We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gettysburg Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gettysburg Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2007

We had but a single night at this lovely and well appointed Gettysburg B&B. We were able to book a one night stay (usually a two night minimum is required) as it fit between other reservations. Thus, we knowingly ended up with one of, if not the smallest room at the inn. I might add, it was also the smallest price. Despite this, the room was very clean, well maintained and very comfortable. We were quite pleased with the attention given each guest. We felt as though everyone was treated in just that way...more as a guest than a patron. Brian greeted us and was very attentive and spent ample time reviewing tips for dinner, touring the battlefield and so on.

The landscaping was well done and sitting in the back yard among the plants, trees and waterfall/pond was most enjoyable, comfortable and relaxing. Wireless internet is accessible in this rear area, too. A bountiful, tastey breakfast is served (weather permitting) outside on the two patios in this lovely back yard environment. Afternoon tea, coffee and snacks is a welcomed touch.

We will definately make the Brickhouse Inn our first choice next time we're in the Gettysburg area.

  • Liked — Friendly, relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — small steps to upper floors, though typical of older buildings
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAImbiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,485
    131
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
213
1,121
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2007

We stayed at the Brickhouse Inn for two nights. I have been to Gettysburg many times and have always enjoyed where I have stayed. The Brickhouse Inn was no exception and has become a place that I will return to on my next visit. We stayed in the Illionis Room in the adjacent Welty House. The room was spacious and very well kept. The clawfoot tub and stained glass accents gave a unique touch . Our host , Brian , was very friendly upon our arrival and gave us a tour and a quick history lesson about the beautiful Inn. Brian was very accomodating and willing to assist us with any questions we had. The Welty House has an interesting history itself, with several bullet holes from the Civil War in the brick still visible. The main building was also very nice-there was always tea available and in the afternoon there were cookies as well. Breakfast was also served there inside or if the weather was nice (which it was for us) it was served on the back patio among the beautiful and well cared for gardens. There is also a very pretty koi pond and waterfall. Breakfast was delicious and very graciously served. We would have liked to be given a range of time for breakfast instead of only one seating but it gave us a good excuse to get up and out early (breakfast was served at 830 am). This is one of the best locations to stay in Gettysburg-it really is close to everything. There is parking directly behind the Inn, it is a short walk to the Inn and we were on the second floor so I was a bit worried about carrying our bags-but- Brian offered any help that we may have needed. Definitely tour the Battlefield, the private guides are a great way to go. We went horsebacking riding on the battlefield (Artillery Ridge Campground offers rides) and it was an interesting way to experience the battlefield. Overall staying at the Brickhouse Inn complimented our trip to Gettysburg and made our time there even nicer.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank catontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latrobe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2007

In June of 07, we wanted to stay at a Bed and Breakfast in Gettysburg and we just took a chance and we were lucky enough to get a room. We stayed in the Tenn. room and just loved it. It's like living history. The location is perfect for the battlefield as well as the town of Gettysburg. The hospitality of Brian and Tessa was fantastic, you could not have asked for anything better. The accomodations outstanding. A home away from home and you get to live the history too. We liked it so much, before we left we made reservations to come back for the Apple Festival in October. This time we stayed in the Illinois room and it was great, but our favorite is the Tenn. room. The food is extremely good and the service makes you feel special. We plan to return to Gettysburg often and this is the place we want to stay.

  • Liked — Friendlyness, extremely clean, historical value of premises.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LatrobeChurchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2007

What a lovely way to experience Gettysburg!

Our trip focussed on seeing the town instead of the battlefield. The inn is conveniently located below the National Cemetary on Baltimore Street. From there, it was very easy to walk into town or stroll up to the cemetary for a taste of the battle from that vantage point.

The inn itself is quite lovely. Very clean and comfortable with a tasteful mix of antiques to give guests a taste of upper class civilian life at the time of the battle. Our bed was extremely comfortable -- more than enough pillows and blankets.

We were fortunate to have lovely warm weather and could dine each morning on the terrace by the gardens in the back of the house. Breakfast was delicious and filling enough that we chose to eat icecream for lunch instead of another meal!

Our hosts were extremely helpful in making dinner reservations for us at the Dobbin House -- which was three minutes walk from the inn. They also recommended the tour of the Shriver House to better understand how the townspeople were affected by the battle.

We highly recommend this inn.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank AftonJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2007

The BrickHouse Inn is simple elegant! It was truly a lovely Inn, offered everything one could need in a clean and friendly manner. We stayed in the North Carolina room and it was wonderful. I looked forward to relaxing each night because it was so inviting and comfortable. The outdoor gardens were exquisite, and we were lucky enough to have warm weather and had breakfast on the patio both mornings. Brian and Tessa were wonderful hosts and the food was delicious and the presentation was quite nice. We ate a delectable dinner at The Dobbin House and really enjoyed the ambiance. It was a weekend to be remembered, and we look forward to returning.

  • Liked — It's elegant setting
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SparkleBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2007

We stayed here for a long weekend during the summer of '07, and found this B&B to be very clean and comfortable. The furnishings are beautiful and the property is meticulously landscaped and kept in tip-top shape. The location is unequalled - walking distance to both busy sections of town.

However, I cannot agree with all of the reviews that pour the praise all over the owners/hosts. I did not find them to be especially friendly or helpful at all, and all of our contact with them was awkward and uncomfortable. Maybe they just didn't like us, though we didn't give them any reason to be that way.

My biggest disappointment with the management was the parking ticket that we got on our final day - all of the allocated parking was full when we returned to the B&B at midnight, so we parked on the street and found out the next morning that we got a $15 parking ticket. I casually mentioned it to the host, hinted around a bit about maybe they could pick up that fee but the hint wasn't taken and I didn't want to make a big issue out of it. Shame on me for expecting free parking when I am shelling out close to $200 a night on a hotel room.

The breakfasts could have been pulled from the pages of an elegant cuisine manual - very well presented and delicious looking. Portions were minimal and no options were presented. Being a "bacon and eggs" kind of guy, I wasn't thrilled with the breakfast selections at all and would have preferred something from the menu of the Avenue Restaurant across the street. Too bad Brickhouse doesn't give the guests a couple items to chose from.

We'll expect to continue our annual visits to Gettysburg, but I don't think we'll return to the Brickhouse.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank asylum00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2007

The staff at the Brickhouse were very accomodating and helped to make our first visit to Gettysburg very memorable. Brian and Tessa provided excellent recommendations for restaurants and tours. They even went to the trouble to make our reservations in advance. Our room(the New York room) was clean, quiet, comfortable, and private. Each morning we were treated to a gourmet breakfast and in the afternnoon tea, coffee, and homemade cakes. This would have to rate as one of the finer Inns where we have had the pleasure of staying. We will return.
Peter and Joann Philadelphia

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ivytattoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 452 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickhouse Inn is the premier award winning B&B inn in Gettysburg with an ideal location in the downtown historic area. The 1898 Victorian mansion and c.1830 historic Welty House offer superb rooms all with private bathrooms. Off-street parking and beautiful gardens make the Inn a perfect oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickhouse Inn Bed And Breakfast
Brickhouse Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing