We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful family retreat !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful family retreat !”
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We stayed at Battlefield B&B last summer with our 2 yr old grandson and daughter and son-in-law. We throughly enjoyed the historical lectures before breakfast. The breakfasts were excellent and the staff couldn't have been sweeter to our grandson. He was able to take a good nap in the afternoon and we entertained our other relatives in the parlor before dinner using the TV to show a personal travel video.
Our grandson loved the kitties and goats !
Explore this unique site with your family. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phyndman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    40
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
106
130
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2010

My husband, mother and I had the great fortune of staying 2 nights at the Battlefield B&B. We were in the Merrit Suite, which was perfect for the three of us. A king size room & bed for us and a smaller room with a double bed for my Mom sharing a huge bathroom. The food was excellent, the service and staff cordial, helpful and eager to assist in the experience. The grounds are beautiful and there's even a goat. My husband and I expecially enjoyed the 8 am living history lesson. One morning we were fortunate enough to have a discussion with Horace Greely and get his thoughts of the events of the time. The next day we had a historical review from the perspective of a confederate solder who was kind enough to bring along some of the items he would typically pack.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherryTucson_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Hills
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

A good friend, my two dogs and I spent a wonderful three days in Gettysburg not the least of which was the time spent in the Battlefield B&B. Definitely on the 'must stay here again' list for future travel through the area. Room was quiet (Graham's Artillery in the oldest part of the house), beds were sooooo comfortable, and the breakfast and 8 AM speakers were worth getting up for. Convenient location to the park, atmosphere of the house itself and the helpful, pleasant staff were superb.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieVinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We stayed at the Battlefield B&B for two wonderful nights. I loved the property which is situated on one of the main roads on the outskirts of town. The staff/room/service/food was excellent. They were very attentive to special dietary needs and had a plate of chocolate chip cookies for the guests. The best part of the B&B stay is their HISTORY hour before breatkfast each morning. They have speakers talking about aspects of the Civil War from different points of view, i.e. a Confederate Soldier, women and the publisher of the Gettysburg Gazette. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlaberge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
376 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend and truly had a delightful experience. The room was comfortable (Grahams) the bathroom was a nice size. You could hear footsteps from the room above - for some this could be quite troubling. It was not an issue for us as the those in the room above us were part of our party. But I could see how the noise could be a problem for others.

The breakfast each morning was very good. A different full breakfast each morning. But perhaps the nicest part of the stay was the guest speaker each morning. For three mornings we had a different speaker who came in to talk about Gettysburg, its people, the town and the battles. Each was very entertaining and very informative. (Even for the kids)

The B&B is located right near Pickett's Charge, Round Top, Devils Den, and of course the town. Soldiers stayed on the property at the time of the war.

The B&B is very much pet friendly. If you have allergies this is not the place for you - even though the cats are outside. Overall I recommend this place and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwood, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

This is a delightful bed and breakfast located directly on the Battlefield. It has historic ambiance with modern comforts. Florence is a delightful hostess and the rest of the staff are charming also. The programs are a fascinating and a unique plus that adds to the many hidden gems such as farm animals and a pond with a boat and baby geese. Cat lovers will be in heaven, but the cats stay outside, so those with allergies will be happy also. You can't find a more perfect place to stay when visiting Gettysburg, and this delightful find would justify a visit to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UniverseTraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
222 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

My wife and I just got back from Gettysburg, and had a wonderful time. We stayed in Grahams Artillery room at the Battlefield Bed and Breakfast, and found it to be very comfortable, clean, and a genuine 1800's atmosphere. We woke up to a fantastic breakfast, with a living historian entertaining us for over an hour. We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts throughout the eastern seaboard, and would gladly rate this one to be our favorite by far. The staff were all very hospitable and helpful as well.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arrowhuntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
5.9 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
4.2 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#8 of 23 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
3.8 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#4 of 23 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 2264 Emmitsburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7114
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique lodging in an 1809 Civil War farmhouse on 30 private acres of the Gettysburg Battlefield. The farmhouse caters to history fans and vacationers with children and pets. Garden, Solarium, and Historic Barn Venue weddings and events are a specialty. Swan Cottage is a separate house with two jetted tubs and a full kitchen. The property is beautiful enough for the most romantic soul, and yet the inn has enough emphasis on history to satisfy the no-nonsense military history traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlefield b&b Inn
Battlefield Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing