We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this place!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I love this place! I stay there every time I am in Gettysburg. It is right smack in the center of everything. I have been dropped off there and stayed without a car. You can walk to everywhere. The staff is great, the prices are in line, the breakfast is incredible, the location is the best, and you cant do better in Gettysburg. I cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: go for the fifth floor. the view is great!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaErich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoy your visits with us. We appreciate your loyalty. It is always nice to know that we are keeping our guests happy. The staff loves to hear that they have done a good job. We take pride in this hotel. We offer a clean room at a resonable rate. The location is great-walk to mostly everything. We hope that you will continue to visit with us. There are many exciting events planned for next year-150th Anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg! We hope to see you soon. Thank you again for the kind words!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
There are newer reviews for 1863 Inn of Gettysburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

705 - 711 of 886 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

The title pretty much sums it up. If you plan to be out and about most of the day and part of the evening, but want a good, clean place that's located in the heart of town, this is a good bet. The staff was pleasant, the room was clean, and the complimentary breakfast had enough warm and cold options to fill up for a morning of touristy-behavior. One negative: the TV remote in our room didn't work. Which was fine because we watched all of 30-minutes in two days, and that was just to see the news and check on the weather. Our room had a small fridge to keep our drinks cold, a coffee maker to get our java jones quenched upon waking, and the shower was plenty hot for three of us. We did two ghost tours, the Jenny Wade house tour literally right next door, and went to restaurants & souvenir shops, all on foot from our room -- and I'm the type who'd rather drive than walk to most places. If you want a resort to sit and read or people watch, you probably want to look elsewhere. If you want a place to crash after a long day, rub your feet, enjoy a cold beverage, or spend some time wandering around nearby shops and food emporiums, this is worth investigating.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for posting a review on your stay with us. We were pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit. I do apologize for the remote control issues. The housekeepers check them each time the room is cleaned. They can work one minute and not work the next. For future reference-the Front Desk has a supply of extra batteries on hand. Again, I apologize for the problem. The Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast is such a big hit! Nice selection and a great way to start your day. You certainly are correct about the location of the hotel. Fighting the traffic on a busy week end can be very frustrating. It is so easy to park the car and walk to most of the attractions. We appreciate your comments. Thank you for staying with us! We hope that you can stop to visit us again if you are back in the area. Have a wonderful Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel based on reviews on Trip Advisor. Originally we considered several of the chain hotels, but decided to go with this based on location and price and we are so glad we did. The hotel room was a standard room (2 dbl beds, desk, small table, chair, mini fridge) & the beds and pillows were very comfy. Both the room itself and the bathroom were very clean. The location was great. You are within walking distance to a number of sites in Gettysburg and only a 1/2 mile from the Visitor's Center. The front desk staff (who were all very nice) maintains a binder of local restaurant menus so choosing a restaurant was easy. Next time we go to Gettysburg, we'll definitely stay at this hotel again, and I'd have no problem recommending it to friends.

Room Tip: The room was almost half the price of most of the chain hotels and you couldn't ask for a better...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajsnskool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit! Our rates are very fair and we offer all the extras that the chain hotels do. We realize that you have many options when it comes to lodging in Gettysburg. There are the big name hotels as well as ther non-franchise properties. When we decided to drop the Holiday Inn franchise 3 years ago we knew that there would be some folks that would be very hesitant to stay with us. That is why we do everything we can to make sure that each and every guest has an enjoyable stay. Our rooms are clean and well appointed. The staff is great and you can't beat the location! We are very proud of this hotel. Each year we have an improvement project-this past year we renovated 25 rooms-added refrigerators to each room and this week we will replace an entire floor with new mattresses. We know how important it is to stay competitive. Thank you again for the review! We hope that you will come see us again if you are in the area, We look forward to it!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Our stay was wonderful i was very impressed on how clean the room was which is so important i was glad to see that they have bed bug covers on the mattresses another important fact thank you. All of the attractions are so close to the motel we were able to walk to just about everything.The breakfast was great plenty of food included in the price of the room great deal.I only had one issue and that was that the fan in the bathroom did not work had to wait to do make up until the bathroom cleared,small issue.I want to thank you very much for having a wonderlul motel GREAT JOB!!!!!!!!!!!!! MIKE AND DIANE DAVISON

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dn4340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit. The staff will be excited to hear that you had a good time and found the room to be clean and comfortable. We will make sure that the fan in that bathroom is checked. We do apologize for the issue. We decided to put the protective covers on the mattress and box spring in our rooms due to the problems that other hotels were experiencing around the country. We did not want to take any chances. Our guests satisfaction and peace of mind is important to us. Our housekeeping staff keeps a close eye on these rooms. They have gone thru training and are very watchful. The hotel is located in a wonderful area-so close to everything. Park and walk! Our goal is to make sure that each visitor has a great time with us. It seems that we met that goal with your stay. Please come see us again! It would be our pleasure.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The room was very clean. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The location was central and it was very easy to walk to a good number of attractions.

The issues with this hotel are related to its age:The walls were somewhat thin, so there was a lot of incidental noise at night and in the morning. There was a transformer outside of our room, and it sounded like a space ship taking off several times per hour. We had asked for a quiet room in the back...there was no street noise, just guest/hotel noise. It had nothing to do with the staff or the management.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulu506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay with us. I apologize for the noise issue. We are a bit confused. The main building is poured concrete. We normally do not have an issue with the exception of some occasional street noise. It is a main street and the rooms on the front of the building may have some noise due to traffic. However, the rooms in the back of the main building are very quiet. We do not have any "transformers" near any of the rooms on the back of the hotel. We can't pin point what you were hearing. I called and left a message for you. If you would be so kind, could you give me a call. We will investigate further with the information you give us. Again, we apologize for the problem. We are happy to hear that the rest of your stay was pleasant. I do hope that you will come back to see us. We appreciate the review. We use those reviews to improve our service. Thank you again. I look forward to speaking with you.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband & I took an impromptu mini-vacation to Gettysburg first wk of April 2012. One feature for us was the proximity & walking distance to many sights, and we were not disappointed at all once we arrived. Check in was a simple:our room was very nice and also very roomy Bathroom seemed to have been recently updated & everything was clean as well. Mini fridge in our room, and as of this yr, all rooms are smoke free also. The entire establishment was very clean, well-staffed in all areas and the breakfast room was clean & well stocked with the usual breakfast fare. I cannot emphasize enough how much we enjoyed our stay at the 1863 Inn and would definitely recommend it, as well as stay there again! ENJOY!

Room Tip: Our room was in the back of the hotel~absolutely no road noise at all. These room do face east, so c...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review on your stay with us! We certainly appreciate the kind words. Our goal is to make sure that every guest enjoys their visit with us. Hearing that we met that goal makes us very proud. We have a great staff at the 1863 Inn and I will share your comments with them. They work very hard and they do love to know that their hard work has made someone happy! Thank you again for taking the time to post your review. We hope that you will be able to visit with us in the future. Have a great summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I booked by phone directly. I was going to be late because of a late flight. It was after midnight when I arrived but I was expected and checkin was quick and easy. The hotel is a little odd with open balconey corridors. But, room was clean, comfortable and well fitted out.
Front desk was always helpful and friendly. Simple, included, breakfast was OK. There is free coffee in lobby for guests. The location is great. Happy to return any time.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMcC_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Thank you for the review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. The location of the hotel is one of the best in town. It is so easy to park the car and walk to the attractions. Our Free "Rise and Shine" Breakfast seems to be a big hit with our guests. Our staff is very helpful and always ready to help our visitors with any questions they may have. The hotel is an exterior corridor property. There are walkways around the entire building. Our guests love sitting out on the balconies in the evening. We appreciate the wonderful comments. Please stop and see us again if you are ever back this way. Have a wonderful Summer!!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,517 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Address: 516 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2605 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: £68 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing