We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amagansett, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent three lovely nights at the Brickhouse Inn and had a good time. Tessa and Brian
were very attentive and friendly. The staff, expecially Theresa, their wonderful cook, were
great. The suite we had was authentically done for the time period of the home. Comfortable
beds, clean rooms and great breakfasts. All in all it was a great experience. Loved the
back patio. It's a perfect spot for relaxing with a bottle of wine before dinner.

Room Tip: Second floor rear suite was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gansett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,570
    134
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
229
1,184
45
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wooster, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had a very nice long weekend at the brickhouse inn. The staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. The food was great and could not have asked for better accomodations. We stayed in the original House and the back patio was perfect for visiting with our friends. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: ground level in the welty house had a fabulous patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

It being our first time staying at a B&B was a little skeptical. We were pleasantly surprised by how charming, "very clean" and comfortable it was. We stayed in the Illinois Room which was a unique Victorian style with antiques and a private, roomy bathroom including a claw footed tub. My husband is very much into American History so the Welty House with it's Civil War history and architecture was perfect. Another plus was plenty of off street parking in which you walk through their nice landscaped grounds. The breakfast areas you didn't feel crowded and could talk with other guest while enjoying their delicious breakfast. You definitely didn't get up from the table hungry! It was nice being located in the historic area with plenty to do. The owners and staff was very nice in making sure we enjoyed our stay and offered their assistance if needed. We had cake, brownies, tea and coffee offered in the afternoon. The only thing that I could see anyone complain about is the traffic in front of the home which is to be expected being of the location but it wasn't enough to bother us at all. Unfortunately our government that closed our National Parks was the only & most disappointment of our trip. The Brickhouse Inn with Tessa, Brian and Staff has such great hospitality and certainly a place they should be very proud of. Will definitely let friends and family know.

Room Tip: If light sleeper might want to get rooms in back of house. No small refrigerator in room but they d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plato2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at the Brickhouse Inn for 3 nights during the government shut down. We had been planning the trip for quite some time and could not travel at a different time. The Inn was very accomodating and willing to change dates for us, but like I said we could not. Immediately upon arrival we were greeted with warmth and hospitality. Melanie(I believe) met us and took us on a tour of the property, a beautiful 1898 Victorian building, with what looks like original molding etc. The room was great(we stayed in the front of the building 2nd floor). We did get street noise, which doesn't bother us, so if it does bother you stay in a higher room or ask for the back of the building. The location was perfect, within walking distance to numerous attractions, Jennie Wade House, The Wax Museum, The Dobbins Inn, The Diaorama. The only time we got in our car was to take the battlefield tour, which the Innkeepers coordinated for us. Excellent package by the way, a 2 hour battlefield tour, $50.00 GC to the Dobbins Inn(spectacular food..try the french onion soup)and entrance to the Gettysburg National Park visitor center(which is open and has tons to see). The breakfast every morning was delicious and even included dessert(who knew..breakfast dessert...I loved it). The Innkeepers were very warm and friendly but were not overbearing as you sometimes get in Inns. We enjoyed meeting many different couples at breakfast from all areas of the country. We will be back when hopefully the park is open! Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptaker46052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thanks very much for the lovely detailed review. We're so glad you came despite the government shut-down. We did have a few cancellations, but, thanks to guests like you the impact was not as bad as we expected. There were in fact many things to do, as you discovered, including the guided tours and the Visitor Center.
We're glad you liked the Ultimate Gettysburg Experience Package. Our aim was to include the main attractions, with a nice supper at the Dobbin House, and you can add to, or subtract from, the package, depending on what you like to do.
We very much enjoyed meeting you.
Thanks again, and best wishes, from Tessa and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Brickhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast is by far the best B&B in Gettysburg. This was our 4th stay here. From the moment you check in, you are greeted by a sense of warmth and a feeling of home. Brian and Tessa never cease to amaze us with their hospitality and attention to detail. They even noticed that my husband, despite the huge breakfast, was wanting more. They served him a second breakfast without hesitation. By the way, anywhere you get dessert for breakfast is number one in my book!

We stayed in the Texas room which was perfect for our romantic weekend. It is a beautiful room with a high bed. I had trouble getting in the bed at first (I am short), but we found a small set of stairs in the corner that I used for the rest of the weekend. We were able to walk to our dinner at the Dobbin House (highly recommended) and enjoy a nightcap across the street at O'Rourke's.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this wonderful B&B to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
It was great to see the four of you again - we really appreciate that you've come back again. We're glad you enjoyed the breakfasts - you're always welcome to have second (or more) helpings!
We're glad you liked the Texas Room and the high bed! It was the original parlor of the Welty House.
Thanks a lot for writing the review. We really hope we'll see you all again.
Our best wishes,
Tessa and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emlenton, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We took a family trip to Gettysburg this year. This is our 3rd trip in 4 years and the first time we have stayed downtown. It was great to be centrally located and to be able to walk to any of the locations located downtown. My husband and I stayed in the Welty house in the original house that was there during the battle. Our balcony had bullet holes in the walls. My mom and son stayed in the Brickhouse Inn right next door. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and roomy. The staff was very friendly. Tessa and Brian were very friendly and provided a wonderful, comfortable environment. Breakfast was delicious each day! We had a slight medical situation with my son while we were there and Tessa and Brian's caring during this time was above and beyond.

Room Tip: The Kentucky Room has bullet holes in the outside balcony walls. History alive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muncher53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Brickhouse Inn is part of the Gettysburg experience. The bullet holes in the wall are a reminder that the battle played out not only in the surrounding fields, but also involved the civilian population. Brian and Tessa are the perfect innkeepers, engaging and knowledgable, and provide the best in ambiance, service, and value.

Room Tip: we loved the Kentucky room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thanks for coming to stay with us. We're glad you liked the Kentucky Room - it's the best room in the Welty House, and, as you said, the bullet scars on the wall of the balcony porch show that part of the Battle involved the town and the civilian population.
Thanks for writing the review. We hope we'll see you again.
Take care, and our best wishes, Tessa and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
378 reviews
2.0 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#4 of 23 in Gettysburg
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 452 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickhouse Inn is the premier award winning B&B inn in Gettysburg with an ideal location in the downtown historic area. The 1898 Victorian mansion and c.1830 historic Welty House offer superb rooms all with private bathrooms. Off-street parking and beautiful gardens make the Inn a perfect oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickhouse Inn Bed And Breakfast
Brickhouse Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing