We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, as usual.”
Review of Brafferton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brafferton Inn
Ranked #4 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is the second time we stayed at the Brafferton. The location is incredible, right on Lincoln Square, and walking distance to food, ice cream, shops, and history. We stayed in the Pear Tree Suite with our daughters. One word: spotless. It has a private entrance, free parking spot, a Kerig, refrigerator, dining table, very comfortable king size bed, jacuzzi tub, five jet shower, a hair dryer, and a room with double doors that close off the kids for privacy. Also, it has a gas fire place. Breakfast is incredible. It's fresh, and they offer four choices. They made plain scrambled eggs to please our children. The oven warm muffins are incredible, and different each day. It's a very short drive to the Battlefield, but you do not have to pay for parking if you are in the suite, so it's not a big deal. We did a private tour of the battlefield with John Tutor, (out of the National Park) and it was money well spent. Mr. Tutor spoke for four hours straight, and showed us details we never saw or heard of before. The staff at the Brafferton were friendly, and we did not encounter any negative experiences as written in a few other reviews. I do agree that there is some noise during the night, after all, you are right in the heart of town. The parking garage behind the building had a serious outburst on one occasion both nights, right around the time bars let out. They quickly moved on, and we rolled over, and went right back to sleep.

Room Tip: Pear Tree Suite or the Brafferton Suite. Parking included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katheethecamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our stay at the Brafferton was excellent! They saw to every detail while exceeding all our expectations! The Lincoln Suite was well appointed and very comfortable for our 3 nights. Charming, well situated right in downtown and very knowledgeable staff. Several Breakfast options available with each more yummy than the day before!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed one night in the Battle room - the location is great and the inn owners are beyond helpful. The Inn is the oldest in town and offers a charming place to base your stay. There are 18 rooms - we stayed on the 2nd floor in the Battle room which offers a queen size bed with en suite bathroom. In addition, there is a battle ball lodged in the mantle! No a/c, but windows open. If you are a light sleeper, request a room off the main road as it gets quite noisy. Breakfast includes fresh fruit and a choice of entrees - and it's delish!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebaxter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast so we were a little apprehensive not knowing what to expect. We stayed in the Getty suite and it was perfect. Separate room with twin beds for kids. We had a super comfortable king size bed. Full kitchen. Living room. Super clean bathroom. Just a great place to come back to after sightseeing.
The owners are very friendly and so helpful with questions you might have about town. We borrowed their auto tour cds for the battlefield which was perfect because you can go at your own pace and spend extra time with things that really interest you.
Now the best part. Breakfast. Fantastic meals. You get your choice of one of four different entrées. Fresh fruit with home made pastry. Juice. Coffee. It was great.
It was a little more than $200/night but it's well worth it. My wife and I are now believers. Treat yourself.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed in the Pear Tree Suite, which is about two doors down from the main house. It has been renovated into a very large, nice suite with a private patio. The bathroom was very nice and spacious with a whirlpool tub and shower with multiple shower heads. There was a separate room for the kids with two twin beds and a TV. The main bed was a king with a sofa and chairs at the foot of the bed in front of a gas fireplace and flat screen TV. There was even a round table and chairs in the room to enjoy a game of cards or an evening meal. There is no Wi-Fi in the Pear Tree Suite, but there is Wi-Fi in the main house. This was actually nice for us, because it gave us a needed break from the internet.

The owners were great. Everyone met us on arrival, gave us a tour of the house, and explained how to get in and out after hours. We chose a breakfast time slot early in the morning so we could enjoy visiting museums the next morning before one last tour of the battlefield.

We'll definitely go back to the Brafferton next time we're in Gettysburg!

Room Tip: The Pear Tree Suite has a private parking spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Father R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Weekend of 4/12/2014 - The Brafferton Inn is reportedly the oldest building in Gettysburg but you sure would not know it from staying there - it is updated with all the modern conveniences while maintaing the colonial charm. We stayed in the Old Master Bedroom in the front of the house, it was very nice - spacious, gorgeous queen size bed and although there was some road noise we liked being in the front of the house and enjoying the activity just out the window. The bath was private but across the hall - the only room with such a situation. I was able to visit several other rooms and they were all beautiful.

The Brafferton Inn is centrally located and you can walk to everything - very convenient.

The best part of the visit were the breakfasts - over the top. Start with a fresh fruit dish and a different muffin each morning which was to die for - I mean really delicious. The main course always had a lot of variety four dishes each morning - don't miss the breakfast casserole - again delicious but the scambled eggs with mushrooms and goat cheese was excellent too.

Only drawback was the coffee was not quite up to the excellence of everything else, but then again everyone can't serve starbacks. All in all a five star rating.

Room Tip: all the rooms I saw were excellent. Our room the Old Master Bedroom was in the front of the house w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Brafferton for the first time this past weekend. We had such a lovely experience! We stayed in the Pear Tree Suite, which was absolutely beautiful and completely spotless. We especially loved the large bathroom with the whirlpool tub and standing shower.Everything was clean and comfortable. We stayed 2 nights, and were impressed with the breakfast we were served each morning. The muffins were AMAZING!! The pear tree suite was more expensive than the regular rooms, but it was worth every penny. We had a private entrance and our own parking spot, so it felt more like "our place." We weren't concerned about bothering other guests, but liked having the option to go into the Inn if we wanted to. Bottom line, the food, service, and cleanliness were all fantastic. Also, the location was great. We were able to spend most of the weekend walking to our destinations. We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owner at Brafferton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your Jacuzzi tub and spa shower. We now have many suites with these modern amenities. We are also glad you enjoyed our home cooked gourmet country breakfast. Hopefully we can host you again sometime soon.

Brian
The Brafferton Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#13 of 28 in Gettysburg
381 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#3 of 23 in Gettysburg
387 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inn at Herr Ridge
Inn at Herr Ridge
#7 of 23 in Gettysburg
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brafferton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brafferton Inn

Address: 44 York St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2301
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: £91 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brafferton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Brafferton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brafferton Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing