We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostile environment with more rules than the prison system!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hostile environment with more rules than the prison system!”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We often stay at B&B's when traveling. The level of my satisfaction has ranged between never wanting to leave to merely tolerating the stay. That said, I have never been motivated to write a review. Arriving 8 pm on the 8th, no one was available to greet us. Our keys were left with another guest. I first met the owners on the morning of the 9th. No welcome, no greeting other than a request identify myself and to provide them with a credit card to cover the balance of our stay. Perhaps the owners, an odd little couple, were inhospitable because we travel with a service animal. (This fact was surely noted when the reservation was created months prior.) Evidence of this would be when they removed the bedding from our room. The explanation I was given was that anything that would need to be dry cleaned could not be in the room. The comfortor and quilt were relpaced with old blankets. The service dog is 99.9 percent hypoallergenic and does not shed. This was explained the the owners. My husband requested that they not do so. They removed the bedding nonetheless. On our second morning, we chose not to eat breakfast. We received a note admonishing us for not giving them proper notice. I have never felt so unwelcome. I would never recommend this establisment. Should you decide to consider this B&B anyway, get ready for the "Rule Book". The rules are as follows: no food in the room, any take-out foods are to be eaten in the courtyard or at the dining room table in the mainhouse, there are no wine glasses available in the room, turn down the comforter and quilt if you are lucky enough to have one prior to sitting or placing anything on the bed, don't turn a/c too low or the unit will freeze, be at breakfast at 8:30 am - no additional seating times, notification required if you are not coming to breakfast, ironing board is located on the second floor and must be shared by everyone in the building, there is a manual full of the same. On a positive note, the grounds are beautiful, and everything was very clean. However, the owner's do not seem to grasp the concept of they are there to serve their guests and make them happy and comortable - no the other way around. It was more like a prison than a relaxing time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joebowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirtlington, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 July 2010
We’re sorry this guest did not like her stay. We’ll deal with her points in turn – most of them are factually incorrect:
“No one was available to greet us..” Our check-in time is 3.30- 7.00 p.m. For guests checking in after 7 p.m. we leave a key with detailed instructions, as well as telephone numbers to contact us.
“Our keys were left with another guest.” It was actually her daughter-in-law, who asked us for the key, as the parents were coming later “around 10 p.m.” on motor-bikes.
“No welcome, no greeting”. We always greet and welcome our guests – if they are late arrivals we greet them the following morning.
“...they removed the bedding from our room.” We removed only the comforter, which would otherwise have to be dry-cleaned after their dog was in the room; this is normal practice at B&Bs when accepting dogs.
“My husband requested that they not do so.” We explained to the guest’s husband who did not have any objection.
“The comforter and quilt were replaced with old blankets.” We don’t have any old blankets at the Inn.
“We received a note admonishing us for not giving them proper notice..” (about not coming to breakfast). We merely asked if they would come to breakfast the following morning – we certainly did not admonish them.
“..get ready for the Rule Book”. We don’t have a rule book, but we do have policies. One of them is that we do not take pets. However, we accepted this guest’s comfort dog – in fact she told us: “You have to take my dog”.
There are plenty of wine glasses in the dining room, as well as ice, corkscrews, etc. which guests can take to the room.
In the summer we generally have breakfast at 8.30 a.m., but if this time does not suit a guest we’ll serve them at a different time, earlier or later.
In conclusion, we always do our best to make sure that our guests are comfortable and have a good time in Gettysburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,556
    133
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
227
1,174
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spring City, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2010

My Husband And I were there for Bike week. The location right in town was perfect,the breakfasts were excellent(got to try the shoofly pie)the Georgia room was very quaint with private balcony overlooking the gardens. Brian&Tess are the Inn Keepers and are very helpful.The other staff are also very friendly. Will surely be returning again!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikergirl564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehigh Acres, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2010

This was our first B&B and it was worth it. Brian and Tessa were the perfect hosts. They made breakfast for everyone every morning and it was delicious. We were there for the Gettyburg reenactment and love it. We are looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmc0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia PA
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Gettysburg is a special place, and the Brickhouse Inn is a wonderful place for the Gettysburg visitor to spend a few days. The Inn consists of 2 brick homes, plus a new cottage in the rear. We stayed in the cottage and it, like the rest of the Inn, was first-class all the way. Our host Brian was charming and knowledgable. Breakfasts were ample and tasty. The weather was outstanding during our stay, and we were served outdoors in the lovely gardens. The Inn's location is a plus - it's within walking distance to attractions in downtown Gettysburg, and a short drive from the Battlefield and the wonderful new visitor center.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schmidbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocono Lake, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We stayed in the Ohio room. It was not a large room, but it did not seem cramped. Our room and the rest of the inn was nicely decorated with many antiques. The afternoon treats and breakfast were both delicious. The staff was very professional and accommodating. Even though there were lots of other guests, Brian took time to help to make sure that we had the help that we needed, and we didn't feel lost in the crowd. The inn did not seem to have many amenities for as pricey as it is, but at the Brickhouse Inn, you're paying for location & the historic atmosphere. If those are things that you value, it's worth definitely worth staying at the Brickhouse Inn.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pitsburgh
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2010

My husband & I have never been to Gettysburg so we decided to celebrate our anniversary there, a short trip from Pittsburgh. My sister recommended the B&B having stayed there before and we are so grateful that she did!
Its a beautiful 3 story Victorian decorated with period furniture,comfortable and cozy.
No elevator but stairs that lead to to you private rooms each with private bathrooms.
The location is ideal;walking distance to town center,shops and restaurants.
Brian & Tessa are wonderful hosts and very helpful.
Delicious unusual meals every morning for breakfast! What a treat!
We would definately go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracebridge, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We arrived in Gettysburg after a long drive and very tired with no place booked to stay.
The owner was very gracious and gave us a good rate for the night. The suite of two rooms and a bath was very spacious, and decorated beautifully. The beds were comfortable. Breakfast was scrumptious. Lots to do in Gettysburg so we ended up staying 2 nights. Would definately stay again! Owners friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
860 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
373 reviews
2.0 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#5 of 23 in Gettysburg
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 452 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickhouse Inn is the premier award winning B&B inn in Gettysburg with an ideal location in the downtown historic area. The 1898 Victorian mansion and c.1830 historic Welty House offer superb rooms all with private bathrooms. Off-street parking and beautiful gardens make the Inn a perfect oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickhouse Inn Bed And Breakfast
Brickhouse Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing