We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Clean, comfortable, friendly”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable, and is really close to the national park. Two nights stay, I am happy we chose this place. The breakfast is included in the rate. The Food is just okay but if you are looking for a quick bite before marching through Gettysburg, it serves the purpose.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Beau B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. A clean, comfortable room and a friendly, helpful staff just about says it all! We are very proud of the staff here. They do a wonderful job. Thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate it. Please come back and see us again. It would be our pleasure.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    264
    112
    33
    11
See reviews for
303
313
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is in a GREAT location right in the middle of the town of Gettysburg. We loved the fact that we could park our car in the lot and walk everywhere we wanted to go. The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. However, our the first room were assigned was a bit musty. The desk clerk quickly assigned us another room, and was very pleasant and friendly. There was a strange odor in the lobby. The free breakfast was only so-so - lots of processed foods. I know this may sound like a strange suggestion, but I would recommend changing the color of the bedspreads. The brown covers made the room look dated, when in fact, it was quite nice other than the bedspreads!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADB1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I do apologize for any inconvenience caused by moving to another room. I am glad that you found the second room to be acceptable. The Free Breakfast has a very nice selection. We have found that the items we offer are quick and easy-what our guests are looking for to allow them more time to explore this beautiful town. The bedspreads in the rooms are new. We have decided to get away from the run of the mill stark white-oh so heavy-duvets. They are very cumbersome to handle. Our bedspreads add a nice touch of color and are just the right weight for a comfortable night sleep. We hope that you will visit with us again. Enjoy the rest of your Summer!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We returned here for our fourth stay here. The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. The hotel and rooms are the cleanest I've ever found in a hotel. We stayed in a King Feature room and LOVED it! The room is huge and the bathroom is enormous. Jacuzzi tub, walk in shower...the location of the hotel cannot be beat. You can walk to all the shops and restaurants in town. We will never stay any place other than the 1863. I cannot think of one negative thing to say. If you join the Loyalty program you save money and get extra perks. This is the perfect place for couples, families and guests with pets.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Byrcll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you so much for the excellent review! We love hearing that we have another happy visitor. Our staff is very focused on making sure that each and every guest has a wonderful experience. Our rooms are clean and well appointed. You can't beat the location of the hotel. Most of the attractions are within walking distance. Thank you for the kind words. We hope you can come back to see us soon. Fall is a beautiful time to visit Gettysburg! Maybe we will see you then!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The rooms here are spacious, and super clean. We asked for a quiet room, and were given a room on highest floor on back. I think the front side of hotel could have street noise. The rooms had great beds, clean clean clean! Very comfortable. Front desk was always friendly and helpful. Free breakfast is provided,,,but "meh". Coffee, tea, yogurt cereal...then we read that French toast and waffles were provided so we were excited.....but they were sitting in a shelf,pre-made..not worth the calories,,and kind of yuck. So beakfast,,ok. Great location for visiting the battlefield--and not far at all from many restaurants. I would go back again, but out for breakfast. oh --and just me as a history buff--I wish this place had an exterior that fit into the rest of the historical look of the town of Gettysburg....shame.

Room Tip: For quiet room, back side, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiapeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We are glad that you found your room to be clean ad comfortable and staff friendly and helpful. I am sorry that you did not try the French toast and waffles. Actually they are very tasty. They are name brand and quick and easy for those folks that want to get out there and enjoy the town. We try to provide a nice selection of items. As for exterior of the building-it is a colonial style property and much more historical in appearance than many of the newer buildings in town. What it may lack on the outside as far as that historic feel-it makes up for on the interior. The lobby is beautifully decorated with Civil War prints and period features. The hotel at Christmas is gorgeous. Maybe you can visit with us during that time of the year to see how the 1863 Inn does Christmas. I think you would be very pleased. Thank you for the review. We appreciate all feed back and hope you will stop to see us again.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My stay at this hotel was overall a wonderful experience. This was one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed at. Every inch of the hotel was spotless. The location was also perfect! You could walk to most locations in the town of Gettysburg. It was wonderful to not have to drive to everything. The staff was also very friendly. There was a lightbulb that was out in my room when we checked in and someone was at my room to change the bulb within minutes of calling the front desk. The staff was also very helpful when I had trouble printing out directions from the computer in the lobby. The one problem I had was that the mattresses were a bit firm; however, everyone likes a different type of mattress and it is impossible to please everyone. Overall, my stay at the 1863 Inn of Gettysburg was wonderful and I'll definitely return next time I travel to Gettysburg!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit. We are glad that you were impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel. Our staff works very hard to make sure that everything is clean and well kept. And thank you for realizing that everyone's preference in mattresses varies. We try to provide mattresses that are somewhere in the middle-not too soft and not too hard. It is a bit of a challenge. We hope that will visit with us during future trips to Gettysburg. When you return you might want to inquire about our "Loyalty" Program. Great savings for repeat guests! Thank you again for the wonderful review. We certainly appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

When you are road tripping with a dog, nightly accommodations can be tricky.
We were pondering the Wyndham as they are usually pet-friendly, but then passed the 1863 Inn as we came into Gettysburg and decided to check it out.

The location can't be beat. Right at the foot of Cemetery Hill and next door to The Jennie Wade House, it's within walking distance of both the historical sights and downtown drinking and dining.

The Inn is pet friendly with a $20 surcharge and the room turned out to be nicer than expected - cool, clean, well-appointed and not at all the 'doggy ghetto' that some motels use for guests with pets. The bathroom was modern and felt recently updated and the decor was pretty standard 'nicer - motel'.
You won't be able to check out of your pet-friendly room without someone from housekeeping checking it for damage, which is how they keep the rooms so nice - and I appreciated the care they took to make sure both we, and the guests coming in after us, had a nice room and pleasant stay.

If you stay on the street side, the traffic sounds may disturb you, but overall the 1863 Inn is nicer than its dated exterior might lead you to believe.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kika2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We are glad that you decided to give us a try and happy to know that you enjoyed it. We do love our furry friends here. Our housekeeping staff takes extra time when cleaning a pet room. We want to make sure that you would never know that the room had a pet in it. There are so many folks that travel with their pets. It is our pleasure to provide them with a clean comfortable room at a reasonable rate. Thank you again for the review. Please come stop to see us if you are back this way.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed here with husband and children 11 years and 6 years for vacation. We found it perfect for our needs, not too expensive, located in walking distance of shops and close to Gettysburg National Museum etc. with parking in the back of the hotel. Some reviewers complained about the rooms being off the balcony, motel-style but this did not bother us. Asking for a room facing the back was definitely a good idea for noise. We used the outdoor pool. The breakfast includes options you can warm up, like breakfast sandwiches, and waffles, biscuits, bread, English muffins etc. Overall we had a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sypai68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normajean16, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. Our rooms are clean and well appointed and you can't beat the location. Most of the attractions are within walking distance which is a plus because parking can be an issue when the town is busy. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate it. Please stop back to see us soon.

Sincerely,

Norma Herring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,485 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Cemetery Hill
Inn at Cemetery Hill
#17 of 27 in Gettysburg
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Property: 1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Address: 516 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2605 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing