We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Magnificent enchanting place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magnificent enchanting place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This was our choice for our honeymoon, and it was the best decision as a married couple! The room was beautiful and peaceful, the balcony was relaxing and gorgeous, the gardens, the waterfall, the flowers, the people, the food, the service all top notch. I cried upon checking out. The special personal touch with the rose on the dresser with the card from the staff was so touching. It was a wonderful experience and i highly recommend a stay here. I was the happiest bride alive every day we spent there. Love Jenni and Dave Zaleski. And yes we wrote in the room journal :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustJenni74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,453
    130
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
206
1,097
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked the Brickhouse B&B because a friend recommended it. The atmosphere was superb in this late 19th century house. The room was compact, but comfortable, the host were caring and attentive. The breakfast was very good and filling. The only complaint were the stairs. If you go don't select a 3rd floor room unless you feel confident of climbing often. I rate the place well, but my infirmities suggest a more comfortable level. The gardens are beautiful and the location is very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc-Rugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasay, Manager at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that your enjoyed your visit with us. I'm sorry that you found the third floor inconvenient. We do have several rooms that are on the first or second floor that we are happy to suggest to people who are unable to walk up stairs. Sadly, at the time of your stay all of our rooms were filled or we would have gladly offered you a different room. We have 15 rooms in two, side-by-side, historic homes. When calling to make a reservation we are quite happy to walk our guests through all the available room options so that we can find a room that is just right for them. Best Wishes~ Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I stayed in the older, original building adjacent to the main house. The grounds looked inviting, but the cool weather did not permit use of them. The location is not within walking distance of the center of town, nor the park visitors center. There are several T-shirt shops and a couple of restaurants nearby. Otherwise, there is nothing special about the location.

The room was clean and the furnishings were adequate. The breakfasts were delightful. There was a lot of road noise beginning around 5 am and the ticking of the antique clock in the room made sleeping a challenge.

There were umbrellas available for the guests to use and a lot of historical information about the war sites. The hosts were friendly and helpful.

I doubt that I will visit Gettysburg again, but if I did, I probably would stay at a chain hotel since the location of the Brickhouse did not offer an advantage.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OrangeTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasay, Manager at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfasts and our gardens. We are sorry that the weather was not more pleasant during your stay. We have never had someone displeased with out location before as you can see in many reviews. Our location is one of our main attractions. We are located on Baltimore Street, one of two major arteries through our small historic town. The Inn is definately within walking distance of the town center (Lincoln Square) -- it takes seven minutes and there are plenty of private museums, winery stores, antique shops, art galleries and house museums along that path. In addition, it is the same path traveled by Lincoln on his way to give the Gettysburg Address. The Visitor Center is located on the edge of the Battlefield just over a mile south of our Inn and on the same street. It takes about a half hour to walk there, through the National Cemetery, but most people drive there (5 minutes).
We are sorry that you were bothered by the clock in your room. Had you let us know we would have gladly disabled it for the extent of your stay or had it removed from your room.
Best Wishes ~ Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biglerville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I think the brickhouse inn is the best place to stay so come stay and u will see how u will love it the people are great and the garden is pretty to the servce is great to I love it there and u will to

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived at this B&B during a busy holiday weekend for a wedding. Tessa and Brian were most friendly and allowed us to check-in early. The inn was in the heart of the historic downtown and we stayed in the Georgia Room located in the front of the Welty house. Our room was extremely comfortable and the street noise did not bother us. Tessa and Brian made sure we wanted for nothing and the breakfasts each morning in the courtyard were very good and the ambiance was perfect. One afternoon, my husband sat in the courtyard amongst the flowers and waterfalls and he returned completely refreshed. If this is your first (or millionth) time to Gettysburg, you would be wise to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laphilibin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasay, Manager at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and relaxing in the garden. The Georgia Room is one of my favorites. The private balcony just feels like the perfect place to unwind with a great book and a glass of wine. I hope we'll see you back again soon! Best Wishes~ Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was our fist time staying at this inn. The grounds are very peaceful and quiet. We had the Alabama room at the back of the Welty house. Nice large room with a stand up shower. There were plenty of outlets in the room. Bed was comfy. The only downside was the outside lights on the porch still shined through the curtains when they were closed, making it bright in the room at night. Breakfast was good, and Tessa and Brian were very accommodating to the guests. We would definitely stay here again. Downtown and restaurants were in walking distance. Very convenient to park the car and walk to dinner and have a few drinks without driving.

Room Tip: Lots of street traffic out on the main road. Rooms at the back of the houses were more quiet. No whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasay, Manager at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, your room and the gardens. Thank you for letting us know about the porch light shining into the Alabama Room, no one has ever mentioned that before and we have already had the window measured for a new shade that will prevent that from happening in the future. I hope we'll see you back again in the future! Best Wishes~ Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Our three-night stay with friends was thoroughly enjoyable. The owners, Tessa and Brian were friendly and accommodating hosts. They served a delicious breakfast everyday and shared recipes with us. We took advantage of the Common Room, which was clean and available 24 hours a day. Our bed was comfortable and our room was clean. One day, the perfect weather allowed us to enjoy a fabulous breakfast on their patio with the lovely gardens and waterfall in the background. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends. Thanks, Tessa and Brian!
Den & Yo, Fairport

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,328 reviews
2.0 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#4 of 23 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 452 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickhouse Inn is the premier award winning B&B inn in Gettysburg with an ideal location in the downtown historic area. The 1898 Victorian mansion and c.1830 historic Welty House offer superb rooms all with private bathrooms. Off-street parking and beautiful gardens make the Inn a perfect oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickhouse Inn Bed And Breakfast
Brickhouse Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing