We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, would stay there again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brafferton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brafferton Inn
Ranked #4 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place, would stay there again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this inn last night. Everyone was super friendly and our room was really clean and nice. Only thing I would recommend is getting a room away from the busy street.. The loud motorcycles driving up and down woke me up a couple times.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellymorgan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    66
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
95
323
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We recently spent a few days at the Brafferton. The breakfasts are home cooked and are 5 star quality. The Inn built in the 1700s is in very good condition with original floorboards and some are a little uneven. We stayed in the Loft and other than the A/C having trouble keeping up with the heat, found it a wonderful suite with up to date amenities but very nostalgic considering the area. We would recommend this Inn also because the staff are very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacNiagara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just came back from a delightful 2 nights at this charming B&B. Joanne and Brian are welcoming innkeepers who have perfected the B&B experience. Breakfasts are fabulous, rooms are clean, quaint but spacious and well appointed. Innkeepers are knowledgeable about the area and Inn is right in the center of town within walking distance to lots of great restaurants. The Inn itself does not have parking but there is a garage directly behind it and free street parking over night. Defiantly will be back.

Room Tip: Two rooms (BattleRoom and Old Master Room) are on front of Inn and street traffic can be heard at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our first trip to Gettysburg and spent two nights at the Brafferton. When we walked in the front door we were greeted by the owners Joan and Bob and a very nice young lady whose name I have unfortunately forgotten. Sorry! Joan made the introductions and gave us a history of the inn and description of the property. The young lady then showed us around and brought us to our room. We stayed in the Battle Room and was very pleased by its period decor. The room was very large, with adequate lighting and no TV (which was a plus for this stay). The bed had a nice firm mattress and we experienced two very restful nights of sleep.

The next two morning we were treated to a tasty breakfast created by Bob. It started with a fruit dish and lemon poppy muffin that was to die for. His farmer's casserole was also very good. The second morning was also a treat and we enjoyed another delicious muffin and pancakes filled with blueberries. Both breakfasts were so filling, we skipped lunch.

It was a real treat staying here and will recommend it highly to friends and family. It is located right downtown amidst many shops and restaurants.

The following observation has nothing to do with the Inn, but when walking the streets of Gettysburg be very careful of the uneven sidewalks and small stoops and ramps that jut out from the store fronts. It is so easy to trip over these obstructions while window shopping.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures and read the descriptions. Our room had a bullet hole in the mantel. It was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chiefj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I recently made our first trip to Gettysburg and decided to choose the Brafferton Inn in downtown Gettysburg on York Street for our 5 day stay. Joan, Brian & Amybeth Hodges were very pleasant, responsive to our needs and extremely cordial no matter the time of day. What great Innkeepers who were concerned about each and every person that stayed at this fabulous Bed and Breakfast. Their attention to detail was simply beyond description. The room was very well maintained daily and during breakfast much concern was given daily to make sure each and every guest was thoroughly satisfied. If I return to Gettysburg again I would not give any consideration of staying anywhere else. Great Job to the three of you and your very attentive staff. It definitely needs to be on the top of your list of places to stay. Thanks again for a great experience.

Room Tip: They have 17 choices of different rooms. We chose Dorothy's Hideaway. They have a fabulous web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 51Bob73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

What a wonderful inn! My beau and I spent a romantic weekend at the Brafferton for his birthday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Brian and Joan couldn't have been more hospitable and our room (the Garden Room) was quaint and well-appointed, not to mention quite large. Everything was clean and cozy, not just our room but the whole inn.

Breakfast was a special treat, with homemade muffins baked by Brian and a choice of three home cooked entrees. More than plentiful and cooked to order. They do three seatings so you don't have to rush and can enjoy a leisurely morning before breakfast. Our room had a private entrance so we could come and go without disturbing other guests, and we spent one afternoon picnicking on the charming patio.

They don't have private parking, but this wasn't a problem at all. We parked in the garage right behind the inn, and there is metered parking as well. The location is perfect, in the heart of downtown and within walking distance to many attractions.

The Brafferton exceeded my expectations and we were extremely happy with our stay. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: The Garden Room is located behind the main building of the inn, with a private exterior entrance. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeJayGude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I were amazed at the size of our room and how beautiful it was. He loved the bed.There are so many bests about this place from the private entrance, private patio and our own parking spot to the mural in the dining area of the Inn. You definitely need to put it on your list of places to stay.

Room Tip: We loved the Pear Tree Suite. Your own parking spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.2 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brafferton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brafferton Inn

Property: Brafferton Inn
Address: 44 York Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brafferton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Brafferton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brafferton Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing