We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2009

Four of us spent two nights at Holiday Inn Battlefield for the NewYear's holday. We couldn't ask more for the value. $66.00 a night, and location.

Though an older facility it is quite evident the hotel had been recently renovated. Staff were friendly and polite.

A free and adequate continential breakfest was provided NewYear's day given hotel's restaurant was closed for the holiday. We did have a decent breakfest in the restaurant NewYear's eve day.

Location a major positive with shops, restaurants, and related civil war sites within ready walking distance, including one of our favorites restaurants, the DobbinHouse. The new Visitors Center and Museum for the Battlefied National Park is only bout a mile up the road from the Inn.

Apparently others feel the same way too as at check-in we asked how busy they were, and were told half full that day, and completely booked for NewYear's eve.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nelson193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

843 - 849 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2008

The staff went out of their way to be very friendly and helpful. From the cleaning lady who helped me at the elevator to Carol who works in the restaurant. Our room was very clean and housekeeping did an excellent job. The location was within walking distance of many attractions and next door to the Jenny Wade house. We really enjoyed our stay, have no complaints and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gracie246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

We picked Holiday Inn because of the location and because of the reputation of Holiday Inns. The room was comfortable, and very clean. Nothing fancy, but nice. We checked in on a Sunday so there was no dinner served, which was fine since the location is close to many places to eat and shop.

We were really put off by the unfriendly staff working the front desk. This was both checking in and checking out. The only friendly people we met working there were two women who were housekeepers. We asked them for directions and some local information. They were very nice and they should have been working the front desk instead of who they had on duty. Because of this, we will not stay there again. It felt like we were bothering them. No smiles, no nice welcome feeling.

But if you don't mind that and are just looking for a room in a good location then it was fine. Mind you there are many other hotels in that area too. Choose wisely.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jan175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

first off i want to start by saying this hotel is in amazing location. just a few footsteps away from the jennie wade house. check in was a breeze with a very courteous and proffesional staff. the room we chose was on the first floor right next to an indoor swimming pool that was closed for the season. the room was very clean and neat. so far this was looking like a perfect weekend for me and my hussband brian. on saturday when we woke up we went to the buffet which was a bit pricey if you ask me. on our way back to the room we passed a very loud group of about 8 men that were being very inconsiderate talking very loud out side our room about goin to a bar later that night and whos gonna drink the most. they walked away but later around 3 in the afternoon we walked past a room that was like three doors down from us and there were a few of the men who were in that group yelliing and drinking alchohal and smoking in rooms that were cleary not desiganed to smoke in. one of them looked at me and my husband and said do you want a beer. we just ignored him as we could tell he was clearly drunk. that was the rest we had seen of them until later that night when we came in from our family party we had came up to attend when we saw one of the men asking the person at the front desk for a plunger. later that night brian went to the front desk to ask about check out time and if we could stay an hour later the man at the front desk said yes but than asked brian if his room was flooded because he said apparently the group of men had trashed there hotel room and flooded the toilet and had completely re arranged the room when he went to go check on them. all in all i must say thid was an interesting vacation and i would love to go back under the circumstances that those men are not there.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank michellefromct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

We stayed at Holiday Inn Gettysburg (Battlefield) for one night in September 2008. Check-in was quick ad easy. We stayed in Room 438, which was a quiet room at the back of the hotel. It had quite small windows and was a bit dark but, as we were only there for one night, we were not too bothered. The room was large with 2 very comfy double beds, air conditioning, TV, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, choice of pillows, complimentary bottle of water. The bathroom was roomy with hairdryer, plenty of towels and complimentary toiletries. Parking was free. Breakfast cost extra but there was a good selection and they had healthy options. Priority Club members get a discount for dinner and late check out of 2pm. Dinner was okay but a bit expensive for what it was. The hotel had a pool and there was a small gym. Amazingly pets are welcome at this hotel but I would rather not know that I was staying in a room that had accommodated cats or dogs! Check-out was quick and easy. As we had a late check-out, we were able to leave our cases in our room while we went to visit the Gettysburg National Park. The hotel was on the edge of Gettysburg very close to the Battlefield Park.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

We made a spur of the moment decision to go to Gettysburg for the Columbus Day weekend. There was a huge antique car show going on in nearby Harrisburg which affected lodging all over the area. We were lucky enough to get a room at the Holiday Inn on Baltimore Road, Gettysburg.

I'm so glad we did! The hotel is right next door to the National Cemetery and part of the battleground. Plenty of small local bistros within walking distance. The staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpful. The beds were some of the comfiest I'd ever slept on! The only meal we ate in their restaurant was breakfast, but the food was good and it was reasonably priced. Room service was available.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone, and I'd gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Massachusetts58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

The Holiday Inn in Gettysburg is a pretty typical Holiday Inn, in many respects. It is plain and simple, but clean. In other ways, however, it is very nice. Most significantly, it is located right in the heart of Gettysburg. You can't get any more "central" than this, and it is within a block or two of many souvenier shops, restaurants, bars and attractions. There is ample parking and a restaurant and bar on site, although I didn't try them. The Gettysburg Battleground Visitor's Center is about a mile or so up the road from the hotel. The pool looked very nice and inviting, although I didn't try it either. The hotel is also pet-friendly, for a $10/night charge.

The only real downside is that, since it is in the heart of town, with one of the main roads running directly in front, there can be a lot of traffic noise on the front side, facing the street. Next time, I'll ask for a room facing the rear of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WynneWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,528 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg

Address: 516 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2605 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: £61 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1863 Inn of Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances.110 rooms equipped with hair dryers,irons and ironing boards,coffee makers,Free wired hi-speed internet service. Free breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located 5 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 1863 Inn of Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1863 Inn Of Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing