We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Coming Back”
Review of Baladerry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baladerry Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Washington, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Definitely Coming Back”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Baladerry Inn this past weekend and we had amazing time! Judy and Ken were very friendly and gracious hosts.The inn feels really comfortable and warm. The room furnishings were simple and unique, the property was fairly large, and the hot tub and fire pit really added nice touches. The breakfast was amazing! Three courses of delicious goodness. My boyfriend and I couldn't stop talking about it. We will definitely be back to visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDMama2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    34
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
63
213
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grasonville, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Baladerry on Thanksgiving evening. We stayed in the Marigold
Room which was very comfortable. We sat by the fireplace in the great room of the main house and enjoyed making friends with Ballie. Breakfast was delicious and Judy and Kenny were wonderful hosts. The Inn is in a great location, very close to the battlefield and not too far from town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdgirl130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwinsville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Kenny and Judy were great and they run a quality Inn! Breakfast was spectacular and the room was very comfortable. Although it was a non issue for us, there was no TV or wifi in our room. It was available in the main house common area though......(we stayed in the carriage house). Overall, we found the location to be very convenient, but quiet and peaceful. We loved it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kljunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bensalem, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

From the time we arrived and saw a buck on the lawn, it was fantastic. Kenny and Joan gave us a tour of the property and it met our every wish. Our room with its fireplace and the great room where we ate a delicious breakfast were exceptional. Close to everything you want to do. Battlefield, shopping, restaurants are minutes away.

Room Tip: We stayed in the portion of the Bed and Breakfast that was built in 1812. The carriage house had 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuckowzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast, and it was magnificent! The Inn was recommended to us by a friend who had experienced multiple stays and raved about it!
The main goal of our trip was to visit and tour the Gettysburg National Military Park, and the Inn's location was perfect! Very close to the Visitor's Center, in a very serene, quiet, peaceful setting. It was also convenient to the center of the town which was a quick drive up the road. We stayed in the Marigold Room in the Carriage House. It was clean, comfortable, and very cozy! Each room had a unique character and decor, and each was both attractive and appealing in its own unique way. The living room of the main house served as the television room for any who felt a need to watch the tube during their stay. The rooms in the main house were quite beautiful, but all were located on the second floor. The same was true for the Marigold and Shamrock rooms in the Carriage House where we stayed. This could be difficult for guests who had difficulty with stairs. A coffee station was maintained in the Carriage House so guests did not have to go over to the Main House to meet those needs. Fresh baked goods were always available and the sitting room above the Great Room had a large variety of games and reading materials for those who chose to relax in that manner. There is a beautiful patio outside of the Great Room and the three rooms on the first floor of the Carriage House had individual patios that looked out on the expansive lawn and gazebo area. Innkeepers, Judy and Kenny, were extremely friendly and eager to accommodate our every need! They made us feel like we were a part of their family and convinced us that it was their goal to make our stay be the most pleasant experience possible. The Inn served as a hospital during the Battle of Gettysburg and staying in it truly added to our experience of the historical significance of the town and its role in the Civil War! Breakfasts prepared by Judy were absolutely superb and featured many of her own recipes. We purchased a recipe book based on the delicious meals that we were served. The atmosphere of the Inn was extremely relaxing! We wish that we had planned a longer visit than two nights, so that we could experience more of the cozy, relaxing atmosphere of the Inn. We plan to return to Gettysburg for an extended visit some day. When we do, the Baladerry Inn will be our choice of accommodations for our stay. It had been given rave reviews by others, and our visit exceeded even those high expectations!! Our stay at the Inn left us with as many beautiful memories as everything else we had come to see and experience in Gettysburg. A day or two just relaxing at the facility and walking in the neighborhood would make for a great trip in and of itself! It was a superb place to which to retreat each day after spending time off site visiting all that Gettysburg has to offer! We would highly recommend it, and would not consider staying anywhere else on a return trip to Gettysburg!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTG72548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannette, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband and my son and daughter in law stayed at the Baladerry Inn in November and I was THRILLED with the location....it's close enough to the battlefield and attractions, but far enough away from all the crowds and noise. The innkeepers were fantastic hosts who would drop what they were doing just to talk about "anything"...and I mean anything. The hearty breakfasts were nothing short of 5 star cuisine and the service staff was friendly and quite amusing to talk with. We stayed in the carriage house which is just a short walk to the main house and it was as quiet even with other guests staying there. The grounds are lovely and a nice campfire can be made to warm even the coldest of evenings. Everything about the inn was perfect. There is an ample supply of homemade "goodies" and refreshments in the event you need just a small snack to tide you over. A very enjoyed weekend at a quaint and lovely historical inn. Try it yourself!

Room Tip: There are rooms that you need to go up steps to get to. If you need "no steps" just reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

This was our first bed and breakfast experience and it was a great one! Very comfortable and clean. The staff made us feel at home. Food was delicious! Exceeded our expectations! Loved the quiet setting. Will definitely come back for another stay :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jay-B-Double-U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.3 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,446 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
371 reviews
2.0 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.5 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#9 of 23 in Gettysburg
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baladerry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baladerry Inn

Property: Baladerry Inn
Address: 40 Hospital Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7798
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Baladerry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baladerry Inn is an ideal choice for your visit to historic Gettysburg and the surrounding area in Pennsylvania’s Adams County. With its unique country setting at the edge of the battlefield and minutes to the restaurants and attractions in town, the Baladerry Inn offers Gettysburg’s most charming blend of comfort and convenience. Open year round, the property features spacious landscaped grounds, romantic terraces, a majestic great room, and finely furnished and tastefully appointed guestrooms, all including private baths. Our guests also enjoy a full country breakfast each morning. The inn is a distinguished member of the Forbes Travel Guide (formerly Mobil Travel Guide) and AAA. Please accept our invitation to make the Baladerry Inn your lodging choice in Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Baladerry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing