We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Wasington Township
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We made yet another trip to Gettysburg and stayed at our favorite place......1863 Inn of Gettysburg. We can not say enough good things about the hotel and the wonderful people who work there. The front desk staff is so friendly and the rooms are neat and clean. We once again requested a room on an upper floor in the front of the building and they accommodated us without a problem. We love the front of the hotel because it allows you to see all that is going on in the town! They have a very nice "express" breakfast in the hotel which has a nice variety. It is a nice way to start your day and it is free! We have stayed at the 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 5 different times and would not even consider staying anywhere else when we visit! Already looking forward to our visit next summer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a wonderful review! We certainly are glad that you enjoy your visits with us. We sincerely appreciate the kind words! Hope to see you next year if not before! Thanks again for taking the time to let us know how satisfied you were! Have a great Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    260
    109
    33
    11
See reviews for
294
308
38
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
175 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here for just one night and were pleased with our stay. The room and bathroom were more spacious than I expected. Breakfast selection was good. We didn't have a chance to use the pool, but it was a great size! Definitely recommend for a family stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to be clean and comfortable. We hope that you will come back to see us again. It would be our pleasure!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranberry Twp, Pa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

I Stay here EVERY year. and the whole stay is always GREAT. The loyalty program makes the stay even cheaper!
The staff is always friendly and helpful and you can't beat the location!
They offer a free breakfast and all day long coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EHinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us how much you enjoyed your visit! We are glad to hear that you joined our "Loyalty" Program! It provides our repeat guests with a great savings! We look forward to your next visit. Thank you again for posting the review. We love knowing that we have another satisfied guest! See you next time!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed in June, right before the 150th Anniversary, location was perfect for enjoying the gift shops, ghost tours, cemetaries and battlefields. The bathroom was very nice! along with the entire room. The staff was always available and helpful. Hope to make it back here again and have highly recommended it to friends that are planning a trip there next year. We would all go back in a minute!!

Room Tip: We stayed during the week, so the 5th floor on the front was just fine; not noisey at all. Enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are glad that you found everything to be clean and comfortable. We certainly do have a great staff here. They are very friendly and helpful-always eager to help our guests. We hope that you will come back to see us again. It would be our pleasure! We appreciate the review. Have a wonderful summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Another EXCELLENT stay! This is our second year in a row (same room too!) and can't say enough great things about how wonderful everything was. The room was spotless as it was last year. Noticed a new television and bedding which was very nice. This is the perfect place to stay in Gettysburg - close enough to walk to just about anywhere you want to go. Have already placed our name on the list for reservations for Bike Week 2014 - and plan on bringing some friends! Also joined the Loyalty Program - might as well as we plan to make this our "Gettysburg Address" anytime that we stay in the Gettysburg area. Thanks again for being so hospitable to the bikers!

Room Tip: If you like to people-watch, stay in the rooms on the front side of the hotel. You might hear a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMC616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We certainly are glad that you had a good time and plan on coming back next year! Yes the bikes can be a bit loud but the folks are so nice and we enjoy having them with us! Everyone is so friendly and polite to our staff and that makes our job easier! We hope that you will tell all of your friends about your stay and bring them back with you next year! We look forward to seeing you then! Stay safe on that bike! Thank you again for the review!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

I stayed for the 150th Anniversary festivities and this was the perfect location for touring the battlefields and specialty shops. The rooms are clean (all non-smoking) and the staff is friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast got the day off on the right foot. The pool was great for cooling off after a hot day of hiking the battlefields! I will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to everyone who plans on visiting Gettysburg!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. I will pass your comments along to the staff. They are a good group of hard working folks that love to make our guests happy! We hope that you will visit us again. It would be our pleasure! Have a great Summer and thanks again for the kind words! We appreciate it! See you next time.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel from July 3rd till the 8th. Hotel was clean, staff was always helpful. Breakfast was good, my children loved the pool. We became a loyal club member can't wait to stay again. Thank you for a great much needed vacation!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. Our "Loyalty Program" is great for repeat visitors! Huge savings! We look forward to your next visit. Thank you again for the wonderful review! We certainly appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Cemetery Hill
Inn at Cemetery Hill
#17 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Property: 1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Address: 516 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing