We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful stay in the country.”
Review of Baladerry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baladerry Inn
Ranked #4 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lowell, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful stay in the country.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The inn was clean as usual(I have stayed there many times before) and it is close to everything in spite being in the country. the inn keepers are very friendly and a joy to visit. the inn is very historic and full of antiques.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vimana12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    34
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
62
208
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I'm sorry to say this that this Inn offered overnight stays equivalent to the basics offered at a Motel 8, but is way overpriced. -Because it is in Gettysburg, however is not in walkable distance to town. The building, like many in town served the purpose of a hospital during the Civil War.

We stayed one night and were glad that was it. The beds and pillowswere subpar; stiff and ragid feeling. The walls were so paperthin that I could hear the man in the next room softly clear his throat. The temperature was hot and patrons could not change it.

The breakfast has a strict serve time of 8 to 9. Though it was good and the service staff friendly, it didn't quite make up for the night of little rest.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TourLocalLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Ken and Judy Caudill were just as nice as can be and were perfect hosts. The Inn is historic and close to Gettysburg but still out in the country. The rooms were spotless and the food was very good. Both Ken and Judy would do anything to make our stay more enjoyable. Outstanding service in a wonderful setting. I would always stay at the Baladerry if anywhere near Gettysburg.

Room Tip: I reserved one room online but upon arrival Judy offered the best room(Tulip) in her opinion as our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioMarine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Baladerry Inn is a very nice place to stay in Gettysburg. We spent two nights in the Vines Room which was charming. The inn is located on the edge of the park and only a few minutes drive from the town of Gettysburg. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful, just the place to relax after a day of touring the battlefield. Breakfast is included and the food is delicious, three courses and the menu changes each day. Judy is a terrific host and makes you feel right at home. I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrettsville, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We loved the everything about Baladerry Inn. Great location, close to Gettysburg but still out of town where it is quiet and surrounded by woods. Our hosts were wonderful. Breakfast was delightful. Our room was perfect. Will be making arrangements to go back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I came here for our wedding anniversary. It was perfect!! Close enough to Gettysburg but far enough out of the craziness. It has a hot tub...ahhh. And I can't forget about the staff..they were wonderful. I felt like we knew them. We felt so welcomed. The food was AMAZING. If you are looking for a get away you must try this place. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is truly a wonderful place to get away to. My husband and I spent 2 nights there in the most lovely room - The Marigold Room. The room was clean, bed comfortable. The breakfast each morning was delicious. One of the things I enjoyed most was at breakfast, you had your own table. Not being much of a morning person, that was good for me. The ladies were so sweet. Be sure to pick up a copy of their cookbook. We are looking to come again in the fall.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleanniebear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
3.3 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,416 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
2.4 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.0 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baladerry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baladerry Inn

Property: Baladerry Inn
Address: 40 Hospital Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7798
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Baladerry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baladerry Inn is an ideal choice for your visit to historic Gettysburg and the surrounding area in Pennsylvania’s Adams County. With its unique country setting at the edge of the battlefield and minutes to the restaurants and attractions in town, the Baladerry Inn offers Gettysburg’s most charming blend of comfort and convenience. Open year round, the property features spacious landscaped grounds, romantic terraces, a majestic great room, and finely furnished and tastefully appointed guestrooms, all including private baths. Our guests also enjoy a full country breakfast each morning. The inn is a distinguished member of the Forbes Travel Guide (formerly Mobil Travel Guide) and AAA. Please accept our invitation to make the Baladerry Inn your lodging choice in Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Baladerry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing