We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place ive stayed.”
Review of Baladerry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baladerry Inn
Ranked #4 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The best place ive stayed.”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just wonderful..The location is right outside town..so nice and queit. Innkeepers made us feel very comfortable and inviting. We will be back. My new favorite place..loved it. Stayed in the shamrock room, very nice. All the rooms are spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHannongill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    34
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
63
211
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My Ken travels extensively for work and it's hard to get him to relax. We snuck away for an overnight in Gettysburg because he is such a civil war buff. We had a fantastic stay with Judy & Ken at the Baladerry Inn. Dinner and breakfast was delish and the weekend was delightful. Treat yourself to a weekend at the Baladerry!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

A wonderful historic B&B on the outskirts of Gettysburg, run by Judy and Ken, who are the most delightfully welcoming and friendly hosts.

We stayed at the Inn in March 2012 (apologies for such a late review!) and had 2 rooms in the oldest part of the inn which were very comfortable and furnished in keeping with the period of the building. The ensuite bathroom to the Primrose Room was a little dated, but all worked perfectly, and totally what you would expect in a historic inn. Our teenage boys stayed in the only twin bedded room (Windflower) which was very spacious and comfortable, but the bathroom was just across the corridor.

The setting of the inn was very quiet and pretty and the garden/grounds would have been wonderful to sit in if the weather had been warmer. (We were there in March). You do need a car to stay at this inn, as it is probably about a 5-10 minute drive to downtown Gettysburg and all the attractions/museums/historic sites.

Breakfasts were delicious – and three courses if I remember rightly! – and there was also a table outside the kitchen with a large cookie jar where Judy always left some wonderful home-baked treats to enjoy anytime during the day, that none of us could resist!

There was a large and striking communal sitting room with very comfortable seating and lots of information about all the local sights and restaurants. Our favourite trip was to take a Segway tour (www.segtours.com) round the battlefields with a Park Ranger guide – it was brilliant! Not so fantastic, in our view, was The Dobbin House restaurant. It was reportedly one of the oldest inns and we were met by people wearing old-fashioned costumes etc, but the food was a real let down and extremely expensive for what it was. The Pub & Restaurant on Lincoln Square in Gettysburg was much better and $50 cheaper!

The other thing I would highly recommend doing is visiting the new Gettysbury Museum and Visitor Centre, which is absolutely superb – but allow plenty of time as there is so much to see and do!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric78London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My husband and I took a fun get away to Gettysburg to see the historical areas and to relax. We discovered Baladerry Inn online and took a chance at staying there. What a wonderful inn! We were the only guests there and felt very welcome by our hosts. We were able to walk to the battlefields and it was just a short drive in to town. If we visit Gettysburg again, we will visit Baladerry Inn!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My husband and I have stayed here 3 times between 2008 - 2010. Owner Susan Lonsky what a gem she single handedly made our stay here amazing every time. She always had homemade cookies when you walk in. Breakfast what always from scratch. Homemade scones, fresh fruit, and every breakfast was different. She had a great staff of ladies who would help her serve breakfast each morning. She made dinner reservations for us at the Dobbin house and she was always available to made sure your stay was a memorable one. I haven't stayed there since the new owners took over.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 63joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We were given a gift certificate to Baladerry for our 25th Anniversary and didn't have the opportunity to use it till this winter. We were not disappointed! This really is a beautiful place but what makes it special is Judy and Kenny--they made us feel quite at home and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We are hoping that we will be able to return during warmer weather so we can enjoy more of the beautiful grounds.

Great rooms, great location, great food, great conversation, great cat! Make this a "must" the next time you're in Gettysburg---you will be glad you did!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosby43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I've stayed at a number of B & Bs, and the Baladerry Inn is, by far, my favorite. This is what a true B & B should be--the inn keepers are tremendously gracious and hospitable, you feel like you have total privacy, even though the inn keepers are available the instant you need anything, and the breakfasts are absolutely to die for. I'll go out of my way to stay here anytime I'm anywhere near! A huge bonus is the house cat--I sat in the loft in the great room reading by lamp light in front of the stained glass, while the house cat purred at my feet. It felt just like home away from home. =)

Room Tip: I personally like the Vines room, though the Cottage Rose Suite is great, too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelawareTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
3.3 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,443 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
371 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#15 of 27 in Gettysburg
407 reviews
2.0 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baladerry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baladerry Inn

Property: Baladerry Inn
Address: 40 Hospital Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7798
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Baladerry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baladerry Inn is an ideal choice for your visit to historic Gettysburg and the surrounding area in Pennsylvania’s Adams County. With its unique country setting at the edge of the battlefield and minutes to the restaurants and attractions in town, the Baladerry Inn offers Gettysburg’s most charming blend of comfort and convenience. Open year round, the property features spacious landscaped grounds, romantic terraces, a majestic great room, and finely furnished and tastefully appointed guestrooms, all including private baths. Our guests also enjoy a full country breakfast each morning. The inn is a distinguished member of the Forbes Travel Guide (formerly Mobil Travel Guide) and AAA. Please accept our invitation to make the Baladerry Inn your lodging choice in Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Baladerry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing