We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, perfect room for a family of 4”
Review of Brafferton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brafferton Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed in the Pear Tree Suite, which is about two doors down from the main house. It has been renovated into a very large, nice suite with a private patio. The bathroom was very nice and spacious with a whirlpool tub and shower with multiple shower heads. There was a separate room for the kids with two twin beds and a TV. The main bed was a king with a sofa and chairs at the foot of the bed in front of a gas fireplace and flat screen TV. There was even a round table and chairs in the room to enjoy a game of cards or an evening meal. There is no Wi-Fi in the Pear Tree Suite, but there is Wi-Fi in the main house. This was actually nice for us, because it gave us a needed break from the internet.

The owners were great. Everyone met us on arrival, gave us a tour of the house, and explained how to get in and out after hours. We chose a breakfast time slot early in the morning so we could enjoy visiting museums the next morning before one last tour of the battlefield.

We'll definitely go back to the Brafferton next time we're in Gettysburg!

Room Tip: The Pear Tree Suite has a private parking spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Father R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Weekend of 4/12/2014 - The Brafferton Inn is reportedly the oldest building in Gettysburg but you sure would not know it from staying there - it is updated with all the modern conveniences while maintaing the colonial charm. We stayed in the Old Master Bedroom in the front of the house, it was very nice - spacious, gorgeous queen size bed and although there was some road noise we liked being in the front of the house and enjoying the activity just out the window. The bath was private but across the hall - the only room with such a situation. I was able to visit several other rooms and they were all beautiful.

The Brafferton Inn is centrally located and you can walk to everything - very convenient.

The best part of the visit were the breakfasts - over the top. Start with a fresh fruit dish and a different muffin each morning which was to die for - I mean really delicious. The main course always had a lot of variety four dishes each morning - don't miss the breakfast casserole - again delicious but the scambled eggs with mushrooms and goat cheese was excellent too.

Only drawback was the coffee was not quite up to the excellence of everything else, but then again everyone can't serve starbacks. All in all a five star rating.

Room Tip: all the rooms I saw were excellent. Our room the Old Master Bedroom was in the front of the house w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Brafferton for the first time this past weekend. We had such a lovely experience! We stayed in the Pear Tree Suite, which was absolutely beautiful and completely spotless. We especially loved the large bathroom with the whirlpool tub and standing shower.Everything was clean and comfortable. We stayed 2 nights, and were impressed with the breakfast we were served each morning. The muffins were AMAZING!! The pear tree suite was more expensive than the regular rooms, but it was worth every penny. We had a private entrance and our own parking spot, so it felt more like "our place." We weren't concerned about bothering other guests, but liked having the option to go into the Inn if we wanted to. Bottom line, the food, service, and cleanliness were all fantastic. Also, the location was great. We were able to spend most of the weekend walking to our destinations. We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your Jacuzzi tub and spa shower. We now have many suites with these modern amenities. We are also glad you enjoyed our home cooked gourmet country breakfast. Hopefully we can host you again sometime soon.

Brian
The Brafferton Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This place really made our experience in Gettysburg very good. We stayed in the Getty's Suite, which is massive! We were only a party of 3 and had plenty of space - definitely more than three people could fit in there! The beds were comfortable, shower is huge, and the kitchenette and living area are all of impressive sizes. The complementary breakfast that is included must not be missed! The menu does rotate, but they are willing to tailor a dish to suit your taste. The staff is also very understanding if you have any problems with anything; as a result of horrible traffic we ended up arriving much later than anticipated; however, there were no issues with our late arrival (just call ahead!). We also were able to borrow a CD for the Gettysburg battlefield tour. Our unit also as a side note, was located on the ground floor - on Friday nights, don't be surprised if you hear some noises (that come from the adjacent alleyway) from outside - Gettysburg is a college town after all!

Room Tip: Ground floor units = more noise from the street at night - especially Fridays when college kids are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank environmentality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed the Gettys Suite. It is perfect for families traveling together with the large living room and full kitchen. I am also glad you enjoyed our home cooked breakfast.
Hopefully we can host you again sometime soon.


Brian
The Brafferton Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at 2 different places in Gettysburg in October of 2012. This was the first. Like always, we do our research. Basing a lot off of trip advisor pics, the most noticeable thing upon arrival was that this Inn is on one of the major roads in Gettysburg Center (before the rotary), so the heavy traffic was revealed. Luckily there was a parking spot in front so that we could unload our bags. Its not a bad place to stay. It's just in a busy section with bad parking.
Pros:
Incredible breakfast that is made by the brother or the owner, every morning. I had a Poppy Seed muffin that was filled with some lemon custard that blew my mind.
Historic Inn. I believe it's one of the oldest.
Nice owner.
Very close to all the good stores and just minutes away from the battlefield.

Cons:
Very Poor parking arrangement. You have to park in the back where there's a big lot with parking meters. This becomes very expensive and a pain. I remember having to get up very early each morning in order to put quarters in the meter to avoid a ticket.
Bedroom was nice but bed was broken at the right foot. Squeeky bed and floors.

Room Tip: Do your research. I believe there are 2 different parts of the building. If it says theres a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your opinion on your stay with us a year and a half ago. We would have to strongly disagree, however, with your comment "Horrible Parking". We are conveniently located in the center of downtown Gettysburg, in an area called Lincoln Square. Our location is walking distance to all the shops, restaurants, and activities here in Gettysburg. Parking can be either street parking, or most of our guests park in a very convenient parking garage that is 4 stories high and is right out our back door.
Our guests like to stay with us because of this convenience.
As far as a broken bed, we have not had any broken beds or bed frames in the 10 years we have owned the inn, so we are not sure which bed you are talking about. As far as squeaky floors, yes there may be some because we are the oldest deeded house in Gettysburg, dating back to 1786.
As far as balconies and decks, most are located overlooking our back yard and garden areas, not in an alleyway?
On the other hand, we are glad you enjoyed our breakfast, as we cook a homemade pastry each morning, at least four different entree selections, with fruit, potatoes, and meat.
Thanks again,

Brian
The Brafferton Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed in the Brafferton Suite for a weekend a few years ago. This was my first B & B experience and it set a precedence for every one I've been to since then. I loved the suite so much I didn't want to leave it, except to eat a delicious breakfast. I thought the location was perfect too, there are a lot of nice shops and historical sites nearby. I have referred quite a few people to Brafferton Inn whenever I hear about someone wanting a weekend getaway. Everything about my experience staying here was just perfect and I cannot wait to get come back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funsize002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review. It is guests like you who really make us enjoy being innkeepers!
We hope to see you again sometime soon.

The Brafferton Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Brafferton Inn is a beautiful B&B located on York Rd. coming into Gettysburg. The rooms are wonderfully kept in this early 1800's house. We were there as a Christmas gift to ourselves in January 2014. The inn keepers and their staff are beyond courteous. They really make you feel at home during your stay. The breakfast is very delicious and you get a couple of choices as to what you would like to eat. The location is great for walking around downtown and checking out all of the shops in the area. The other thing nice is there are no TV's to detract from the elloquence of this regal building. Definitely would like to stay here again.

Room Tip: The front rooms are right over the main road coming into Gettysburg. If you want peace and quiet to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
378 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
247 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
894 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#13 of 28 in Gettysburg
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brafferton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brafferton Inn

Address: 44 York St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2301
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: £100 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brafferton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Brafferton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brafferton Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing