We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality-great room-awesome food & educational!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin USA
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality-great room-awesome food & educational!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at the Battlefield B & B in mid July. This actually is a very historic house from the Civil War and at one point, troops set up camp on their property during the battle of Gettysburg. You can see the artifacts left over on the property after the troops left!
We were so impressed with the hospitality, the room & the food. However what sets this B&B apart from others, is the educational value it adds by bringing in speakers to teach the guest on some aspects of the Civil War in Gettysburg. Each morning we had a different gentleman come in authentic dress to share with us their vast insights. This really added to our vacation in this area of the country.
A fun addition to this B & B, was the Civil War costumes they had on hand for you to dress up in to take pictures :)
Loved seeing the many kitties that roam the property (farm).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheerhcs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    43
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
112
139
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
So Plainfield
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here in July 2013, and had a wonderful trip. We had our large dog with us, and the staff was so accomodating. We stayed in the Georgia 7th Infantry room, which is off the dining room and very private. The only other room up there is a massage room, which is not used at night. The linens were clean and crisp, the room was spotless and the bath towels where fluffy. Breakfast was amazing; omlets, potatoes, and apple cobbler one morning, french toast, potatoes and blueberry muffins the next and for our last breakfast we had scrambled eggs, potatos, cranberry muffins, tradidtion sausage gravy and biscuits. Then there were homemade cookies, iced tea and lemonade every night! The one hour history talks each morning were fascinating, and my husband was thrilled to be able to shoot a musket. There are 30 acres to walk your dog, which you need to clean up after (garbage can with bags is on the porch. There are 30 outdoor cats, so if you are bringing a dog, you need to be aware of this. You can bring your dog to the talks and keep them with you at breakfast as long as they are on a leash. What a wonderful place to stay, we will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetteW692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korumburra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Can't say enough about this property had a great stay. My room was out of this world living in history. The speakers before breakfast amazed me with their knowledge of the battle and the Civil War. The staff were friendly and always on hand to help. Breakfast was plenty and good traditional fare. This Inn is also close to all attractions, a stay here is an amazing experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 377john13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Battlefield B&B regularly has an historian speak to the guests on topics related to the battle of Gettysburg for an hour each morning, before a delicious breakfast is served at 9 a.m. How cool is that? Breakfast is huge and varies each day, and there is always something special from the cook. We had the most wonderful tart made from fresh pears. There are several acres of ponds and grassy paths and a big field on the property, which my dog, who accompanied us, enjoyed. There is fresh coffee early in the morning, and a breezy place to sit in the shade off the porch, and quiet tables scattered around a comfortable garden, where you can rest and read with cats for company. The room was charming, spotless and stocked with materials orienting you to the town and various ways to tour the battlefield. The town is steeped in its history, eager to educate, and the B&B makes both a good point of entry into this somewhat scholarly vacation spot, and a welcome retreat from touring. I lacked for nothing here, and was utterly comfortable during my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Our family of 3 had a great stay at this historic, comfortable inn located on the southern part of the battlefield in Gettysburg. The staff are very welcoming and the breakfast was hearty and delicious. Best of all, the inn is so close to the battlefield and the Visitor Center. We feel we fully experienced this amazing national park.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearny, New Jersey, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Had a great time at the B & B. The historians were great and gave you a history lesson before breakfast. Breakfast was fantastic with fresh fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice. They will customize breakfast if need be. Loved the grounds and being so close to the battlefield. When we were there they had a wedding in the barn and it was decorated beautifully make sure to visit it.

Room Tip: If you go with your family stay in the Reilly's North Carolina Artillery Suite. It will accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryMPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battlefield B, Owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for being our guest and taking time to let us know you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Three of us stayed at the Barttlefield B and B . and we all were in agreement that it was one of the best one's we've ever stayed at. Right from the first phone contact you feel their personal interest in making you're vacation as great as possible . The historical presenters are a real unique bonus to their already peaceful setting .They all were so entertaining and every history buffs dream with their wealth of information .Being right on the battlefield you can feel the history right there with you . We were so happy to find our new Gettysburg home away from home .

Room Tip: The Swan Cottage was a great way to share a vacation with Faimly and friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battlefield B, Owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
We do enjoy sharing information about Gettysburg's history, museums, the national park, and all the galleries and shops that feature Gettysburg's unique place in history. You can never see it all in one trip so we have more to share when you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
5.9 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,469 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
4.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#4 of 23 in Gettysburg
362 reviews
4.1 mi away
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7114
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden, Solarium, and Historic Barn Venue weddings and events are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate house with two jetted tubs and a full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg
Battlefield b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing