We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome historical B&B”
Review of Brafferton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brafferton Inn
Ranked #4 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We stayed here a while back, and I'm just getting around to doing my review. Life has been busy, what can I say? Anyway, my husband and I stayed at the Brafferton Inn for our anniversary during our visit to Gettysburg and we were very impressed. If you want to feel like you are immersed in Gettysburg history, this is the perfect place for you. We enjoyed our room on the top floor of the house and felt like were were tucked away, which was exactly what we wanted. The ambiance of the place is great and we liked the artwork in the dining area. We also loved that we were able to leave the B&B and walk everywhere, do the downtown walking tour of Gettysburg, walk to dinner, etc. We would definitely return if we were ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briebrie1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2009

It is a good think that I travel with a container of Lysol wipes. I really needed them to wash the bathroom floor! The furniture was old and uncomfortable. The rooms just appeared "unclean." We didn't know at the time of booking on line that our room would not be located in the inn itself, but upstairs in an adjacent property. The Inn is located on a very busy street. The two window air conditioners could not drown out the traffic noise. The street was a thoroughfare for semi-trucks.
The breakfast was superb with considerations for my food allergies.
The expensive room rate was not worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wabect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeepersGettysburg, Owners at Brafferton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2009

In response to this review, we as owners would like to state that all of our rooms and bedrooms are cleaned on a daily basis. The floors in the bathrooms are swept, mopped, and dysinfected daily.
All rooms are then checked either by ourselves or our innkeepers before guests check in.
In the over 50 previous reviews on Tripadvisor, or the 100's of reviews on other sites, cleanliness has never been an issue with our guests, and we take pride in keeping our house clean.
We are in total disagreement that the room or floors would be in that kind of condition.
Also, if the room was that "dirty", we could have been notified by the guests and switched them to a different room. We were not ever told by the guests that there were some issues with the room.
As far as decor, we are the oldest deeded house in downtown Gettysburg, built in 1786. The room that these guests stayed in is an addition built onto the main house in the 1850's. The decorating style reflects the period on purpose to fit the character of the house.

Thanks for reading our side.

The Hodges Family
Owners and Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

If you like B&B's, the Brafferton is exceptional. The family who run it are incredibly nice, helpful, hardworking and super competent. The Inn is beautiful and in a great location. The breakfast is five star. Unlike most of the other service providers in the downtown area, these folks take great pride in their work and it shows.

Somethings you might not like (depending on personal preferences): this is an Inn, not a chain hotel and thus the walls are not sound proof. But the rooms are extremely clean and well maintained.

I've read most if not all of the other reviews of this Inn and they are spot-on.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILikeFood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

The Brafferton Inn is indeed 5 star quality! We so enjoyed our stay there and plan on returning next year. The owners are helpful and friendly, and go out of their way to accomodate your every need. Breakfast was unbelievably wonderful!
Our family highly recommends the Brafferton Inn for the perfect Gettysburg experience!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacrossemomkentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

My husband and I stayed one night at the Brafferton and we were very impressed. Our room was cozy, and we enjoyed having no t.v. for a change. Everything is decorated just perfect. The location is great, we parked in the parking garage and walked everywhere we needed to go. Breakfast was the grand finale of our two day trip, it was wonderful and we left very full! The lemon poppy seed muffins were AWESOME!! We will surely go back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catnip616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

We enjoyed our trip to Gettysburg. Our stay at the Brafferton Inn was a mixed review. The family seems to genuinely care about their Inn and guests. However, our room (Brafferton Suite) was so noisy, we could hardly sleep. Selecting different window treatments would be helpful. In addition to being on the main road of Gettysburg with trucks rumbling through all night, the light from the street lights makes your room seem like daylight! There are window treatments that would help with both light and sound. The Inn would be helpful if they provided some luggage assistance too. It was difficult to drag suitcases up the steep stairs. Our bathroom sink would not drain. We reported it to the cleaning ladies but nothing was done. On a positive side, the breakfasts were very good, some of the best for food and service. The owners seem a bit rigid with their meal times and other details. It would be nice if they would simply let guests eat when they are ready. The check-in procedure also seemed like it was rigid and inflexible. Our room was large and furnished well so if you choose to stay here (good central location), just be certain to get a room on the BACK side of the inn, away from traffic noise and lights.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Okcathy124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We recently stayed at the Brafferton Inn and were more than pleased with the accomadations, service and food. The Inn is ideally located within a block of Lincoln square and walking distance to many attractions. Their breakfasts were fabulous and I am a serious cook and very picky about food. The room was beautiful and romantic and the linens were very luxurious. The only complaint I would have was that the air conditioner in our room was rather noisy and not ideally situated based on the location of the bed. We will definitely return, but choose a different room.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishrose423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,130 reviews
0.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#13 of 28 in Gettysburg
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#3 of 23 in Gettysburg
389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
4.2 mi away
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brafferton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brafferton Inn

Address: 44 York St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2301
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: £90 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brafferton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Brafferton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brafferton Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing