We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fantastic Time at the Battlefield Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My husband and I along with our youngest daughter stayed in the General Merritt Suite on December 15, 2013, for a 25th anniversary celebration. It was our sixth time staying at the inn, and our second time staying in the General Merritt Suite. The suite was just as beautiful as we remembered, and the gas fireplace so warm and cozy.
It was our first time staying in December, and the inn was decorated so beautifully from top to bottom with the loveliest Christmas decorations. Snow had fallen outside the night before, and it was just breathtaking.
The history lesson was simply amazing, and the breakfast was absolutely incredible. Never have we ever had nothing less than a perfect stay while on any of our visits to the inn. Florence, Bill and the staff go out of their way to make everyone who stays there to feel so welcome and comfortable. Just a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: The General Merritt Suite is perfect for couple traveling with children. The second bedroom is not f...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoraL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had a lovely two nights at his lovely bed and breakfast. We had a late reservation so we did not get a choice on rooms. Our room was above the kitchen and it became rather loud early in the morning when they cooked breakfast. It was a delicious breakfast. It is reportedly a haunted location as many are said to be in Gettysburg. I do believe it is but not in a bad way, we heard strange sounds of people walking the halls all night of our first night. It is nothing to be concerned about though. We would stay again absolutely. Just in a different room, ours was the Texas infantry room. They treated our dogs as they were part of the family and they guests had several there while we were staying. Bed was comfortable. A great place to spend a fantastic weekend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenerol, Owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I will speak with the breakfast staff and remind them to be more mindful of the guests near the kitchen. We need to know so I'm glad you mentioned this. Hopefully, it won't be a problem in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We just spent three nights at the Battlefield B&B and we very pleaded! The kids cannot wait to return, and that certainly says something. From the minute we arrived until the time we left, everyone was very friendly, helpful and pleasant. I cannot say enough about the staff!
The location is one the battlefield and the grounds are wonderful. Note that you must drive 5 minutes to town there really is nothing within walking distance. The last day, our 10-year-old tired himself out running around and spent most of our drive home sleeping. There is a pond and lots of grass, along with a barn that was used as a hospital during the war. On Friday nights, there are ghost stories in the parlor. Each morning for an hour before breakfast there is a presentation on some aspect of the war - interesting for kids and adults. The kids even got to shoot a musket one morning. One morning, however, the lecturer was a no-show and several people were disappointed.
We stayed in Reilly's and there is plenty of room in two rooms for our family of four. It's right off the dining room and accessible without having to climb stairs.
Our kids were looking for other young ones to play and didn't see any when we first arrived. However, as my son was listening to my daughter play the piano in the dining room, he saw a little girl. Turns out there were NONE staying at the inn that night, but we were told that a neighbor girl from a nearby farm would stop by occasionally, even though she had passed on many, many years ago. My son was thrilled to see Rebecca!
Breakfast was absolutely delicious! Portions were large and filling. First day we had French toast, 2nd was biscuits with sausage gravy and eggs, and the third was a veggie frittata

We highly recommend staying at the Battlefield and will definitely return in the future!

Room Tip: Reilly,s North Carolina is great for families!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenerol, Owner at Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

We do enjoy families. We make it a point to consider the needs of all our guests and I'm glad that the children had a good time. We rarely have a morning without a history program, so if for some reason, the historian has to cancel at the last minute, you are welcome to stop by on a different morning for a "make-up."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent our Honeymoon this past September (2013) in Gettysburg and stayed in the Swan Cottage of this B&B. Not only were the breakfasts delicious, but we had the added comfort of having our two dogs with us. Even though this B&B is pet friendly, you wouldn't know it by tell-tale signs of former four-legged visitors' fur balls left behind. The Swan Cottage was immaculately clean and, thankfully, our two "kids" were very well-behaved and stayed off the furniture and on their blankies we brought with us. If you're a pet lover in need of a get-away, the Battlefield B&B is the place for you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghostchick1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We spent one night at this quaint B & B while traveling through the Gettysburg area. What an enjoyable stay we had! To be totally honest I was a little leery as we approached the house. The landscaping could be better maintained and there we counted at least 6 cats near the parking area...a few too many for me..My skeptical view changed once I entered the home. We were greeted by wonderful staff and led through this very cozy, civil war themed home to our equally cozy, clean, well appointed guest room. Everything amenity is in each room that you could possibly need. The common areas of the home are large, lots of great reading material, games, and even cookies, coffee, tea and lemonade out all the time. The best part and what makes this place so unique is the morning history lesson that is given by a local guide each day before you sit down to a FABULOUS breakfast! what a treat.. Sitting in the lovely living/dining area with folks from all over enjoying a morning cup of coffee as you learn about a specific topic from the Civil War to begin your day. The best!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The staff at the Battlefield Bed and Breakfast were very accomodating even before we arrived. We exchanged several emails and they made great recommendations of local sites and shops to visit to enhance our experience. We loved staying in Swan Cottage and it was an added bonus that we could bring our little dog, Cassie, along for our trip without the fear of disrupting other. The cottage was cozy as well as comfortable with lots of amenities. We enjoyed listening to the local historians presentation before breakfast, which gave us the local flare we wanted to experience of the town life during the battle of Gettysburg. We cannot wait to come and stay again!!
Paul and Sherry Gangewere

Room Tip: Swan Cottage worth the extra money for the privacy and convenience
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My daughter and son in law were married at this beautiful B&B over the Labor Day holiday. Both families were from out of state, Maine and Tennessee, and the staff went out of their way to assist us. The barn was beautifully decorated for the wedding and the staff again assisted tirelessly. Friends and family booked the entire B&B and that was very special. We did not get to take advantage of the historian due to other obligations. The food was excellent and the rooms clean. It was hot the day of the wedding, almost 90 degrees, so the AC had some difficulty keeping it cold enough for my hot natured husband in the Swan Cottage. The only recommendations I can document is the landscaping may need some improving and maintenance. (Southerners love flowers!) Also, the number of cats on the property was a bit much but the cats did not interfere at all with the outdoor wedding. Overall, just a great experience and will remember it forever! Blessings to you all!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
5.9 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,544 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
886 reviews
3.8 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#3 of 23 in Gettysburg
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7114
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: £146 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden, Solarium, and Historic Barn Venue weddings and events are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate house with two jetted tubs and a full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield b&b Inn
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing