We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous and Relaxing Just Outside Gettysburg”
Review of Baladerry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baladerry Inn
Ranked #3 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We just returned yesterday from our stay at Baladerry Inn. What a beautiful B and B! The property is gorgeous with a huge open grassy area where many deer visit daily. The rooms are quiet, clean and smartly decorated. The main house has all you need and more: Keurig coffee maker, fresh baked cookies, cold drinks, ice and ice buckets, two cozy indoor sitting areas and probably even more I'm not remembering.

We stayed in the Daisy room. It's country charm made for a relaxing stay. The shower was updated and the bathroom very clean. The french doors open to a view of the grounds and a sweet little patio with chairs and table to enjoy the beautiful view and a nice bottle of wine.

The owners, Judy and Ken and their employee Connie were all very personable and welcoming. Judy gave us a personal tour of the house, telling us all about it's Civil War history. The breakfasts were delicious and fresh; a great way to start each day. The weather was perfect for al fresco dining on the patio at the main house. We spent a lot of time on the patio at the main house and off of our room relaxing and visiting with other guests.

Even though it feels like it is in the middle of nowhere, the property is only a mile away from the Gettysburg Military Visitor center and a couple of miles from the heart of downtown. I actually walked down one morning.

The Baladerry Inn is a true gem. The rates are very reasonable. I highly recommend it for a romantic getaway or just a relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: Patio rooms in Carriage house offer incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WyneandDyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Great breakfast, much better than any continental you'll get at a hotel or short order at a cafe. Quiet property, private and secluded, but closer to battle sites than B&Bs at the center of Gettysburg. Highly recommended and will definitely return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Curtis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife and I frequent the Baladerry and have for years. The property feels loved and is inviting. The hospitality is just right, meaning the innkeepers are there for you when needed and give privacy and space as well. The Inn is right between the two ends of the battlefield, making it an easy walk to many interesting locales on the field. It is quiet at night, giving a sense of being back in time. I have yet to meet a guest who has had anything but positive to say about Ken and Judy, the innkeepers. It makes for exciting yet restful weekends away!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Very cozy! Home away from home! Love how it is close to main attractions but not right in the middle where you can sit outside and enjoy the peacefulness. I am definitely coming back! Very nice owners and very welcoming :)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank DaniKNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is the second time that we have stayed at this Inn and it just keeps getting better and better each time. The owners, Judy and Kenny, are just the greatest hosts ever. They make you feel like you are in your own home and make you feel very relaxed and comfortable. They are the most gracious hosts I have ever met. The Inn is so beautiful and so well kept and maintained and the food was fantastic. They are also very accommodating to special needs as one in our party is a vegan and they went out of their way to make sure that her needs were met. This Inn definitely deserves all the praise that I can give because of the care and concern and love that Judy and Kenny (the owners) and Peggy give to their housemates. Keep up the great work and hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Carriage House on the bottom floor are exceptional because you have a patio right o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRSSEMISWEET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We recently stayed at this bed and breakfast for 2 nights. It is located within 5 minutes of Gettysburg but you would never know it. We stayed stayed in a room that had a private patio and over looked the front lawn. One night, while sitting on the patio, a male deer strolled out of the woods! As dusk set in, the lawn filled with fire flies...or lightening bugs, depending on where you're from. There were 2 very easy accessible roads to Gettysburg, where you could find plenty of souvenir shopping, great restaurants, and lots of sight seeing opportunities. Breakfast was wonderful! It was a three course meal, that included fresh fruit, a baked good, and the main course. The innkeepers were personable and very friendly. They made check in and check out very easy. Wifi was only available in the main house. Breakfast was at 8 & 8:30am.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I were looking for a B&B to celebrate our 13th anniversary. I made reservations via phone to make sure they allow just one night (and they do) which is great since most other B&Bs in Gettysburg require a 2-night minimum.

Upon arrival, we found an envelope with our name that had our room key, invoice and letter to welcome us with more details of the inn. We each took a cookie that was offered on a table and were pleasantly surprised to meet Judy, one of the owners, in the parking lot. She was so welcoming! We headed to the Daisy room which was beautiful and clean to freshen up and head out for the night. When we returned that evening, we took a water and soda from the snack area. That was such a nice touch!

Breakfast was delicious and served by staff member, Peggy, and Kenny, Judy's husband and owner. First was a dish of bananas topped with granola and peanut butter sauce. Next was a piece of cantaloup bread and finished off with an egg casserole and a side of green beans and potatoes. After breakfast, I spent some time in the loft looking at the scrapbook of the Baladerry Inn history which was so interesting to see the before and after pictures. There is also a book of sightings and stories from guests who have stayed there which was pretty cool.

After breakfast, my husband napped while I sat on the patio watching the rain and listening to the birds chirping. It was so peaceful and relaxing. Before checking out, I helped myself to a cup of Keurig coffee offered in the hallway. Peggy invited me to see the suite as her and Judy were cleaning it. They both thanked us for coming and I went to return our key to Kenny who was in the main house chatting with other guests.

Peggy was so personable and helpful in suggesting that we visit the Historic Center which was an excellent choice. Judy and Kenny are super friendly and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,112 reviews
2.4 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#5 of 28 in Gettysburg
387 reviews
1.9 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.6 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#8 of 23 in Gettysburg
322 reviews
2.8 mi away
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baladerry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baladerry Inn

Address: 40 Hospital Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7798
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: £110 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baladerry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baladerry Inn is an ideal choice for your visit to historic Gettysburg and the surrounding area in Pennsylvania’s Adams County. With its unique country setting at the edge of the battlefield and minutes to the restaurants and attractions in town, the Baladerry Inn offers Gettysburg’s most charming blend of comfort and convenience. Open year round, the property features spacious landscaped grounds, romantic terraces, a majestic great room, and finely furnished and tastefully appointed guestrooms, all including private baths. Our guests also enjoy a full country breakfast each morning. The inn is a distinguished member of the Forbes Travel Guide (formerly Mobil Travel Guide) and AAA. Please accept our invitation to make the Baladerry Inn your lodging choice in Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Baladerry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing