We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairless Hills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
“Historic and beautiful”
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Beautiful, historic B&B with comfortable rooms and relaxing yard and porches. Innkeepers are great. We have stayed at the Brickhouse several times and will not hesitate to stay again. Perfect location to walk around town.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susangibney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,511
    133
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
217
1,143
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

What a great place, and great staff. Rooms are clean, well appointed and quiet. This inn is close enough to walk to all the places we wanted to see. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denverfireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

all i can say its perfect and beautiful the rooms are amazing , they showed us a few rooms during our stay in both houses they are all gorgeous, we got married during our trip and the inn keeper was so very nice they left chocolates and a very nice card for us on our big beautiful bed in the texas room , i must also say the stained glass windows in the morning are so beautiful in the front bedrooms , and the gardens are wonderful , the staff is so friendly and kind they will do anything to make ur stay comfortable and as for price , they are one of the lowest prices for a band b in gettysburg and well worth the price because the other more expensive b and bs do not offer such grandeur and beauty as these houses and the service cannot compare to that of the brick house , i cannot tell u how much we loved it there the inn keeper was even so nice as to share her recipes with me when i complimented them , we will be staying there again and again ... i cannot wait till my next visit ... do ur self a big favor and stay at the brick-house inn you will love it just as we did
" some of u may know i tripadvise for all places in gettysburg and this is the number one place over all and the cleanest rooms of all places there they are spotless "

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mourning4them
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Positives: great bed, nice bath, very clean, excellent food, good location, very accommodating.

Negatives: steps, could have been quieter - we had front bedroom, one recommended restaurant (J's) was too pricey for what you received.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sndschltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We stayed in the Kentucky Suite, which allowed us a beautiful view of the garden at night from our own private balcony, a treat alone worth the trip. The rooms were lovely, comfortable, with every effort made to provide the best heat and cooling options, as October can be unpredictable when it comes to weather. Then there was breakfast, which was prepared special at our request, thank you so much, but along with the good food was, as always, the great company of the other guests. We have stayed at Brickhouse before and will stay there again, it is a wonderful location, terrific inn keepers, as well as close to good dining, historic sites and antiques - everything you would come to Gettysburg to enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greensburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

In my opinion, this B&B was highly overprized for what you get. I cannot recommend it to any solo traveller as you really pay too much. I had a small room on the 3rd floor and paid 140 bugs a night, which I think is quite a lot for just one person.

The walls are thin as paper, and I not only heard people on the same floor snore at night, but also watching TV, talking in their room etc. And there were lots of rooms in the house... So, if you are a sound sleeper, you should think about staying at another place.

All in all, the room was pretty clean. I liked the little fireplace as well, and in the afternoon the host served cookies as well as tea and coffee (which was available all day long). There was no choice for breakfast, so you had to eat what the host cooked.

The location is pretty good, as it is close to the Battlefield Visitor Center and a short walk away from where the Battlefield bus tour starts.

Though, the host wasn't helpful at all with regards to any sightseeing planning. I asked about the Scenic drive and she couldn't even tell me the way there. And they had pretty poor working WiFi there. No connection on the 3rd floor at all.

All in all - this B&B is average. It is not worth the money. Maybe if you are a couple and don't mind a loud place. Anyway, if I had done more research before I stayed here, I would have chosen a different place.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank felis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 October 2010
This guest was a young foreigner. When she called we described the room to her (medium-size, queen bed and private bathroom with shower for $129 plus taxes). We were all very nice to her, changed the breakfast to suit her, and gave her directions – so her comments are strange. Her room was on the 3rd floor, where the Wifi signal is not strong but usable – she came down to the dining room and used her laptop there while eating cookies. The building is a brick Victorian so the walls keep sound down to a minimum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boardman, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

My wife and I stayed here for one night while visiting Gettysburg in October 2010. It was a great place to stay and I would highly recommend it to anybody who is considering it. The innkeepers were very friendly and were willing to offer suggestions for attractions in the area. They also offered to make reservations for any dining/activities that we wanted to do. The Dobbins House and Miss Betty's Ghost Tours were pushed quite strongly which made me wonder if they get any referral bonuses; we did the Dobbins house but not the ghost tour.

Our room, the Texas room, was very clean and comfortable. Even though it was autumn the gardens in the back looked very nice and well-kept; I'm sure they are beautiful in the spring and summer. In the morning there was a worker wiping all the seats and sweeping all walkways so that shows you their attention to detail. The breakfast and the homemade cookies were also very good. Our room heater wasn't working properly but it was fixed immediately while we were at dinner. All and all, we had no complaints and were very satisfied.

We also stayed at the Brafferton so I can briefly tell you how I thought they compared; I give the Brickhouse the edge in location, helpfulness of inn keepers, ease of parking, quietness, and the gardens area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlyden316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raasay, Owner at Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 October 2010
We're glad these guests enjoyed their stay - it was a pleasure to meet them. Just for the record - we do not receive a commission for recommending a particular restaurant or ghost tour. We do give guests our opinion about them, based not only on our own experiences but also on feedback from guests, and we show guests sample menus from all the restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#8 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 452 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickhouse Inn is the premier award winning B&B inn in Gettysburg with an ideal location in the downtown historic area. The 1898 Victorian mansion and c.1830 historic Welty House offer superb rooms all with private bathrooms. Off-street parking and beautiful gardens make the Inn a perfect oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickhouse Inn Bed And Breakfast
Brickhouse Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing