We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will always stay here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
gettysburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Will always stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Love everything about this hotel,staff,location,breakfast,quiet rooms and we even get our same room we ask for each time we go there,,,Room 545,lovely room,We have referred this hotel to our friends who will be going to GB next year,Thank you to all the staff who were so helpful.If anyone reads any negative comments about this place,trust me, not true!!!!!!..I,m a little fussy where I stay but I would stay here anytime...See you folks next year,probably in the spring....

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back,it is quieter if street traffic bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hauntedgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We appreciate your kind words. There are many lodging options in Gettysburg. When we decided to leave the Holiday Inn Franchise we realized that there would be some folks that would think that the property would suffer. We continue to provide the same level of service and offer the same goodies as we did then. We have even added some extras that we did not have before-the Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast is one of them! Our guests love it! Our Housekeeping staff does an wonderful job. We take great pride in this hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit! We look foward to seeing you next year! Thank you again!!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    255
    108
    33
    11
See reviews for
289
305
37
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We will absolutely be back to stay at this hotel again! Location cannot be beat. Hotel is next to Jennie Wade house. You're right in the middle of everything, the shops and museums are on Baltimore to the right or Steinwehr to the left. Short walk to Lincoln Square. Less than a mile to battlefield visitors center.
Hotel was great!! Ample parking. Continental breakfast and coffee in lobby 24hrs. Rooms were very clean yet not pretentious. We can be a little germophobic but felt totally comfortable here. Normally we don't use hotel coffee makers but theirs was clean and we used it, turned out a good cup! We always bring our own sheets (especially if it's our first time somewhere) but theirs were clean and comfortable so we never had to use our own sheets.
Large bathroom, flat screen TV, iron, good storage for clothes/bags, hairdryer. Well lit inside and out. Outdoor pool if you visit during Summer. Hotel allows pets, and the town seems very pet friendly although we did not bring our pet this time. Staff was all very nice and friendly. No maintenance issuses for us, but we saw maintenance come to a room on our floor and it sounded like the hotel responded immediately and the neighbors were pleasantly surprised. We signed up for the loyalty program which gives you a great discount on future stays and allows for a late check out, which will be great for our next trip. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSDowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We appreciate your patronage! It was so nice to hear that you were impressed with the cleanliness of our rooms. I will make sure that the Housekeepers know how happy you were. They love to hear that they are doing a good job! We are very proud of this hotel and work very hard to make sure that we stay competitive with the "big" name hotels in the area. We think of our guests as family. Our "Loyalty Program" is a way to show them how much we appreciate them. From the Front Desk to the Maintenance men-we try our best to provide you with a clean, comfortable room and a smile to go with it! Hopefully you will be able to join us over the next 2 years for the wonderful events that are being planned leading up to the 150th Anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg in 2013!
We look forward to your next visit! Thank you again for the kind words!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I have been to Gettysburg MANY times, and stayed in different hotels. Since I stayed here, I won't stay anywhere else! The price is very reasonable, especially if you get the "Loyalty Rewards Card." The rooms are always very clean and the staff is wonderful. They will give more coffee for the coffee maker, and more towels if you ask them. The rise and shine breakfast is pretty good. Also, it has a great location. It is within walking distance of anything you need, plenty of restaurants around, shops, and a convenience store.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
We appreciate the wonderful review that you posted regarding your stay with us! Thank you so much for your continued patronage. Our goal here at the 1863 Inn is to make sure that every guest enjoys their visit! Our "Loyalty Program" gives you huge savings with no black out dates-if we have a room you get the "Loyalty" rate! There is someone at the front desk 24 hours a day to take care of what ever extra supplies you may need. The Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast is a nice way to start your day. If you are looking for something a little more extensive there are plenty of other options within walking distance of the hotel. You can't beat the location of this hotel! We look forward to your next visit. There are plenty of things to see and do in Gettysburg and with the 150th Anniversary in 2013 there will be many events planned for the next 2 years. It will be a very exciting time here in our little town! We hope you will be able to join us!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Stayed for one night recently and would recommend it. Room was spacious, clean and quiet (had room in the back). Hotel is within walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the square. The free breakfast in the morning was very good. Big selection of hot and cold items. Dobbin House Restaurant nearby was excellent. I recommend making reservations ahead of time, especially on weekends. Will definitely stay here again on next trip back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie0052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
We certainly appreciate the wonderful comments you posted regarding your stay with us! We have a great location-you can park the car and walk to most of the major attractions. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed our Free "Rise and Shine" breakfast! We do offer a very nice selection and our guests seem to love it! I will make sure that the Housekeepers know that you were pleased with the cleanliness of the room. They wrok very hard and love to hear that their hard work is noticed. We hope that you can visit with us again. Gettysburg is a beautiful little town and offers so much to see and do. Thank you again for the review!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Has the feel of a comfort inn or holiday inn. Furniture seems up to date, and the room was fairly spacious and clean. Fluffy towels.

My biggest gripe was the bedding: Bed was hard as a rock, terrible pillows, and a VERY thin blanket with no warmth at all.

No room service.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Superlaura905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thank you so much for posting a review on your stay with us! The information you provide is very helpful to us. You mentioned that we had the feel of a Holiday Inn-we were a Holiday Inn. We decided to drop the franchise. But we still provide each guest with a clean and comfortable room packed with the same "goodies" as the larger name brand hotels. I am sorry that the mattress was not to your liking. It is very difficult to provide bedding that suits every guest. Some poeple like a hard mattress and others like a soft one. The room you were in had a new mattress therefore it was on the firm side. You mentioned that we do not have room service. We do not have a restaurant so we do not have room service. We do offer a Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast with each room. That seems to be a very big hit with our guests! I do apologize for the "thin" blanket. Actually those blankets are some of the blankets that we used when we were still a franchise hotel. We are currently changing to the Vellux blankets that seem to work much better. We would have been happy to provide you with a different blanket but were not aware that there was an issue. For future reference, there is a member of our staff on duty 24 hours a day to assist our guests with any needs they may have.
I do hope that you will visit us again. The next 2 years are going to be very exciting here in Gettysburg! There will be many events leading up to the 150th anniversary in 2013! Hopefully you will be able to join us! Thank you again for the comments!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
281 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

I stayed one night and then went to another place. I only change places because of location. I wanted to be closer to the square.

There was nothing wrong with the place. The room was nice, clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajayhawkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed the one night that you did stay with us! Normally our location is a big plus because we are located within walking distance to most of the attractions. But it is a bit of a hike to the downtown area-about 6 blocks. I will make sure that the housekeeping staff knows that you were very satisfied with the cleanliness of the room. They do a wonderful job! I do hope that you will visit us again if you are ever in the area. Gettysburg is such a beautiful little town! So much to see and do. Thank you again!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Windsor, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Stayed at the 1863 Inn for 2 nights, and had a great experience. The room was very clean, bathroom large, and the location is very convenient to everything that Gettysburg has to offer. Will stay here the next time I come to visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cebe_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us! I was very pleased to see that you were happy with the accommodations. The Housekeeping staff does an excellent job cleaning the rooms. They are very proud of this hotel and it shows in their work. The location is great-just park the car and walk to mostly everything of interest. Gettysburg has much to offer. There are many events being planned for the 150th Anniversary celebration in 2013! It will be a very exciting time here! I hope that you will visit us again. Thank you again for the wonderful comments!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Cemetery Hill
Inn at Cemetery Hill
#17 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Property: 1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Address: 516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing