We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Doubleday Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$120
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$116
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
James Gettys Hotel(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gettysburg Hotel(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hampton Inn Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodges at Gettysburg(Gettysburg)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$137
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
164
23
7
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
164
23
7
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestseternal flameliving roomjefferson roomauto tour routeb bcookiescivil war buffamazing locationdietary restrictionsbreakfast was amazinga wonderful stayin townboth morningschristinecooperbattle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Todd was a gracious host. Made sure we had everything we needed to be comfortable during our stay.

The back yard is perfect and a great place to enjoy the views of the battlefield.

Breakfast was delicious!

We are sorry we didn't meet Christine. Enjoyed having Molly around.

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rheininger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I'd actually stayed at the Doubleday Inn many years previous under different ownership, and found it satisfactory. Now having stayed with Todd & Christine in recent years, it's amazing how all the renovations and their personal touches have elevated the property to excellence.

There is no question that if you are a serious student of the battle or a couple looking for an atmospheric retreat, this is the best option at Gettysburg, without compare. Location is incomparable, and the breakfasts are excellent to boot!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed here on our latest trip to Gettysburg.. The hosts Todd and Christine and of course their dog Molly couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating.. We stayed in the attic room and Todd was kind enough to carry my suitcase up the stairs ( Thank you Todd).. He was so full of info. about the Battle of Gettysburg and didn't hesitate to answer our questions. We didn't meet Christine till breakfast on our last morning but we found her to also be very friendly and helpful.. The breakfasts are out of this world yummy and very satisfying.. I also wanted to mention that the B&B is located right on the battlefield and close to all attractions. Our room and bath were meticulously clean and comfortable.. The attic room is supposed to be haunted and I did have a visitor one night that let me know their presence by knocks on my headboard and some gentle touches.. I also wanted to add one last thing, the private bathroom for our room was down one flight of stairs so if you are handicapped or adverse to stairs you may want one of the other rooms.. All in all , it was a wonderful stay and we will be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkster27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We didn't get to meet Christine but Todd was a excellent host! We will definitely tell friends and family to visit this Inn! We were very comfortable and really enjoyed our time at the Doubleday Inn. Thanks Todd! :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaBloomington_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have visited twice and cannot wait to go back! Christine, Todd, and Molly offer an exceptional respite with amazing views. The Doubleday Inn is rich in history itself, in an amazing location right on the battlefield and minutes from downtown. Even though you are right on the battlefield you never feel like there is too much traffic nor too much noise. The breakfast are delicious and generous, always using local ingredients whenever possible. The eggs and milk are delivered from a local farmer! My favorite breakfast spot is the smaller table in front of the picture window to enjoy the beautiful sunrises and wildlife! There are cookies, instant coffee and tea available in the afternoon to welcome you back from sightseeing too. A water cooler, ice machine and wineglasses are available for folks to use as well. We readily use the wineglasses to enjoy our purchases from Adams County Winery while sitting out in the adirondack chairs! Todd and Christine are a wealth of knowledge and readily offer great suggestions for making the most of your Gettysburg stay from the parks, museums, local food, and even antietam national battlefield. During peak times of the year they have a local battlefield guide visit one night a week to offer insight and answer questions for guest. I really enjoyed this on our first stay!
Our favorite room is the Iverson as it has generous views, is spacious and done in my favorite colors. We have peaked in several of the other rooms and they are true to the website pictures! The rooms are immaculate, and well appointed with plush towels, and toiletries.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Product G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews