We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Recently completed a four-night stay at the Battlefield B & B, and couldn't wait to write a review. What a wonderful stay! We stayed in the General Merritt suite, which was beautiful and comfy and quiet. The breakfasts were unbelievable, and the other guests a pleasure (which is not always true in a B & B). The historical presentations each morning were a highlight -- one couple at our table said this was their favorite part of the entire trip to Gettysburg.

I'm usually hard to please, so there must be a negative, right? It's very hard to come up with anything bad to say about this B & B. It's a bit out of the way -- but that puts it far from the crowded tourist zone. It's allegedly haunted -- but that adds to its historical charm. There's a dozen cats roaming the grounds -- and my wife found one she wanted to pack in her suitcase and bring home. OK, the bathroom's not too deluxe and the shower is a bit weak -- did I mention we stayed in the part of the house that is nearly 200 years old! Did I also mention that this 200 year-old house was the only lodging on our entire vacation that offered free wireless access?

All in all, a top-notch experience. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sola7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2011

We stayed at the Battlefield Bed and Breakfast on March 18-20, 2011. This made our fourth visit there since our first visit in November, and our second time staying in Reilly's North Carolina Artillery Suite. It has a lovely queen-sized bed with the backdrop of a stone wall from the original 1806 farmhouse. It had an adjoining bedroom with two twin beds; which was perfect for our pre-teen daughters.

This was our first time experiencing the Friday night ghost stories, and it was a very enjoyable and entertaining experience. The entire experience has been absolutely perfect every time we have stayed there. If you are looking for a relaxing experience with immaculately clean rooms, an incredible morning history lesson, delicious breakfast and wonderful, dedicated staff, this is the place to stay! We will certainly be going back again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoraL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

My wife and I only stayed one night here but I wish we had stayed longer.

Just in the house alone there is so much to do. There are pianos, games, costumes you can try on, a nice dining area, cats, books, artifacts, ghost stories, history lessons, etc.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating (they'll ask you if you have any food allergies or any other preferences during your stay).

The property is well-situated location-wise, as well. It's far enough off the road that you don't hear any traffic going by and getting back on the main road to go to Gettysburg and all the other sights is convenient as well.

Some of the rooms look a bit dated--as they should! This is after all, an OLD HOUSE, not a Marriott hotel built in 2010. It never fails to irk me when people complain about how old or worn a B&B or house is when they obviously never take into consideration the history of the place. It's hard enough getting a 1960s house up to year 2000 standards, one can only commend the efforts at doing the same for a house built in the 1800s.
Anyways, the room was comfortable, as was the bed. The gas fireplace worked and was easy to turn on and off. Despite the B&B being almost completely booked for the weekend, full with dogs and children, there was plenty of peace and quiet in our room.

I really felt at home and relaxed here and would definitely recommend this B&B to others who are going to Gettysburg for the first time!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james09173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

My teenage son and I went to Gettysburg for a bonding trip and chose the Battlefield B&B because the building was there during the battle and the history lessons at breakfast sounded like fun. The Friday night ghost stories set the tone for a great weekend. It was awesome to wake up, grab a cup of strong coffee, and have very knowledgeable people come and talk about the battle, or the effect on the town, or what it was like to be a soldier of the era. My son had a blast! He even got to fire a musket! Because of the history talks, we met all the other guests and looked forward to catching up with them at the end of the day. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfasts served were delicious and filling. We wished they could serve dinner, too. The staff is really impressive. There are large common areas and with the size of the property you get that homey feeling like you are visiting grandmas farm…which just happens to be right next door to a great battlefield. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgiaQuacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We had a quick getaway to Gettysburg and throughly enjoyed our stay here. It's so nice staying in a bed and breakfast where children are welcomed! Even my very busy 4 year old son was entertained. Friday night ghost stories is a must... and the history lessons in the morning should not be missed. I found the pricing to be very reasonable considering what was offered and also the delicious breakfast!

The highlight of my childrens stay would definately be when the innkeeper took them on a personal tour of the barn and all the animals... they were thrilled!

This was our second trip to the Battlefield B&B and we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsgumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We decided at the last minute on New Year's Day to stop in Gettysburg on our way back to New York. When we called the Battlefield, they were so helpful and professional on the phone. They had the perfect room for us - a suite with two bedrooms, one for me and my husband and one for my two young daughters. The suite had a lot of character and the furnishings were of good quality. The inn itself is charming and there are many animals on the property which my children loved. In the morning, we heard the most fascinating retelling of the Civil War era by Mike. Breakfast was fabulous. No skimping on quality - e.g. fresh fruit and real maple syrup. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkPickytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

My husband and I, along with our two dogs, stayed here while visiting the Battlefield. The welcome could not have been friendlier with coffee and cookies waiting for us. The room was exactly as promised with plenty of floor space for sleeping for the dogs. The grounds were lovely and walking the dogs in the early morning fog in the fields was a added treat. The breakfast was fantastic and we (including the dogs) enjoyed the history talk about the life of a Union private. The location was perfect: on the southern edge of the Battlefield. We hated to leave.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J&JHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
5.9 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,544 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
886 reviews
3.8 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#3 of 23 in Gettysburg
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7114
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: £146 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden, Solarium, and Historic Barn Venue weddings and events are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate house with two jetted tubs and a full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield b&b Inn
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing