We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch B&B”
Review of Brafferton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brafferton Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Top Notch B&B”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

What a wonderful inn! My beau and I spent a romantic weekend at the Brafferton for his birthday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Brian and Joan couldn't have been more hospitable and our room (the Garden Room) was quaint and well-appointed, not to mention quite large. Everything was clean and cozy, not just our room but the whole inn.

Breakfast was a special treat, with homemade muffins baked by Brian and a choice of three home cooked entrees. More than plentiful and cooked to order. They do three seatings so you don't have to rush and can enjoy a leisurely morning before breakfast. Our room had a private entrance so we could come and go without disturbing other guests, and we spent one afternoon picnicking on the charming patio.

They don't have private parking, but this wasn't a problem at all. We parked in the garage right behind the inn, and there is metered parking as well. The location is perfect, in the heart of downtown and within walking distance to many attractions.

The Brafferton exceeded my expectations and we were extremely happy with our stay. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: The Garden Room is located behind the main building of the inn, with a private exterior entrance. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeJayGude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    72
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
103
352
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I were amazed at the size of our room and how beautiful it was. He loved the bed.There are so many bests about this place from the private entrance, private patio and our own parking spot to the mural in the dining area of the Inn. You definitely need to put it on your list of places to stay.

Room Tip: We loved the Pear Tree Suite. Your own parking spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Clean and comfortable accomodations in historic house/buildings. Innkeepers are seasoned professionals who run a tight ship to make sure the experience is user-friendly. Full breakfast is served and recent renovations produced a suite that is wheel-chair accessible and spacious. Homey setting is a nice alternative to sterile hotel rooms. Easy and affordable parking in municipal garage behind inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, SC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Steeped in history, being the oldest house in Gettysburg, but with every creature comfort provided for the 21st century traveler! We loved the Eisenhower Room with its beautiful colors, window seat looking out into the tree tops, gas fireplace and extra large room with two sitting areas. Having a choice of breakfast times and entrees was a real treat from most B&B's. One is barely a block from Gettysburg's main square with restaurants and a wine shop where we purchased cheese and crackers along with a bottle to take back to our room before going out to dinner. We recommended the Brafferton Inn to two other couples who were traveling with us and they were just as excited with their stay as we knew they would be.

Room Tip: Highway 30 goes right through downtown Gettsyburg so a couple of rooms can be noisy well into the ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Being a last minute internet reservation, we didn't expect to be accommodated early, but happily they had a wonderful room, the Lincoln Suite, available to drop off our bags. The property itself is very balanced between being period and being comfortable, with all the desired conveniences being modern, and the touches being period pieces. Very well executed, and very well located, on the road towards York and just off the square.

The Lincoln Suite allowed for closing off the living space from the bedroom, so that one could read or watch television in one room and the other could sleep undisturbed. Very nice!

The innkeeper was both friendly and professional, and the breakfasts consisted of a freshly baked pastry, some seasonal fruit with yogurt, and either protein (or protein & veg) based or carbohydrate based. Tasty options for both camps. Very good coffee and orange juice rounded the lovely meal.

Parking is convenient, covered or open, metered or garaged. Lots of options at the Brafferton, with a lovely, helpful owner. This inn is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passportwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Great historic inn in downtown Gettysburg. wonderful location (can walk to restaurants and shops) and terrific, informative and helpful staff. We stayed two nights in the Garden Room -- we really liked it and especially (after a full day of walking/sitting/driving) the jacuzzi (and the two wonderful terry cloth robes). Great breakfast options, different each day. Terrific base spot for visiting the battlefield (we used a tour guide -- who drove our car -- one day, and we agree with others who have said that it is money well spent -- these men and women are really knowledgeable and love talking about it -- and then borrowed the Inn's cd to do some additional touring the second day).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnutport, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is the second time we stayed at the Brafferton. The location is incredible, right on Lincoln Square, and walking distance to food, ice cream, shops, and history. We stayed in the Pear Tree Suite with our daughters. One word: spotless. It has a private entrance, free parking spot, a Kerig, refrigerator, dining table, very comfortable king size bed, jacuzzi tub, five jet shower, a hair dryer, and a room with double doors that close off the kids for privacy. Also, it has a gas fire place. Breakfast is incredible. It's fresh, and they offer four choices. They made plain scrambled eggs to please our children. The oven warm muffins are incredible, and different each day. It's a very short drive to the Battlefield, but you do not have to pay for parking if you are in the suite, so it's not a big deal. We did a private tour of the battlefield with John Tutor, (out of the National Park) and it was money well spent. Mr. Tutor spoke for four hours straight, and showed us details we never saw or heard of before. The staff at the Brafferton were friendly, and we did not encounter any negative experiences as written in a few other reviews. I do agree that there is some noise during the night, after all, you are right in the heart of town. The parking garage behind the building had a serious outburst on one occasion both nights, right around the time bars let out. They quickly moved on, and we rolled over, and went right back to sleep.

Room Tip: Pear Tree Suite or the Brafferton Suite. Parking included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katheethecamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,040 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#8 of 27 in Gettysburg
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
377 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brafferton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brafferton Inn

Property: Brafferton Inn
Address: 44 York St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2301
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brafferton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Brafferton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brafferton Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing