We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very historic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I stayed in the older, original building adjacent to the main house. The grounds looked inviting, but the cool weather did not permit use of them. The location is not within walking distance of the center of town, nor the park visitors center. There are several T-shirt shops and a couple of restaurants nearby. Otherwise, there is nothing special about the location.

The room was clean and the furnishings were adequate. The breakfasts were delightful. There was a lot of road noise beginning around 5 am and the ticking of the antique clock in the room made sleeping a challenge.

There were umbrellas available for the guests to use and a lot of historical information about the war sites. The hosts were friendly and helpful.

I doubt that I will visit Gettysburg again, but if I did, I probably would stay at a chain hotel since the location of the Brickhouse did not offer an advantage.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OrangeTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasay, Manager at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfasts and our gardens. We are sorry that the weather was not more pleasant during your stay. We have never had someone displeased with out location before as you can see in many reviews. Our location is one of our main attractions. We are located on Baltimore Street, one of two major arteries through our small historic town. The Inn is definately within walking distance of the town center (Lincoln Square) -- it takes seven minutes and there are plenty of private museums, winery stores, antique shops, art galleries and house museums along that path. In addition, it is the same path traveled by Lincoln on his way to give the Gettysburg Address. The Visitor Center is located on the edge of the Battlefield just over a mile south of our Inn and on the same street. It takes about a half hour to walk there, through the National Cemetery, but most people drive there (5 minutes).
We are sorry that you were bothered by the clock in your room. Had you let us know we would have gladly disabled it for the extent of your stay or had it removed from your room.
Best Wishes ~ Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

804 - 810 of 1,769 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

I think the brickhouse inn is the best place to stay so come stay and u will see how u will love it the people are great and the garden is pretty to the servce is great to I love it there and u will to

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived at this B&B during a busy holiday weekend for a wedding. Tessa and Brian were most friendly and allowed us to check-in early. The inn was in the heart of the historic downtown and we stayed in the Georgia Room located in the front of the Welty house. Our room was extremely comfortable and the street noise did not bother us. Tessa and Brian made sure we wanted for nothing and the breakfasts each morning in the courtyard were very good and the ambiance was perfect. One afternoon, my husband sat in the courtyard amongst the flowers and waterfalls and he returned completely refreshed. If this is your first (or millionth) time to Gettysburg, you would be wise to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laphilibin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasay, Manager at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and relaxing in the garden. The Georgia Room is one of my favorites. The private balcony just feels like the perfect place to unwind with a great book and a glass of wine. I hope we'll see you back again soon! Best Wishes~ Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was our fist time staying at this inn. The grounds are very peaceful and quiet. We had the Alabama room at the back of the Welty house. Nice large room with a stand up shower. There were plenty of outlets in the room. Bed was comfy. The only downside was the outside lights on the porch still shined through the curtains when they were closed, making it bright in the room at night. Breakfast was good, and Tessa and Brian were very accommodating to the guests. We would definitely stay here again. Downtown and restaurants were in walking distance. Very convenient to park the car and walk to dinner and have a few drinks without driving.

Room Tip: Lots of street traffic out on the main road. Rooms at the back of the houses were more quiet. No whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasay, Manager at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you so much for the nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, your room and the gardens. Thank you for letting us know about the porch light shining into the Alabama Room, no one has ever mentioned that before and we have already had the window measured for a new shade that will prevent that from happening in the future. I hope we'll see you back again in the future! Best Wishes~ Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Our three-night stay with friends was thoroughly enjoyable. The owners, Tessa and Brian were friendly and accommodating hosts. They served a delicious breakfast everyday and shared recipes with us. We took advantage of the Common Room, which was clean and available 24 hours a day. Our bed was comfortable and our room was clean. One day, the perfect weather allowed us to enjoy a fabulous breakfast on their patio with the lovely gardens and waterfall in the background. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends. Thanks, Tessa and Brian!
Den & Yo, Fairport

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed three nights with friends and thoroughly enjoyed everything. The innkeepers, Tessa and Brian, were great hosts and the service throughout our stay was exceptional. The location is great and the garden area spectacular. Breakfasts were fabulous and Brian and Tessa were most accommodating in supplying us with recipes. On our last morning the weather was so perfect that breakfast was moved to the garden patio (first of the season); this was indeed a great way to end our stay. As we frequently are in the Gettysburg's area, the Brickhouse Inn will be our first choice for lodging.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairportRoadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A wonderful Bed and Breakfast in the downtown are of Gettysburg. The location was convenient and close to local attractions. Room was very clean and comfortable. Host and hostess were accommodating. Breakfast was home-made and delicious.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Texas room. First floor made it easy to unload and load the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasay, Manager at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Texas Room is one of my favorites. I hope we'll see you back again soon! Best Wishes~ Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,092 reviews
0.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
246 reviews
0.5 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#13 of 28 in Gettysburg
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 452 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: £83 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickhouse Inn is the premier award winning B&B inn in Gettysburg with an ideal location in the downtown historic area. The 1898 Victorian mansion and c.1830 historic Welty House offer superb rooms all with private bathrooms. Off-street parking and beautiful gardens make the Inn a perfect oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickhouse Hotel Gettysburg
Brickhouse Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing