We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jasper, Tennessee, United States
1 review
“Memorable Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

My daughter and son in law were married at this beautiful B&B over the Labor Day holiday. Both families were from out of state, Maine and Tennessee, and the staff went out of their way to assist us. The barn was beautifully decorated for the wedding and the staff again assisted tirelessly. Friends and family booked the entire B&B and that was very special. We did not get to take advantage of the historian due to other obligations. The food was excellent and the rooms clean. It was hot the day of the wedding, almost 90 degrees, so the AC had some difficulty keeping it cold enough for my hot natured husband in the Swan Cottage. The only recommendations I can document is the landscaping may need some improving and maintenance. (Southerners love flowers!) Also, the number of cats on the property was a bit much but the cats did not interfere at all with the outdoor wedding. Overall, just a great experience and will remember it forever! Blessings to you all!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    39
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
102
121
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MOON TOWNSHIP
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend there, redescovering Gettysburg. We stayed at the Swan Cottage, which is a separate cottage away from the house. It is private and has a kitchen that is fairly well appointed, although we did not use it. They offered to provide us any thing from the kitchen in the main house if we needed it. The cottage was clean, had two fold away beds and two baths. The main bath had a large jacuzzi tub and a standalone shower. The very large bedroom had a very comfortable bed, TV, and featured two massage chairs that were outstanding.

We arrived on Friday in time for the ghost stories, which set us in the mood for our weekend. Each morning, the day started with a history lecture, done by professional guides from Gettysburg. Both were excellent and provided different points of view and focused on different aspects of Gettysburg. Since the group was small, we got to ask questions and it was very interactive. At 9AM breakfast is served and your are out by 9:30 to start your day. The staff was fantastic and friendly. The property is beautiful and is on a farm. We definitely plan on coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CNB15108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We have a well-behaved 3-year-old, and found it rather difficult to find a B&B that would allow us to bring her with us. Because let's be honest...well-behaved or not, she's still 3...which means she doesn't do "tip toeing" very well and volume control is something we're still working on. :) Everyone was so gracious at Battlefield B&B and didn't bat an eye at her company. (by the way, if you're traveling w/ a young one, I'd recommend the 7th Georgia Infantry room - it's kind of off on it's own, separated from the other rooms).

I love the little "extras" that Battlefield has to offer - the freshly made cookies that are always out, the Keurig coffee machine, the period costumes available for you to take pictures in for free, and the free history talks were all added-value. The setting is so nice & quiet just outside of town, but not far away at all.

Breakfast was a-m-a-z-i-n-g. :)

Room Tip: 7th Georgia Infantry room was nice for travelling with a young child b/c it was separated from the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cllovesbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I recently had a girls retreat here. What a wonderful and relaxing environment. The staff couldn't be more friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was out of this world! We stayed in the General Merit suite, very spacious and private for a group. The only complaint is I wish there was a bedside lamp in the smaller room. I also had a ghostly encounter the first night we were there. I will highly recommend this B&B and will make a return trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjf1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We so enjoyed our 2 night stay in the tack room! The room was comfortable and, loving animals, we enjoyed the horses, donkey and barnyard cats just outside the door. My gluten free breakfast each morning was delicious. The grounds were relaxing after a full day of touring. We felt pampered and at home.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gidget433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We travel with our dogs, and this is by far the best place we've ever stayed from that point of view. A nice field where they could run around and sow their oats early in the morning, and lots of nooks and crannies for them to explore. Breakfast was very good, afternoon cookies were tasty, and the history presentations were a nice touch.

The entry keypad made it a nice come-and-go place, and we didn't feel like we were intruding in someone else's home. Just a little of town, which was nice because everything was on the way to or from there and the stars were brilliant and the evenings quiet.

If you're traveling with your dogs, I can't think of a better place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had our wedding at Battlefield B and B and stayed 2 nights in the tack room that is under the barn. The room was clean and amazing with a jacuzzi tub, full length mirror, separate shower, double sink, large bed, etc. It was a great place to stay and get ready for the wedding. The staff was friendly and amazing and the breakfast was really good! It was different each day and much better than just a typical continental generic breakfast. Loved it! They also let you have dogs travel with you, which is great and rare nowadays.We will definitely be back here to stay, even though it is not too far from there we live!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shannon18v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
3.0 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#15 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
5.9 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#8 of 23 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
3.8 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7114
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden, Solarium, and Historic Barn Venue weddings and events are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate house with two jetted tubs and a full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield b&b Inn
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing