We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I was a great place to spend a few nights. Very accommodating and a great breakfast in the morning. Also assisted with dinner reservations and arranging a guided tour of the battlefield. Located within walking distance of center of town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

We're so glad you stayed with us and enjoyed it. We're happy to make dinner reservations and to book a guide. We're now sending guests a list of restaurants before they arrive, to help them choose. We're more confident that guests will enjoy the tour with a licensed guide. Of the many hundreds of tours we've arranged not a single person has been disappointed, and most guests rave about the quality of the guides.
Thank you for writing the review. We hope to see you again!
Best wishes,
Tessa and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,796 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

The Brickhouse Inn is most likely the reason why we plan on re-visiting Gettysburg. The hosts were very knowledgeable about the area and gave us great suggestions on activities. Tessa and Brian couldn't have been more welcoming. We felt right at home the minute we arrived. The room was beautiful, the gardens and the buildings are so special, an attraction all on their own...really something to see! We were sad to leave....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosem195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thanks for the review! We're glad you liked the old buildings and the garden. We feel very fortunate to have the Welty House (1830) and the Victorian house (1898). They once belonged to the same family, and it's good that they are 'together' after many years of being under separate ownership. They became rental properties and, as often happens, they got into a deteriorated state. Now they are in excellent condition, reflecting the quality of their original construction.
We would love you to visit again one day.
Best wishes from
Tessa and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I based our decision on other Trip Advisor reviews and they were right on - The Brickhouse Inn was superb. The private tour guide they arranged for us really brought history alive. I would strongly suggest going this route. Bryan gave us great suggestions on other places to eat and we had a wonderful dinner at Dobbins House as part of our package - the crab cakes were fabulous. We stayed in the Kentucky Suite which had a separate room with two comfortable wing chairs for reading. My husband was worried about he old fashion claw foot tub with a shower curtain, but both of us agreed that it was a wonderful shower with good water pressure and temperature. We'll definitely stay there again if we go back.

Room Tip: The Kentucky Suite had a wonderful balcony to sit on that overlooked the garden and you could actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishdcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thanks for coming to stay! We're glad you liked the Kentucky Suite and its balcony - very special with the bullet scars from the Battle of Gettysburg. We're glad you chose to take a guide for the tour of the Battlefield - the guides are exceptional. I think a lot of visitors who haven't been to Gettysburg before don't know about the quality of the guides and are influenced by bad experiences elsewhere. Our licensed guides here could hardly be better, in both knowledge and delivery.
We're glad you enjoyed the Dobbin House too. There are several other historic inns near Gettysburg that you could try if you come back here - which we hope you will!
Thanks for writing the review.
Best wishes
Tessa and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is a beautifully appointed home with wonderful owners. Brian and Tessa could have not been more gracious and very helpful in providing info on things to do and see and places to eat. The inn is also wonderfully located. We could walk to almost everywhere. We stayed in the Ohio room and it was very clean and comfortable. We are now planning a return and stop for a couple of days on our way to more Civil War battlefields

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you so much for writing the review. We're glad you liked the Inn and found it convenient for walking around. We're fortunate that most of the shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance.
Thanks for coming to stay! It was good to meet you, and we hope you'll come back to us for your next visit.
All the best,
Tessa and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the inn three times. Every time was excellent. The innkeepers really help out with information on Gettysburg . The breakfast each time was exceptional . There is always cake n cookies in the dining area all day long, with drinks in a small refrigerator. My children enjoyed themselves with the cookies. My patents came with me once and enjoyed the rocking chairs on the front porch at night, just watching everyone in town. When I visit Gettysburg I will never stay any where else.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barberett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you very much for coming back to stay at the Inn - it was great to see you again! We feel very honored that you chose us again, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We're always trying new recipes for the breakfast and for the afternoon goodies, so it's good to know that you and the children liked them.
Thanks a lot for writing the review. We hope to see you again!
Best wishes,
Tessa and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We decided to stay another night in Gettysburg and so made reservations at the B and B at the last minute. Our entire experience from our first contact to the time that we left was wonderful. The owners, Brian and Tessa, were so welcoming and accomodating. The breakfast was outstanding! The room was very pleasant and clean. At first glance it seemed like the location would be noisy and busy, but it was not. The back yard is like an oasis of calm and beauty. Someone definitely has a green thumb. The location was very convenient to walking to restaurants and shops along the street and square. We will be back.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, in the South Carolina room. It was very pleasant with beautiful old fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

It was very kind of you to write the review - we really appreciate that you took the time to do it. We're glad you liked the Inn and had a good time. We try to make the garden shady and tranquil - we need to pay a tribute to Tommy, who does the yard work. He had done a great job with the hanging baskets this years - they need so much water in the summer - and we will put more in next year.
We would be delighted if you came back to stay!
Take care, and
Best wishes
Tessa and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Customer satisfaction is Job #1 at the Brickhouse Inn. Brian and Tessa are eager to make your stay the most pleasant possible and they bend over backwards to do everything they can to make it memorable. I have some food sensitivities and every breakfast they served me took that into account. I appreciated that so much! Our room was lovely, clean, and comfortable and the location of the Inn was so perfect - convenient to the Battlefield, downtown, right on the bus line and within walking distance of some very awesome restaurants. I am hoping to get back there in the next year or two, and I know I will be welcomed like family when I do!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms in the two homes are accessible by stairs only, as they are period homes, If stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

We greatly enjoyed meeting you and having you to stay at the Inn. We're glad you liked the Inn and the great restaurants we have in town. It's never a problem to cater for food sensitivities or dietary requirements - just the same as if you had friends or family staying with you in your home.

It would be great to see you again! Hope it won't be too long. Till then, take care of yourselves.
All the best,
Tessa and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
902 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#3 of 23 in Gettysburg
388 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#8 of 23 in Gettysburg
323 reviews
3.8 mi away
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 452 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: £81 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickhouse Inn is the premier award winning B&B inn in Gettysburg with an ideal location in the downtown historic area. The 1898 Victorian mansion and c.1830 historic Welty House offer superb rooms all with private bathrooms. Off-street parking and beautiful gardens make the Inn a perfect oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickhouse Inn Bed And Breakfast
Brickhouse Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing