, town was busy but plenty of parking at hotel and around the town. EZ to get around.
Good variety for meals and entertainment. Friendly staff.


Room Tip: Room was great. Nice and quiet. No issues. Thx.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank H Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I've just returned home from an unforgettable trip to Gettysburg. The hotel was the starting and ending point of our mini vacation and was great from start to finish. The front desk staff was polite and professional. And walking through the common areas I was repeatedly greeted by all sorts of hotel staff. I believe what appeared to be a dishwasher and cook? even said hello to us in the hallway. I was very impressed with the room also. Everything was great! A sure stop on any visit to Gettysburg!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peaceloventravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gettysburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gettysburg Hotel

Property: Gettysburg Hotel
Address: 1 Lincoln Sq, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gettysburg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 is located in the heart of historic downtown Gettysburg Pennsylvania and is walking distance to the battlefield, attractions, shops and restaurants.This historic Gettysburg hotel offers superior service in a charming and ideal setting; rich in history and hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gettysburg
Gettysburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing